Of course chocolate, but what ELSE???

So, in the midst of the conversation I admit to being a passionate person.  They look at me, natch, and say, “About what?  What is it that you are passionate about?”  Thankfully, I was able to answer the question….I think.  They didn’t look at me like I had grown an extra head and they didn’t fall asleep while I was answering them. (I don’t think anyway… some mammals DO sleep with their eyes open, don’t they?)

So, here is my question for you… what are you passionate about?  Of course, ALL breathing humans are passionate about chocolate ;)….but what else?  What issues or things burn in your heart?

Comments
17 Responses to “Of course chocolate, but what ELSE???”
  1. winkies6 says:

    Passion. I have passion about so many things, I would probably forget to mention it all! LOL
    Probably my biggest passion, outside of family and God, would be cakes and baking. It’s my most favoritist thing to do in the world. I miss it very much right now. 😦 I think I have passion for it, because it is so challenging. Maybe that is why it is a passion? I love the feeling of the feeling of an accomplishment.
    So maybe chocolate is one of my biggest passions?

    (Isn’t that funny, when you type a word so many times, it looks like you spelled it wrong? passion.)

  2. winkies6 says:

    I also wanted to add….

    I also have a deep concern and passion for children. Not just my own. It’s not that I want to adopt or have more. It’s the welfare and the relationships of children. I don’t think I would ever want to be a social worker–it would break my heart everyday. But I really feel for children who may not be connecting with their parents. I think it is good to be able to talk to your parents/children on a respectful friendship level. Where they feel they can tell you things that are going on without feeling like you are going to jump all over them. I often find myself being another ear for the venting of friend’s children. I also find myself telling them it’s ok to tell their mom or dad their feelings, because their parents are understanding and love them.

  3. Passions? Let’s just open up a whole can of worms here, shall we? 🙂 Let’s see…what am I passionate about? Do I remember – that’s the question? I’m passionately pro-life (not rabidly, I hope). I’m passionate about helping brand-new mommys. I’m passionate about driving fast down old country roads with the windows down and the radio turned up:) Although, fast is pretty relative when you have three carseats in the backseat! Hmm, this is fun. I’ll let you know if I think of anything else!

  4. Sarah says:

    Shannon, I LOVE the “fast is pretty relative”! It’s always surprising when you come BACK to the stage in life where speed bumps are truly hair-raising excitement!
    Dawn, you totally got me to thinking, so then I had to go writin’ about this! 🙂 It was fun spending time with Him to do it, too.
    On a simple list, I am totally passionate about God’s Word (learning, memorizing). I’m also passionate about underdogs, writing, and coffee. And I’m a passionate reader, think 4 & 5 books at a time; just picked up 6 at library tonight that I’d requested and sacheted out with that “I just won the lottery!” smile and nearly waved at people.
    Now please forgive me if I stop here; I have a few new friends to meet 🙂

  5. Michelle says:

    Real quick before I dash off to start my day…

    I am also passionate about the pre-born and how to defend them (I cannot recommend Randy Alcorn’s book Pro-Life Answers to Pro-Choice Arguments highly enough!)

    I am passionate about baking in particular and cooking in general (I feel like I should apologize if I serve a store-bought cake mix or hot dogs and mac n cheese).

    I am also passionate about Biblical Worldview…learning how to apply our Christian faith to all areas of life and being able to teach & defend this view to others. I am passionate about equipping our young people with Biblical Worldview before they go off to college (or even some high schools these days!)

    I am passionate about books and loving reading and passing that love on to my children. (I’m afraid that passion has at times stepped on the toes of family members who do not love to read as much as I do.)

    I would like to be more passionate about God. I love Him and honor Him (or at least I try to) in all that I do, but I want to be totally IN love with Him, abandoning all my defenses instead of with quiet reserve.

    I would like to be less passionate about needing to be “right”, to be more accepting of different ways of doing things, espcially when it comes to fellow believers and worship. Just because one format of worship doesn’t touch my heart doesn’t mean the people of that church aren’t worshipping in Spirit and Truth.

    The day is starting around me whether I want it to or not, so I need to be off…

  6. javadawn says:

    Came in to read comments and as I was clicking in, I read “So, in the midst of the conversation I admit to being a passionate person.” I needed to SAY this? Talking to me, arms waving in the air and words flitting from my mouth and I felt the need to TELL THEM THIS??

    Wouldn’t one think this should be a BFO?!!!!!! DUH
    (Sorry – on the fly – will be back later. We’re going out for b’day b’fasts.) 🙂

  7. Patricia says:

    Oh, my! What a question. I could have a variety of answers to this question on any given day (hormones, and all!), but I can say that today I am passionate about living and delighting in the moment, and not getting bogged down in trivial details. I have become acutely aware of the passage of time in recent years. All three of my boys are married with families of their own, and my daughter has only a few more years at home. My parents have gone to be with the Lord and I miss them very much! Oh, how I wish I had enjoyed my parents more when they were here, and lived more in the moment when the boys were at home, as well. Good question, Dawn!

  8. Crystal says:

    Ah, nuts! I was writing my comment around 6:30 am this morning and I kid you not the power went out! I think a line or a tree fell on a line or something because we had a fire truck and a road block. My power just cam on somewhere around 9? (I’m not sure because the kids and I fell back asleep and we didn’t have any working clocks). I will get back to this as soon as I get more time. Fun postie!!

  9. Listening says:

    Just wandering through to say I would love to hear about Rosh Hashanah at the Clark household ~warmsmile~

    Blessings,
    Ann

  10. Jenna says:

    I’ve got oodles of passion for all sorts of things!

    Just a couple though-

    I am passionate about joyful relationships, and cultivating them. I am passionate about cooking and baking, and using my skills to make people fat and happy. *chuckles* I am passionate about learning, and the subject matter doesn’t really matter. I just like to learn about….. everything. lol

  11. MamaKayB says:

    I am passionate about being an authentic Christian and not just one who would check the box on a survey but that you can tell by my life that Christ is at the center of it all.

    I am passionate about parents discipling and educating their own children and not leaving the job to others.

    I am passionate about having as many babies as God grants us and doing so in the most natural way possible.

    I am passionate about preparing and eating whole foods.

    I am passionate about the fact that God created in the universe by design in 6 days and that he has a purpose for each of our lives. It is not by chance that we are who we are, where we are, have the family we do, etc… God is at the center of it all!

    And I love ICE CREAM!! Don’t ask me which flavor because it just depends on the day. 😉

  12. Jen says:

    I am passionate about frugality in most areas. 🙂

  13. javadawn says:

    I am passionate about getting back in here in the morning to respond to you all. 🙂

    Hope you have had a LOVELY Sabbath ~

    And Listening, my dear, we didn’t do much more than dip apples, as we’ll do most of the rest of the celebrating for Family Consecration. 🙂 What about you??

  14. onebeggarsbread says:

    These comments are fun to read!

    I totally identify with, who said she left the library with an armful of requested books and a I-just-won-the-lottery smile, resisting waving at everyone….I feel absolutely giddy when I experience the same thing!

    I am passionate about Christians seeing children as gifts from God, because our hearts changed so drastically on this (I’m not against birth control exactly, but I am passionate about letting others know how God sees children!). This definitely was ‘birthed’ from years of being passionately pro-life, no doubt!

    Seeing children as gifts from God and the awesome responsibility that comes with that makes me passionate about education. I don’t think home education is ALWAYS God’s plan for a family, but I think it should be considered and prayed over by everyone, and should be respected in Christian circles!

    I am VERY passionate about boys and men — oh that doesn’t sound good! 🙂 I mean that I have come to admire masculinity in the past few years in a fresh and powerful way, and I want to protect little boys from being feminized or put down for their upcoming manhood. Along with this, I am passionate about women accepting the fact that their husbands are not female, and loving and respecting them for it!

    We are currently becoming passionate about having a Christian Worldview, though we are still in the earlier stages, I think, of really living this way. HOW SHALL WE THEN LIVE, Truthquest History, and Total Truth have been VERY influential in our lives in getting us to think about how we think!

    Speaking of Truthquest, I am passionate about history, and learning from past successes and mistakes while being grateful for God’s hand throughout time.

    I just got a BOSCH, and last year a Whisper Mill, and I am fast becoming passionate about baking.

    I have somewhat lost my passion for God’s word this year. I think it may be that I read too much of Christian non-fiction, feeding off of others’ revelations from God instead of going to the source myself (like fast food instead of home-prepared? But, good fast food, you know? Like eating at the Whole Foods counter…but still, I need Truth from the Source, I know!). I am praying for a revial in my heart in this area!

  15. javadawn says:

    Ladies, be sure to head over and read Sarah’s blog (Daddy on the Road, Mommy on the Run) about this. What a picture she offers of passion existing outside the Lordship of Jesus! Excellent post!!!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] 21st, 2006 · No Comments Fabulous Dawn asked, “So, here is my question for you… what are you passionate about?… What issues or things burn in your […]



Leave a Reply

