Rainy fall days

It’s raining. It has been raining all night long. With the rain, the leaves are falling. It is gray, it is damp and it is beautiful out!

Something about rainy fall days brings forth sheer delight in me. I want to dance, I want to sing…I just want to relish each of those cool, wet, gooey fall days.

You see, cool, wet, gooey fall days cry out for tables with stray candles lit. They are days made for reading and snuggling and enjoying one another. They hold the promise of something baking in the oven, filling the house with the smell of fall. (Maybe even a pot of soup and some bread to add to that smell.)

When the world outside is cold and dark, that simply allows our home to become a greater beacon of light. I almost envy Jeff his arrival home – coming in to the scent of honey and cinnamon and vanilla (apples, even? maybe pumpkin, instead) and the sight of his cozy family, all cuddled up inside, enjoying one another and eagerly awaiting his arrival home.

What a picture that provides us, as the Bride – a reminder that the darker the World becomes, how much brighter our light needs to be. May Jesus arrive here, to find us cuddled up, enjoying one another and smelling sweetly of worship and service to our King – eagerly awaiting His arrival.

Comments
3 Responses to “Rainy fall days”
  1. winkies6 says:

    I’ll be right over. If I can’t enjoy it in my ‘own’ home, I’m certain to enjoy it in yours! *giggle* I’ve really grown to appreciate the things I was able to do when I was in a house.
    HOWEVER, I do totally enjoy watching the rain and the leaves falling outside of my hotel window. As well as not having to walk thru the weather to get to and from my car.
    I love the image of the King coming home to find us eagerly awaiting him. I hope all of our hearts are in that place. 🙂

  2. javadawn says:

    Come on, Sweetie – you can use my house anytime you want. 🙂 (Unless of course you want it hotel clean, then you better call first) 😉 In fact, if you’re coming, tell me what to get and you can provide the yummy fall treat – what is on your heart to prepare?

  3. April says:

    This is a great way to think of these days, Dawn. I get so frustrated by constant rain. Were it not for our newly gimpy lives, nesting would be a wonderful answer to this. But you’ve inspired me to seek other ways to enjoy the respite God has provided us — perhaps involving down comforters and naps… 🙂

Leave a Reply

