Of worship, joy and rain….

I saw raindrops on my window, Joy is like the rain.

Laughter runs across my pain, slips away and comes again.

Joy is like the rain.

~

I saw clouds upon a mountain, Joy is like a cloud.

Sometimes silver, sometimes grey, always sun not far away.

Joy is like a cloud.

~

I saw Christ in wind and thunder, Joy is tried by storm.

Christ asleep within my boat, whipped by wind, yet still afloat.

Joy is tried by storm.

~

I saw raindrops on the river, Joy is like the rain.

Bit by bit the river grows, till at once it overflows.

Joy is like the rain.

~

Sister Miriam Winter

(I grew up with this song. During the summer, I went to a small convent/monastery for day camp. It was so much fun. Not the least of the fun was this HUGE stone maze to run and hide in. (this picture doesn’t do it justice – but if you look off to the upper left you can see the outer edges of it.) While sitting in my prayer “cubby hole”, talking to Father and nursing my sweet baby, in the midst of the pouring rain, this song came creeping up from the recesses of my mind. Not being Catholic, basically all of the other things that I was taught during those days at camp have slipped away forever, but what a reminder to fill my children with songs and Scripture, that it too will return to them, sitting in their prayer “cubby-hole” in the rain.)

Comments
2 Responses to “Of worship, joy and rain….”
  1. Mary says:

    I wrote a blog today about my sister Karen and this song is deeply embedded in my memory as I remember her singing this. I do believe that she learned it from the nuns at St. Patrick’s School, it is wonderful, I always sing it that love is like the rain, I am glad to know that it is joy, and yes, joy and love turn love into a washing of the Lord

  2. javadawn says:

    Mary, I read Karen’s tribute – thank you for sharing it.

    That song goes through my head during nearly every gentle rain we have – it is truly captivating, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

