Homemade Electrolytes

Since I’m frantically making this at 11 pm, I realized there might be someone else out there that is needing the recipe as well.

This is the easiest recipe I know for making electrolytes. Should you come across a situation that you find you’re needing them, these will mix up very quickly for you. (Providing, of course, that you have all the ingredients…which I don’t – I just sent the two oldest kids out to buy some Sprite from the nearest vending machine. I’m prayerful that it has some.)

Mix 1 qt water with 3 oz orange juice and 1 1/2 c Sprite or 7-Up. Add 1 t @ salt, baking soda and 1 T sugar. Please do not misunderstand – this is NASTY stuff. It is VERY salty. Should you find you are in need of this blend, drink it over ice. It may be the only way you can get it down. (I’m also toying with adding some orange essential oil to it – just to help the flavor. It isn’t going to hurt the electrolyte process.)

My prayer is you wouldn’t need this…..

Edit: I just had someone write and ask me if we really used these or I was just writing about them.  Fair question.  We have used them.  We have used them for many things.  I got the recipe from a triage RN, turned ND.  She’s not too hyped on the Sprite, but said “Hey, these work, so I am not going to turn my nose up at success.”  🙂

Comments
5 Responses to “Homemade Electrolytes”
  1. Dawn – I’m still praying for y’all.

  2. javadawn says:

    Thanks Ladies – the initial group seem to be doing better. (I think the batch of electrolytes scared them. The mere thought of having to drink more – WHOOSH – all better.) 😉

    Thank you SO much for the prayers. I know that Father answered, indeed. Jeff went to work, able to stand (he was so weak he couldn’t last night) and I believe he wore a t-shirt. (My Toastamatic hubby has been wearing a sweatshirt and an afghan like it was a sarape for 2 1/2 days)8? God is GOOD!

  3. Jenna says:

    Wow Dawn, that sounds like some pretty horrific stuff. It’s no wonder that your sickies are makin’ better real fast! Woo! *chuckles* I’m such a wimp. Once I saw the addition of baking soda, my brain checked out. lol I once put a little on my tongue, thinking that I was dealing with powdered sugar. ( I had been baking, and DD dumped something into my bowl. Suprise! *gag*)

    I’m so glad that your Sweets are starting to feel better. It’s so terrible to be sick like that. *hugs for all*

Leave a Reply

