Sleigh Bells

will soon be jingling and my toes are tingling. (My fingers are too – but that’s because it’s a delicious 36` outside this morning!!! Hoooray, hooooorrrraaaayyyy – fall is arriving in splendor!)

I keep getting information on putting together a planner and having a plan in place for the holidays. Dear Ladies, the question on my heart this morning is, do you have a holiday plan? If so, what does it look like? What thinks you of putting our heads together and creating one? AND what thinks you of posting blogs on our individual blogs to help one another as we prepare for the holidays? (Feel complete freedom to tell me you think it’s more than my fingers that have frozen this morning.) 😀

(Just thinking while I’m waiting for my fingers to thaw) 🙂

Comments
6 Responses to “Sleigh Bells”
  1. Michelle says:

    Hmmm…interesting idea. I’ve never had much of a “holiday plan” but I do try to be intentional about celebrating the holidays in a holy way. I also try to be flexible and ready to respond to the Spirit’s call rather than adhering to traditions too tightly. For example last year, I was all geared up for sending out another Christmas letter (I have a personal tradition of sending out blog-style musings that focus the reader on the Lord rather than family newsletters) when I was asked to speak at a women’s Christmas Tea instead. I have always been touched and blessed (and usually taught) by being flexible for him. A few years ago, I felt like the Lord wanted me to help at a Christmas cookie bake for women & children from a local shelter. Anna and I drove up with a huge batch of cookie dough and my special Christmas cookie cutters. As we entered the church parking lot, Anna got so excited and said, “Mommy, we’re going to worship God by baking cookies!” It still takes my breath away.

    One thing that is already in my “holiday plan” is using Ann’s Jesse Tree devotional with my kiddos for Bible time! We’ve also been reading through the Jotham’s Journey trilogy so I think we’ll have a mutiny on our hands if we don’t continue on with them. The last several years we’ve also tried to light Advent candles during our devotional time. I originally started doing it as a nod to John’s Lutheran roots, but it’s really made the time special somehow.

    Dawn, by “holiday plans” are you thinking just about Christmas or do you include Thanksgiving in your thinking as well? I’m sure you could also share some special insights into celebrating the Jewish feasts/holidays that occur during this time of year. I just got the book, but haven’t had time to read it through. I may try a crash course on the chapter of Rosh Hashanah (sp.?) though since it’s coming up this weekend.

  2. Dawn – I think this would be great. I’ve really been praying this year about finding ways for our family to celebrate Him more, to build family traditions that point back to Him. And He has been incredibly! faithful! I started praying at Easter about this and since then ideas have been everywhere! Some will keep until the kids are bigger, and the rest we’ll need to ease into, but I’m so excited to get started and I know I need to plan early and not, oh, leave everything until the last possible second:)

  3. Jenna says:

    Too early……TOO EARLY!! lol I can handle talk of falling leaves, but not sleigh bells. Nope! Heeheehee….

  4. javadawn says:

    Jenna… TOO EARLY? Don’t you already have falling leaves?? Tomorrow IS the first of fall, you know. 😉 OK, we’ll talk quietly so as not to send you into holiday shock.

    I would LOVE to hear how other families celebrate the holidays and see if we can’t put something together, so we can kind of do the reminder thing like FlyLady, only on our blogs. We could do a mind meld type holiday planner this year….and next we can publish it and make bazillions of dollars. (:lol:)

  5. Jenna says:

    We have a few falling leaves, but being right by the river kind of shielded us from the big cold fron that came through. The trees in my yard are just beginning to show a slight change in color, though there is a tree down the street that has turned all red and orange. 🙂

    I’ve been trying to think of what we might have in the way of holiday plans… and am having a hard time. Do hand-turkeys and Charlie Brown on tv count? lol

  6. Margie says:

    Ok, I’m with Jenna — TOO EARLY!!! But I’m all for that publishing a planner and making a bazillion dollars thing. LOL

    I have wanted to do a Jesse Tree for about the past two or three years. By the time I get around to planning it I am a week or more late. Hmmm, maybe it isn’t too early.

    Last year we left a plate of cookies and a note for our downstairs neighbors. I have to wonder what they thought as they never commented. We have had to file several noise complaints about them over the year and a half that they have been here. I love baking, but we don’t need all the baked goods. My mom used to bake lots and lots of fresh rolls and deliver them to friends.

    I do look forward to sharing ideas.

Leave a Reply

