Start your engines!!!

For many years, every mid-September, Jeff and I would participate in a road rally.

For the uninitiated a road rally is an EVENT. (A hush should fall over the blog)  For us, the event began in the parking lot of Carter Lumber (or was it 84 Lumber??) Anyway, we’d all get our car numbers, line up and wait.  Five minutes before the air horn was blown, we’d receive the first set of directions and THE envelope.

The directions would take you throughout the city to the first checkpoint.  Each car would register, by number, how long it took them to complete the first set of directions  and pass the checkpoint. You would also collect the second set of directions.

This pattern would continue throughout the day until we completed the course and checked in at the party.  From there, prizes were awarded for the winners.  There was always a small cash prize and some trophies.  We won both in our day.  It was FUN.

One year, when we did the rally, the host walked from car to car, discussing what type of insurance we needed for our vehicles.  (He was an insurance salesman, natch)  We didn’t think a thing of it, Charlie was a bit of an odd duck and it seemed like a great way to get new clients.  Little did we know while he was “inspecting” our vehicles for insurance, he was also adding a sticker to our headlights, which we would later get out of the car to look for, to show us which direction we needed to turn.

Lest you think the directions were easy, they were a combination of riddles, historical reference questions, literary questions and just plain silly puns.  There were also turn left at the “xyorz” type directions as well.

For those who were not fortunate enough to be married to a nerd, 😀 like I was, there was also THE envelope.  Should you happen to get totally lost, you could rip it open.  Contained inside was a map and directions to the location of the party.

We just had so much fun laughing and giggling over our mishaps and our grasping for answers – it was a delightful way to spend a Sunday in September.

We’ve decided that we too, are going to have a Road Rally – only we’re going to have a Highway Rally….an Information Highway Rally to be specific.  We will post the first set of directions here on Javadawn and you will then need to follow the directions through the internet and check in at the next check point…until you get to the final place, where we will have our very own cyber party. We will also announce the winners. Sorry – no cash prizes.  BUT, we will award a book as a trophy.  (We haven’t decided which book yet, so I can’t even tell you that.)

So, if this is something you’d like to participate in, drop me an email or comment here.  Jeff and I will put this together and post it in the next week or so, once we’ve gathered all the names.  (We will be careful to make certain that the sites you’re sent to are SAFE! and fun.)

Until then…. May the road rise up to meet you. May the wind be always at your back. May your gas tank never get empty and may your oil change coupons never expire.

Comments
9 Responses to “Start your engines!!!”
  1. Margie says:

    You just brought back memories of Road Rallies that I had totally forgotten. We did them in the singles group at church before I even met my hubby. I remember them being lots of fun.

    I’m not the best as solving riddles and following clues but hey if you promise to tell me where the party is when I get hopelessly lost then I’m in!!!

  2. April says:

    How cool! An old-fashioned game! 😉
    *runs away so as not to be punched*

  3. javadawn says:

    April – you better run away!!!! 🙂

  4. winkies6 says:

    Well now, this is the kind of “treasure hunt” that I would like to try and participate in! We saw some crazy road rally-ers today running around the Zoo. They were downright nuts! And a lot of them looked SO lost! LOL

  5. ReneeFL says:

    I have never heard of this but I want to play!

    BTW – I am a lurker – gaining great insights, being challenged immensely and staying amused! Thanks, Dawn, for your honest transparency.

  6. javadawn says:

    Well ReneeFL, now that we’ve gotten a peek at you, you realize of course we’ll have our eyes out for you and be eager to hear some more from you, right??? 😉

    I’m glad to have you join us – and my dear, you needn’t worry about transparency here. I figure I better tell you first, so that my kids don’t have to. 😀 (Isn’t that the way it always works? You’re telling someone this great way of dealing with your children and they’re acting like they’ve ingested some behavior altering drug?!! Kind of like King David in captivity – drooling and climbing all over and screaming,eh?) 🙄

    I have a friend whose child was acting up at the store. She decided it was time to take them home, without finishing her shopping. All the way out the child was screaming, “Don’t beat me Mom! PLEASE don’t beat me!” She didn’t even believe in corporal punishment, so I’m not sure where that came from. We, her friends, laughed. We, her ex-friends, 😉 thought it was funny while she was still humiliated. What are friends for?!

    SO, knowing that, I hope you’ll be a friend – or an ex-friend, 😉 laugh with us and join in the fun. 🙂

    Winkie – did you join in the rally??!!! They are SO much fun. We just laughed ourselves silly doing them. One year, we came up just in time to see someone moving these duck yard statues. They moved them so that they were walking in a row facing right, rather than the left, as they were when we got to the corner. Everyone behind us ended up lost. 😀 BAD Rally drivers. 😆

  7. Patricia says:

    Hi Dawn! I’m so glad you found my new home…and yes, that is the one I would be most honored to have you link to. You are a blessing!

  8. Patricia says:

    I should have added that I will most definitely be placing a “Moms for Modesty” button on that one!

  9. Mrs. Nehemiah says:

    Well that sounds like fun!
    I’m always good for a laugh, as long as it doesn’t turn into that “”click here” for the blond joke” sort of blog jumping, (can you believe that I actually clicked to 6 different blogs before I figured that one out???)

    I dont’ get online on Mondays so I hope the rally is any other day of the week.

    Mrs. Nehemiah

Leave a Reply

