EXPOSE’!!! Get the REAL scoop about Lynn from CH!!

Our family had the decided pleasure of enjoying the husband and oldest son of Lynn from Choosing Home here in our home. WOW, did we get the scoop about her!

Got ya! We did delight in the company of Mr g and their son, but I couldn’t get them to give me dirt on Lynn no matter what I promised. (I guess I should have gotten smart and offered them some of her recipes made up, but I didn’t think of that until after they left. Ahhhh, the value of 20/20 hindsight!)

I will tell you both her men spoke of what a great cook she was. Her son said he wasn’t going to leave home because of her cooking. Her husband said several times how much he was looking forward to being back home to her cooking. (I chose not to take offense at that – especially since the one time he said it he was eating at my table) πŸ˜‰

I will tell you that both her men spoke of her hospitable spirit and her desire to minister to others in their home.

I will tell you that her husband shared of her incredible submission and responsive heart to him.

I will tell you that they spoke of her passion and delight in being a mommy – and how much she enjoys holding babies. (Although her labor room behavior may leave something to be desired….) πŸ˜‰

I will tell you that we learned she MIGHT be an heiress to a major corporation – but she isn’t.

I will tell you we learned that she’s a MEAN Spoons player – and we should bring hockey equipment to play cards at her table.

But most of all, we learned that she loves her men well, as they were both horribly homesick for her (and the other family members as well, natch) and they were eagerly counting the days until they were together again. Her husband said, “This may have to be the last of my adventures without Lynn. This has been really hard.” Now, that’s HIGH praise, in my book.

Lynn, as the guys pulled away today, amidst all the shouting and waving, my throat closed up because the focus of their next step, although they were looking forward to seeing the relatives they were headed toward, was of how this brought them closer to being home with you. I felt so sad that our enjoyment of their company meant you were apart – I felt so sad that our enjoyment was not complete – as you were not here. I’m so looking forward to that future meeting. Your men have represented you VERY well. Thank you for sharing them.

Comments
28 Responses to “EXPOSE’!!! Get the REAL scoop about Lynn from CH!!”
  1. javadawn says:

    Oh, and Molly, just in case you read all this – know that you’re on my list to visit, too. So don’t get all relieved and such that I’m going to end up at Lynn’s house and not find my way to your place!!!!!Β  (and moving to Utah isn’t going to keep you Clark-free, either!! We WILL find you.)Β Β  πŸ˜†

  2. molleth says:

    LOL…
    What a wonderful tribute to a very deserving woman!!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  3. Lynn says:

    Dear Wilson…. er, Dawn,

    I can’t believe how much you got out of them!?! Everything from “g” to spoons to my labor behavior, which is exemplary I’ll have you know, although dh will never forgive me for flinging the washcloth he lovingly placed on my head during a contraction. And FYI, I only went across the table once while playing spoons.

    Really, though, I’m so thankful to hear that they think I’m “practically perfect in every way.” That’s definitely NOT the case. This brought tears to my eyes as I read it – I miss them so much! Thank you for taking them in and taking such good care of them. All I heard from them was praises for your wonderful family. Hope you dd survived the driving lesson. :0) And I can not wait until it’s my turn to meet y’all!!!

    I love you,
    Lynn

  4. winkies6 says:

    Aww, sounds like a fabulous visit! Lynn, you sound like a wonderful and blessed woman. I know secretly you sent the men to check out Dawn to make sure she was really ok. πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰ Heh heh.

  5. Crystal says:

    Awwwww…that’s so sweet! How fun it is that you got to meet an offspring of Lynn’s and her life partner! Did they get that picture though????????????????

  6. Lynn says:

    So, winkies6, do you know Dawn IRL? Did she tell you my husband is suspicious of meeting people online? I am so surprised he agreed to go meet her. And I’m extremely thankful it all turned out well.

    As for the picture, Crystal, my son emailed three pics of Dawn. But let me tell you, the woman is a brat! Ever seen Home Improvement? You know the neighbor – Wilson? Yep, I have three pictures of Dawn’s beautiful, yet mischievous eyes… she’s hiding behind a coffee cup, a magazine and a big yellow cookie. What a tease.

  7. Crystal says:

    That is SOOOOOOOOOOOO Dawn!! NO FAIR DAWN!!! I guess I will just have to come visit and before I knock on your door I’ll just get out my peeping Tom shoes and snap up a pic thru yer window!!

  8. javadawn says:

    Oh NO you don’t! Here’s the deal – I HATE having my picture taken. Lynn’s men left and 3 of my kids cheered for me. Another one of them congratulated me on being a good sport about having my picture taken SO much and 2 of them awarded me for not shoving the camera up someone’s nose (something I’d NEVER do, of course.) πŸ™‚ (Why butter wouldn’t melt in mah mowth!!) I have had my next 2 yrs picture taking quota filled!!!!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  9. winkies6 says:

    Lynn, I wish I knew Dawn IRL. Nope, I met her here online. Okay, it was really Xanga online in about May? I totally understand your hubby being anxious about meeting people online. I have been online for about 10 1/2 years now and have met a lot of wonderful people thru the ‘net. For a long time I was part of a mom’s forum that is now password protected for various reasons. I have been able to make a lot of good friends from there. πŸ™‚

    Dawn has seen me thru a really crazy, rough time and seen how God has brought me out on top. Truly amazing!

    Thanks Dawn, you know I am just teasin ya and I really do appreciate you! ((HUGS)) Karen

  10. javadawn says:

    Karen, my dear, if you didn’t – you wouldn’t keep posting all those DELICIOUS recipes for me!! πŸ™‚ (I am making chocolate raspberry brownies this week!!! I AM I AM I AM!!) πŸ™‚Β Β  (If you haven’t already – and chocolate raspberry is your thing go check out her site for the recipe.Β  OH MY!)

    Today however, I’m off to tackle pumpkin…mmmm. It’s cool and rainy – definitely a pumpkin kind of day. Got any good recipes for me??! πŸ˜‰

  11. Lynn says:

    Ok, ok, that wasn’t quite fair of me. From what I hear there were a LOT of pictures taken and I’ve only seen the three so far. But I’m still suspicious about you, Dawn, and have my doubts if I’ll really get to see a full picture of you.

    I’ll be back in a bit with a yummy Pumpkin Nut Muffin recipe, but Samuel’s calling me now. Oh! And how do I find Karen’s site so I can try that recipe, too!?!

  12. javadawn says:

    Lynn, I was SO good re: pics it was AMAZING!!!! (BondServant is sitting here saying she is so proud of me…SEEE pplgh, I told ya so!!! I acted with GREAT maturity.) πŸ˜‰

    Winkies6 over in the side bar for the recipe. (Go back a few weeks, she has SEVERAL delicious recipes on there!) Karen – you will want to ask Lynn for her coconut cake recipe.

    Pumpkin Nut Muffin…hmmmm…that might just do the trick. πŸ™‚

  13. Lynn says:

    PUMPKIN NUT MUFFINS

    2 Β½ cups flour
    2 cups sugar
    2 tsp baking soda
    1 tsp salt
    1 T cinnamon
    ΒΌ tsp allspice
    ΒΌ tsp ground cloves
    3 eggs
    1 ΒΎ cups fresh or canned pumpkin
    ΒΎ cup oil
    Β½ cup raisins
    Β½ cup chopped walnuts
    Cinnamon sugar topping
    2 T sugar
    ΒΌ tsp cinnamon

    Preheat oven to 375. Sift together the flour, sugar, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, allspice and cloves.
    In a separate bowl, beat eggs until well combined. Add pumpkin and stir to combine. Add oil gradually, stirring to mix well.
    Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients and mix. Do not overmix. Add raisins and walnuts, stirring just to combine.
    Fill 12 large muffin cups and two mini-loaf pans (or 16 muffin cups) ΒΎ full and sprinkle lightly with cinnamon sugar.
    Bake for 30 minutes or until tops are firm.

  14. winkies6 says:

    Mmmmm, muffins sound yummy! Almost all my recipes are packed up right now, so I am glad Lynn shared one with ya! πŸ™‚ And YES LYNN! I will want your coconut cake recipe. We LOOOOVVVVVEE coconut in this family! Mmmmm.

    We drove near you today, Dawn. Ok, we got as far as South Bend. πŸ˜€ Hubby wanted to drive by Notre Dame and add Indy to his “states visited” list. If we knew where exactly you lived, we might have stopped by. Of course, being Hubby’s bday, we did whatever he wanted today.

  15. javadawn says:

    Well, I didn’t see the muffin recipe before we got the Pumpkin Crunch going – it was DELICIOUS. AND now I have a wonderful pumpkin recipe too. Gee, it must be my day!! (I better check, maybe it’s MY b’day too) πŸ˜€ πŸ˜‰

    Karen, hubby got a Sunday off?!!! Is that legal?! πŸ™‚ You didn’t pick a very pretty day to drive, I fear. At least here, it was wet and cold and rather blah-ish. I’m assuming it was so in SB, as well. Yesterday was a BREATHTAKING day! Perfect fall weather. (Although – Lynn said her guys ran into a down pour after leaving here, so I’m guessing that’s what we got today.)

  16. winkies6 says:

    Hey Dawn… Guess what’s cool about hubby’s job? They are usually closed on Sundays!! WOOHOO! I love that. πŸ™‚ We like rainy days, but not when the windshield wiper is loose. LOL It fell off at one point. We were in Missiwaka, I think? And, it rained here too.. Even tho they are still working on the roof. *sigh*

  17. Lynn says:

    I’ll just fill your comments box with recipes! :0)

    COCONUT CREAM CAKE

    Β½ cup shortening
    Β½ cup butter
    2 cup sugar
    5 eggs, room temperature, separated
    1 cup buttermilk
    1 tsp baking soda
    2 cup flour
    1 tsp vanilla
    1 2/3 cup coconut

    Blend shortening, butter and sugar until creamy. Blend egg yolks into sugar mixture. Add baking soda to buttermilk. Stir buttermilk and flour alternately into the egg mixture. Beat egg whites until stiff, add vanilla. Fold into cake mixture. Fold in coconut. Pour into three 8 or 9 inch greased and floured round pans. Bake at 350 for 30 minutes. Cool 10 minutes, turn onto rack and cool completely.

    FROSTING

    Β½ cup butter, softened
    8 oz cream cheese, room temperature
    1 lb powdered sugar
    1 tsp vanilla
    1 cup coconut
    1 cup chopped nuts (opt)

    Blend butter and cream cheese. Add powdered sugar and vanilla. Fold in coconut and nuts. Spread between each layer and cover cake. Additional coconut may be toasted and sprinkled on top.

  18. winkies6 says:

    Mmmmmmmmmmmmm!

    Isn’t it funny how a subject can spark such a bunch of different comments! Lynn… IF Dawn hadn’t talked ’bout ya, we’d never have gotten these awesome recipes from ya! As soon as I am settled, I will be making some of these!! Yummmmy! Thanks!

  19. javadawn says:

    Lynnie Poo, you just post as many recipes in my comments section as your little heart desires. You just validate all my ravings about you by doing so. πŸ˜€

  20. Yes, thank you SO much Lynn, we had SOOOOOO much fun!
    I cannot wait to meet the rest of your family. (That is, IF your husband will even let the rest of your family meet us. πŸ˜‰ He may not want the rest of them ‘exposed’ to us yet. πŸ˜› LOL!)
    Tons of love,
    ~MiniJavabeans πŸ™‚

  21. javadawn says:

    MiniJavabeans, indeed!!! *snork* I KNEW we shouldn’t have abandoned that legalistic form of parenting – they are just running loose without ANY restraint. πŸ˜‰

  22. Unknowen Bad Speller says:

    LOL! MiniJavabeans!

    Goodness Mrs. Java, you sure have some interesting, *Ahem* offspring.

    πŸ˜€

  23. javadawn says:

    What can I say? The beans don’t fall too far from the mocha and the cappuccino.Β  πŸ˜†

  24. Dear Lynn,

    Just to let you know, we are STILL hearing ‘Nap. Dyn.’ around here. (It’s starting to drive mum crazy!) πŸ˜‰ Tell g and C thanks for me, will ya???? πŸ˜€

    (“My friends aren’t talking to me any more…” “Why?” “Because my uncle’s an IDIOT!!!!” LOL! :-P)

  25. Holly says:

    😦

    I wish I could’ve been there, too! πŸ™‚

    ‘And…for the record, Dawn is a real BOOGER about getting her picture taken. She refuses. Simply refuses. ARGHHH!

  26. javadawn says:

    HONEST, I was SOOOOO good!! SOOOOOOOOO good!!!!!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] The only downside is that I wish our house was bigger so that we could fit more families.Β  The ones we are close to have, like, a thousand children on their own, so by the time I’ve invited three or four families, there isn’t room for anyone else.Β Β Here’s a picture of me and my friend Lynn at the beach last week.Β  AndΒ you can’t see my baby’s face (he’s the blue blog on the left of the screen) and her 16 year oldΒ is missing (off visiting Dawn).Β  See what I’m talking about?Β  […]

  2. […] Last night in sharing java with Kristine and her J-man, we discussed this comment by g-man. We also discussed the fact that the Dynamic Duo also mentioned repeatedly that we were not what they were expecting. […]



Leave a Reply

