Making bricks

So the same day Pharaoh commanded the taskmasters over the people and their foreman, saying, “You are no longer to give the people straw to make brick as previously; let them go and gather straw for themselves. But, the quota of bricks which they were making previously, you shall impose on them; you are not to reduce any of it. Because they are lazy, therefore they cry out, “Let us go and sacrifice to our God.” ~ Exodus 5:6-8

This is a beautiful picture of our lives. Since August of 2005 we have been consistently bringing home less and less of a paycheck. We are now down to 60% less per week than 16 months before. Sadly, our regular financial responsibilities have not decreased by 60%. (Making bricks without straw, anyone??) πŸ™‚

At first, I wasn’t certain why, but for the first time in 10 yrs, we bought a vehicle on credit. We don’t do that. But, for some reason we did. Exactly 1 month before the first of the major pay changes took place, no less. Believe me, the Lord heard groaning from His servants.

We did just fine – until the birth of Booger Baby. Her c-section and subsequent bills were simply another demand for more bricks – without straw. Suddenly the meaning of the phrase “Give us this day our daily bread” (or weekly, as it goes in our lives) πŸ˜‰ held a whole new meaning. Truly, we were growing more and more dependent on Father for our provision.

In the midst of this time, someone – a voice crying out in the desert – began speaking to us of entrepreneurship. We both grew up children of self employed parents. We were NOT interested in such a thing. Besides, unlike some of our other friends, we are not gifted with our hands. So, we allowed their voice to flow over us, like a breeze on a early fall evening – pleasant, but not needful. We would figure something out….
In His goodness, the Lord allowed the voices to continue….

(This post is the beginning of a long story of what God is doing in our lives. There is no ending to it, only a beginning…and hope. We’re filled with expectation of what the Lord would desire to do in our lives. I will post some more tomorrow. I will bring you up to speed, then I will step back and allow us all to watch Father move on our behalf, that you might be filled with hope and faith and knowledge that the Lord our God, He is Almighty!)

Comments
10 Responses to “Making bricks”
  1. Jenna says:

    Oh boy, don’t I hear ya. *nods*

    *hugs*

  2. I love the bricks with no straw analogy here, Dawn. That’s speaking volumes to me right now.

  3. Krina says:

    “More bricks from straw” perfect analogy. I am looking forward to reading more, I have been writing on my own experiences living on less recently. But the voices and winds were blowing us the opposite way, amazing how God can work in such different directions to the same ends. Krina

  4. winkies6 says:

    Sooo, when are you opening up that coffee shop? I know a good supplier of pastries only a few hours away…..

    I’ve had some thoughts myself of opening a place of my own one day. I would love to have a place like Finale in Boston (www.finaledesserts.com) where dessert is the main main dish.

    And I TOTALLY get the reliance on Father God for provisions. I think I’m living that these days. πŸ˜‰ Nothing like feeling like we are walking on water…

    Thanks for sharing. Can’t wait to hear more πŸ™‚

  5. winkies6 says:

    Oops, I’m sorry, I didn’t realize I double posted!

  6. javadawn says:

    πŸ˜‰ What double post???
    OH MY FINALE looks incredible!! Mmmmm. Let me know when you get it up and running, will ya?? πŸ˜€
    Btw, how would one make a decision??!!!!!

  7. Valerie says:

    Exciting times ahead, Dawn! I love you you guys are so submitted to the Lord. I know He will bless that. Our most amazing times of provision have been when we have given (and given, and given) out of our lack. He is always faithful.

    I can’t wait to hear what He does with you and your family!

    love from Valerie

    ps thank you for your prayers for a home – I wrote a post last night and blogger ate it. Blogging time is rather limited these days…. we still haven’t found anything yet, and moving day is right about the time when I am scheduled for surgery (no lifting, no exercise, no nothing…)

  8. javadawn says:

    Valerie, “I can’t wait to hear what He does with you and your family!” Me TOO! LOL

    It’s SO good for me to have to blog about this, because then I can’t hide my battles with fear and doubt. It requires me to be REALLY transparent. Ahhh – shining light into the dark places of my soul. πŸ™‚ It’s a good type of house cleaning. πŸ™‚

    Valerie, will continue to pray about housing for you!

    Krina, is your story complete? I started to read over at QH a while ago (last week? They’re starting to blur) and I didn’t think you had finished it. I’ll try to get back over and read some more. I’m eager to hear how Father is meeting your needs.

  9. Patricia says:

    Dawn, I can’t wait to read more. Love ~ Patricia

  10. winkies6 says:

    You aren’t supposed to make a decision! You are supposed to order EVERYTHING! LOL
    ((HUGS))

Leave a Reply

