Knock, knock

Who’s there?

Some genius person (RHEA!) mentioned that one of the things that helped her SO much with her entrepreneurial ventures was to take a 3 x 5 card and write one sentence that lists what unique thing makes her her.

So, another genius person (ME) suggests that we should do that before our date night this week. SO, Jeff is waiting on me to do mine.

I CAN’T!!! I’ve tried. I have NO idea how to describe what makes me any different from anyone else. What is my unique voice in the world? What is my fingerprint on life?? (See I’ve got the question down – it’s the answer that is so doggone elusive!)

What about you – can you answer this? Do you know what makes you totally unique from anyone else? (and saying, “I’m married to He and my children are She, He2, She E, etc” doesn’t count.) I’d love to hear how you would answer this for yourself. Maybe I’m just making it too hard.

So to answer the question….who’s there? I have no idea. But I sure wish I’d figure it out soon, I have other things to do besides stare at this dorky little 3 x 5 card.
(Just in case you’re wondering why I’m posting like a lunatic today…this is my office day. I have a list the length of my arm, of things to do online. The Littles are “creating” the Bigs are serving and I’m…well, I don’t know what I am.) 😉

Comments
9 Responses to “Knock, knock”
  1. Laura says:

    Dawn, I don’t know what I am either….But let me tell you something that you are….That IMHO makes you different from some many…Now granted I only know you via cyberspace as I have never had the priviledge of meeting you in real life….You are #1 a prayer warrior…and an incredible friend…Those two things combined you just don’t run into everyday…I can’t count how many times I’ve had a sweet little note in my inbox asking me how you can pray for me? FOR ME???? You are a genuine,caring and kind person….I so greatly admire those traits….2nd you are a wonderful mentor…A couple of weeks ago I was telling my neighbor about this incredible woman I knew who was so knowledgable about essential oils/natural health etc…How if she had any questions that I couldn’t answer I knew just where to go for help…and 3rd you have such a beautiful spirit about you….I don’t have to know you in real life to know without a doubt that you desire to serve and intimately know the Father…It is like a breath of fresh, sea level air at this altitude…Knowing that there are others out there that share my deepest yearnings to know and love our wonderful God!!! May God show you dear Dawn what makes you uniquely you….You really are an amazing person!!!

  2. Dawn – I have to second all the stuff Laura said:) It’s very hard to get far enough outside our own heads to be able to see ourselves objectively. I know I can’t answer for myself yet either. My only advice is to ask Father:) He knows exactly who He put you here to be. I think this is a great idea so I’m going to pray about it too. I’ll let you know what I find out:)

  3. javadawn says:

    Well garsh Little Missy, yer makin me blush. (kicking the dust bunnies under my desk)
    Laura, my Sweet – THANK YOU for the kind words. BUT, you’d have about enough time to get the whipped cream slurped off your mocha, if we were together irl, before you changed your mind. I think I could pull off keeping you mesmerized until then – if nothing else I’d start blowing smoke rings with the steam off my coffee. 😉 If that failed, I’d just blow the whipped cream at you. I didn’t see the word incorrigible in your list…. 🙂
    (So when you gonna invite me to come visit you in them thar mountains, so we CAN know one another face-to-face??) 🙂
    You did the same thing I did – immediately went to thinking what other people’s unique qualities are… trying to do it for myself is awful.
    For the record – when I think of you, I have 4 words that come to me immediately! They are creative, beautiful, encourager and faithful. (Ok, 5 – Oz, but that has less to do with you and more to do with me.) 😉 I wonder, beautiful Dorothy, would you have come up with those words to describe yourself?! (Even as I type them, the word “faithful” brings tears to my eyes…)

  4. Laura says:

    Dawn, I forgot to add to my list HILLARIOUS!!! You never cease to make me laugh…you are so funny!!!
    As for “incorrigable”…don’t you think that is just a bit harsh?? lol (btw I had to look up that big fancy word in my dictionary) If it is mesmerized you have me, that’s just fine…I’m happy as a clam that way!!Seriously girl…don’t be so harsh on yourself…(this is the kettle calling the pot black)God in his infinite wisdom has given you so many beautiful gifts…I am so blessed to have you as a friend…So get out that 3×5 card…geez you’ll probably need 4 or 5 of them…and get to writing…And oh did I need to “invite” you to the mountains??? Geez I was wondering what was taking you so long to get out here!!!

  5. deborah says:

    dawn, i’d have to say you are patient (who else would wait weeks for a reply from me and still like me???)well, i guess i’m assuming you still like me…..:?

    i’d also say you are wise, knowledgable, a faithful disciple, witty, intelligent, and caring. plus, i second everything laura said (hi laura!!). maybe on your way out to visit laura, you can stop by my place? maybe we could meet half-way?

  6. javadawn says:

    ***OFFICIAL NOTICE***
    No matter how many nice things you say about me, I am not sending ANYONE on a trip to a fantasy chocolate weekend in Hershey, PA!!!! NO ONE GOES IF I DON”T GO!! 😉

    Deborah, (and you too Dorothy!) Thank you, thank you, thank you. I have no doubt it would take little time with me for you to be apprised of the REAL truth. (5 min maybe…if I served Ooooh Baby Cake, it might take you 10 min.)

    HOWEVER, what I am after is…. YOU!!! 🙂 Can you define what makes you completely unique from everyone else?

    (Deborah, silly thang, of COURSE I still like you! I just figured you were busy processing your retreat – I will eagerly wait to hear about it…want to blog about it?? I’d LOVE to have you as a guest blogger. Think/pray about it – I’m REALLY serious.)

  7. Valerie says:

    I don’t know about me right now – work in progress – but one thing that stands out about you is your willingness to lay down your life for Him and others. So many of us are so set on being a particular way that we don’t leave room for Him to transform us, or even be open to that, but you lay your heart open for that. This spills out into your relationship with others – you are willing to reach out and lay down your wisdom, your time, your love and so on to others. You have blessed me, my friend!

    love from Valerie

  8. javadawn says:

    Oh Valerie, you are TOO kind (delusional but kind) 😀
    I’m glad to know I’m not the only one who finds this SO hard to do. Ask me about any of you – NO problem! I see some of the most incredibly uniquely gifted women here (of which you are one – your faith to minister as you do humbles me, Miss Valerie!!)
    I can see something in each of you that sets you apart like a precious jewel – each with its own setting, designed to magnify its beauty. THAT is easy.
    Ladies, WHY IS THIS?! Why is it so much harder to see things in ourselves that makes us truly unique? Do we doubt that Father has made us unique? I know in my case it’s not a lack of pride (ROFL..LACK OF PRIDE?! Not until they close the box, I fear!!) so what is it? AND (here’s the hard question that follows this) how can we fully embrace the things the Lord has called each of us to, if we don’t see our uniqueness? (Ok, it’s after 10 pm, I’m officially turning into a pumpkin so I may be making less sense than normal.)
    HEY – that’s IT! I turn orange and become a pumpkin at 10 pm. All the rest of world does it at 3 pm!!! 🙂 😉 Now I can fill out my 3×5 card!!! 😆

  9. Jennifer says:

    Good exercise! 🙂 It’s tough for us to not only see our jobs or titles. Mom, Wife, Teacher, Daughter, Toiilet-Scrubber, Sandwich-Maker, Milk-Machine. 🙂

    This gives me something to think about.

Leave a Reply

