Do You See What I See?

Said the Javadawn to her little fam, “Do you see what I see? Way up on the frig, little fam? Do you see what I see? A day, a day, dancing in my view. With a meal that is big for my crew. With a meal that is big for my crew.”

First of all, do not negate the dangers of sleep deprivation. This is a fine example of the potential results. πŸ˜€

Secondly, Thanksgiving is indeed visible upon the calendar on my frig. So, my dear ones, do you have your Thanksgiving menu planned? If not, this is the week! The sales are already starting. (By the week of Thanksgiving, I will have nearly all my holiday food shopping done. They run such good sales, that by knowing what I will need for Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Years menus, I can buy ahead.) Do you know what you need?

For our family, we don’t celebrate Thanksgiving on Thursday, as we incorporate Sukkot – the Feast of Tabernacles – into our holiday. We decorate for Sukkot and then simply leave everything up throughout the holiday season. (We started this a few years ago, so I’m still on the lookout for Della Robbia decorations) Our “big meal” will come on the weekend, so I need to keep in mind the need for a “special” meal on Thursday, as well as our Sukkot feast.

We have gotten into the delightful habit of using my Grandmother’s china for our Thanksgiving day brunch. It feels so…. warm, so cozy, so “home” each year when we pull it out. (Last year, I was quite pregnant and considering forgoing this particular aspect of the season – the children begged me to allow them to do all the washing and dish prepping, it was that important to them. I will not question it again. πŸ™‚ I must say, also, that being pregnant/having a new baby for the holidays was a HUGE blessing. It allowed me to see what was truly important to our family, to say nothing of allowing the Lord to work contentment in me.)

What about you? What does Thanksgiving look like at your house? Are you prepared for it? (Even if it’s just mentally)

Comments
7 Responses to “Do You See What I See?”
  1. Patricia says:

    We talked about Thanksgiving last night while Nick, Kristin and Jessi were here for dinner. Jessi’s grandparents bought tickets for their whole extended family to take a cruise over Thanksgiving to celebrate a 50th wedding anniversary, so Casey, Jessi and Mason will not be here. Nick will be back out at sea, so Nick and Kristin won’t be here either. =( We decided last night that we will just have to have 3 Thanksgivings. The 1st one will be that last Monday night Nick is home before he returns to sea. The 2nd one will be Thanksgiving Day, if Michael, Lizbeth and his family come down – otherwise it will just be Louis, Emily and me. The 3rd one will be in December, when Casey and Jessi return from their cruise and Casey is not on-the-road. I suspect that each of our Thanksgiving meals will be down-sized considerably from the Thanksgiving gatherings of the past. I think all of this is hardest on Emily. 21 years younger than Michael, 10 years younger than Nick, and 7 years younger than Casey, she feels a bit cheated of the years of large family gatherings, including grandparents, that all the boys enjoyed. =(

  2. javadawn says:

    For your “reward” for reading through this – I am including this DELICIOUS recipe that will be included in our Thanksgiving Brunch.

    Cranberry Cheese Bars
    2 c unsifted flour
    1 1/2 c oats
    3/4 c plus 1 T firmly packed brown sugar
    1 c butter, softened (I may try coconut oil this time)
    8 oz cream cheese, softened
    14 oz sweetened condensed milk
    1/4 c lemon juice
    2 T cornstarch
    16 whole berry cranberry sauce

    Combine flour, oats, 3/4 c brown sugar and butter until crumbly. Reserve 1 1/2 c, press remaining into 13 X 9 pan. Bake 15 min at 350`
    Meanwhile beat cream cheese until fluffy – gradually add sweetened condensed milk until smooth. Stir in lemon juice. Spread over crust. Combine remaining 1 T brown sugar and cornstarch, stir in cranberry sauce. Spoon evenly over cheese layer. Top with reserved crumb mixture. Bake 40 min or until golden. Cool. Chill.

    Hope you enjoy this! πŸ™‚

  3. javadawn says:

    Patricia, we have the same problem here – our kids are SO much younger than the other cousins that they too have missed out on sharing the holidays with all the family that makes it so much fun. (The youngest granchild, other than ours is 4 yrs older than our oldest)

    We have found that we enjoy inviting others to participate with our holidays, to make up for the lack of family members. I’ll pray you would know if there is anyone like that in your “realm” (If nothing else, come on up! You can enjoy our snow AND we can share our table with you. We’d be delighted!) πŸ˜€

  4. Margie says:

    You actually want me to plan my holiday menus NOW!?!?! One thing that I know for sure is that I will purchase as much pumpkin as the buget will allow once it goes on sale for Thanksgiving. I love pumpkin muffins, cookies, pancakes, pumpkin butter etc.

    I think we will be at my mom’s for Thanksgiving and Christmas at Inlaws so menus aren’t my responsibility this year.

    Your recipe above sounds yummy, I will try it for tea time sometime between Thanksgiving and Christmas.

  5. Jen says:

    Menus for Thanksgiving and Christmas…yes ma’am, I’m on it. It fits in with my October goal of monthly meal plans. How many months? I don’t know, depends on how much fun I’m having. πŸ™‚ I’ll definitely be making one for Nov/Dec. I’ll let ya know if I find anything special.

    Our family is spread like lost sheep, I’m going to be too pregnant to fly and DH is scheduled to start training the Monday after Thanksgiving this year through the middle of December. Not looking like we’ll be going anywhere, no plans for anyone to come here, either. Our adopted family here will be with their blood relatives for Tday. I’m definitely praying and thinking as to who we will share Thanksgiving with. Being in a church that is at least 30% military there is usually a somewhat corporate gathering, though I haven’t heard of one yet…I might have to get one started.

    On Thanksgiving day DH’s paternal side of family has a family reunion every year. This will be the first time we’ve missed one! Next year we’ll probably be going and taking the #? direct decendent from X. LOL πŸ™‚ I’m sure we’ll find out from our family genealogist. I hope that the kids’ great-great-great aunts and uncle are still living by then for more awesome photo ops!

  6. javadawn says:

    All right everyone – ya see how Jen responded – “Menus for Thanksgiving and Christmas…yes ma’am, I’m on it.” Now that’s how I want ya all to respond. Straighten up and fly right!! πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜†

    Jen, I’m really sorry you’ll miss your family time, but I will join you in praying for a “stray” to invite to your table. (Not stray in Father’s eyes, of course, just someone who feels “stray-ish”)

    Margie, I do hope you like those bars. They’re some of our favorite Thanksgiving Brunch bars. We have used them for the past few years. As for buying up pumpkin – HERE,HERE!!! I still have 2 cans left from last year. πŸ™‚ I didn’t want to run out and the sales were SO good. Hmmm, I think you just inspired me – we need (HA) pumpkin bread/muffins to go with our soup tonight. Thanks. My family thanks you too. πŸ™‚

  7. Jen says:

    PLLGGH

    Don’t think that was cuz YOU said so. πŸ™‚ Your post came too far into October to have influenced my month’s goal. πŸ˜‰ Not to mention the fact that I am ignoring your great advice to plan for the holidays. hehe besides the menus which came not as a holiday catalyst. PLLLGGH

    Love you πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

