6:59 am Faith ~

….it is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen. Especially this morning.

Things here have been pretty much a cross between a circus and a sick ward. As I’ve shared, the Lord is leading us into a totally new way of life. Because the path that He has placed us on is so totally foreign to us, we are totally dependent upon the Lord for His gentle leading and direction.

This is not a bad thing, it just requires a willingness on our part to be quiet and listen intently in prayer. (Ok, let’s pause for a vote – how many people reading would ever use the word “quiet” in a sentence that included my name? Exactly my point.) Tuesday of this week, we were totally at the end of us.

Again, not a bad thing, but an exhausting thing none the less. As this happened, we threw ourselves upon the Lord in prayer. He impressed upon Jeff that there was a need for us to take our children out early to watch the sun rise on Friday morning.

So, we checked to find out what time the sun rise actually was (7:39 am) and planned our morning accordingly. Off to bed we go. I am awakened at 1 am to the sound of pouring rain. Now, I don’t know about where you all live, but here where I live, pouring rain is not generally conducive to breath taking sun rises. I fretted for a bit and dozed again. When I woke up at 3:15 – it was still pouring. By 4:30 when the alarm went off it was down to a light rain. We laid there listening to the rain and looked at the clouded sky and set the alarm for 6. (Hey – we went to bed at midnight!)

Six am came quickly and we awoke to the sound of rain and car tires. I laid in bed crushed of heart. We were both so disappointed we could hardly speak. We looked at one another and Jeff said, “Well, either way, I need to be at the farm by 6:45, so I guess I better get up. Let the kids sleep – they’ve been sick this week.” (We have to pick our milk share up between 6 and 7 am) I laid in bed whining at talking to the Lord. At 6:50 with the rain still falling quite steadily, suddenly the Lord quickened Hebrews 11:1 to my heart. I got out of bed and got dressed, with the intention of getting the kids up too. As I was getting dressed, the phone rang. Jeff said, “GET THE KIDS UP – we’re going to do this!”

At 6:59, I woke the first of my children – just as the rain stopped. At 7:25 we were in the van (all dressed! That in itself is an amazing work of God!) and on our way to the perfect sun rise watching place.

As we watched the glory of the Lord being made manifest in the purples and the dark grays of the storm clouds passing away, while the pinks and oranges of the new day were piercing through them, one of the children said, “Wow, God worked that out JUST perfectly didn’t He? We should have known He would.” We certainly should have.
I was convicted to the core – once again – of the fragile state of my faith. Why do I insist on forgetting these kinds of lessons? After all these years, one would think I would know that He is able….more than able. He is God.

“I believe; help my unbelief!” ~ Mark 24b

Comments
5 Responses to “6:59 am Faith ~”
  1. Mmmm. That was truly beautiful.

    We doubt because we are frailty. Dust.

  2. winkies6 says:

    Through this entire move, my faith and trust have been tested. (Ok, my patience, too) And then as soon as it comes to the day of reckoning, there He is, beaming with provisions.

    God has provided every inch of this move. I still fear, don’t get me wrong. I fear for the future monies for food and drink and bills to come. We are realizing that our bills will just about equal the pay my hubby will be receiving. Scared? You betcha! Trusting that God will take care of us? TOTALLY!!

    I love the promise of the sunrise. It’s the promise of a new day. If you would have asked me 6 months ago my thoughts and feelings on moving, I would have told you that we couldn’t afford it but I would love to. Every thing we needed to afford during all of this has been taken care of and provided for us. I feel pampered by the Lord.

    I’m so blessed, I want to cry. What have we done to deserve all this?? Simply listening to what God has told us to do over the past few months has given us everything we needed. Why does that suddenly feel easy? I never thought it seemed easy before.

    Praise God! And yes, I’ll just keep on saying it, because I KNOW it’s not us that made any of these things happen in our lives!!

    In the chaos, we are to listen. He will provide. If he has to send manna from heaven, He will provide it. ((HUGS))

  3. Violet says:

    Here’s what I read this morning from “Daily Light” (actually it was yesterday evening’s reading which I didn’t get to).

    “The heavens declare the glory of God;
    and the firmament sheweth his
    handywork.

    “THE invisible things of him from the creation of the world are clearly seen, being understood by the things that are made, even his eternal power and Godhead.–He left not himself without witness.–Day unto day uttereth speech, and night unto night sheweth knowledge. There is no speech nor language, where their voice is not heard.

    “When I consider thy heavens, the work of thy fingers, the moon and the stars, which thou hast ordained; what is man, that thou art mindful of him? and the son of man, that thou visitest him?

    “There is one glory of the sun, and another glory of the moon, and another glory of the stars: for one star differeth from another star in glory. So also is the resurrection of the dead.”

    What a beautiful way to start your day – praising the One Who gave us all this glory to behold, even in this fallen world! Can you imagine what heaven is going to be like?!

  4. Krina says:

    Although, I am ashamed to admit it, I have had those moments of conviction more times than is reasonable and yet He still puts clothes on my very back. It may take me a lifetime and then some even, but thankfully and according to His promises, He will teach us all to trust, in the end.

  5. Sarah says:

    Oooohhhh, Dawn!
    Thank you so much for this! “Healeth Thou…” was both my memory verse this week — and the cry of my heart.
    Thanks for reminding me that obedience — *especially* in the tiny things — blesses me “exceedingly and abundantly beyond all we can ask or imagine.”
    So glad He painted you all an unexpected sunrise!

Leave a Reply

