Another Postcard from the Desert

Hello, I’m still here – smack dab in the middle of the desert. The wind is blowing the sand about and the “bread” has stopped falling from heaven.

Yep. The bread stopped. I guess it was just for a short season. Apparently the person who was picking it up before us decided, after a 3 month hiatus, that they should start back up again. The nights that we continued to get bread only occurred because we beat them to the back door. (Look for another Parables from the Loaf post) The Lord giveth and the Lord taketh away. Blessed be the Name of the Lord.

I wish I had all kinds of big news to share with you regarding our entrepreneurial adventures. But really, we seem to be in a bit of a holding pattern. We are poised to start on the work my brother has for us….we have started a few things up on our own….and we are eager to step out into the other things that Father has laid on our heart. But it all seems to be….hanging…..just hanging…….

I have been accused of being a tease about our plans with this – I’m sorry, I really don’t mean to, but everything seems so…nebulous. I feel like we’re on that rolling barrel “ride” in the old carnival fun houses. (Or maybe the spin-ny “disc” one….) Every time I think I have an understanding of what God is doing, it changes. It sure keeps life interesting. 🙂

In sincere effort to clarify what IS happening (and so I don’t get accused of being a tease again)  😉  I will share what I DO know. I know that the Lord did a HUGE work in all of us about moving – specifically about moving to the country. (Did I say HUGE?? Just want to make certain I did) I know that the Lord then laid a specific part of the country on our hearts – ALL of our hearts – all within 48 hrs – all without any of us discussing it until the end of the 48 hrs. That place is the UP of Michigan. (Although we’re willing to go wherever Father would lead/direct. Our desire is to see Him do nothing more than “point” and we will move in that direction.)

It is breathtakingly beautiful up there. Property isn’t too expensive. The growing season isn’t much different from here and there is WATER everywhere. 🙂 (Not to mention that the average annual snowfall is …ready??? You SURE??? 200 inches. We are giddy at the mere thought.)

I know that the Lord spoke clearly to me – I mean CLEARLY – to me, as I was walking through our upstairs one day. I heard “You will spend the winter completing the house, so you can put it on the market in the spring.” It took me aback, but when I came downstairs to tell Jeff, he came rushing up to find me, all jazzed because he had been working, and talking to the Lord, and felt that we HAD to complete the house this winter, in order to put the house on the market come spring. That made it seem PRETTY clear that we’re moving.

Other than that, we have “nigglings” about things that we feel like the Lord is directing us to – no specific confirmation, just a longing to be about those things. (Not the least of which is helping other families, who have a desire to, find their way on the path to entrepreneurship.) The biggest thing that Father has been working in our hearts is something He began many years ago: Relationship.

Nearly 10 yrs ago, Jeff’s job took another serious downward turn…hey, so is the way of the RV market. At that time, the Lord provided us with a job that was significantly less in pay and very demanding employee wise. As He did that, we kept feeling Him saying, “It’s never about provision, it’s always about relationship. I will take care of provision, YOU be My hands…My feet.” So, that’s how we’ve addressed work ever since.

This next stage feels very much poised to focus even more on relationship. Relationship with Father, relationship with one another, relationship with those that we’re called into business with, relationship to those that we would not be able to reach were we to remain here in this area. Not being tied to one geographical place will allow us to focus instead, on simply being obedient to be His hands and feet to those that He gives us to love. How totally humbling….to be allowed to be the hands and feet of my Lord and Master. Surely, goodness and mercy will follow me all the days of my life!

SO, now you know what I know. Not much. 😀 Now you know why I’ve been so illusive. I have nothing specific to report. You know what, though? It doesn’t matter. Through all of this, Father has been so close….so nearby. There is NO FEAR in proceeding in this. There is NO DOUBT. There is NO RETURNING. We will keep walking where ever He should lead, believing that the Promised Land is soon to be within sight….and we do expect that there will be giants in the land…but that’s ok, too, because my God is a BIG God…there’s nothing that He can not do.

That’s all from here in the desert – I’ll keep you posted if anything should change. Wish you were here ~ Dawn

Comments
11 Responses to “Another Postcard from the Desert”
  1. winkies6 says:

    Thanks for filling us in! Oh, how I know the Lord orcestrates it all while we sit and wait on Him. Wait and wait and then BOOM! You are moving in two weeks! That’s what happened with us. 😉 It’s so exciting. 🙂

  2. winkies6 says:

    Oh, by the way, my friend Otto lives in the UP real close to the WI border. 🙂

  3. whimsy says:

    I so totally understand what you’re saying. Five years ago my DH decided it was time to quit his union job with BENEFITS (that we had never had before) to become self employed. I have never had to lean so tangibly on God before. Like right now. I know we need “x” amount of money by a certain date. For the life of me, I can’t see how it will happen, but I’ve seen God provide in some really cool and surprising ways. So now, I’m just waiting to see what He will do. (OK – there are random panic attacks interspersed in there, but I’m getting better at fighting them off)

  4. It’s so good to hear how God is moving in your life, but it’s doing me even more good to see your response. He’s really been using you to show me that it is possible to lean on Him, that He is still doing incredible stuff and that He’s working in my life just the same way He’s working in yours (even if it doesn’t look the same). I promise I’m not putting you up on a pedestal (I wouldn’t want you to hurt yourself:)!) Actually, it’s just as wonderful to me to see that sometimes you struggle and He still loves you and still uses you even if you aren’t quite exactly perfect all the time:) So keep those updates coming and I’ll keep praying a long with you and waiting to see what He’s going to do with you next!

  5. Patricia says:

    Awesome!!! I can’t wait for the next postcard! Or…who knows, we might just join you in the desert! =)

  6. javadawn says:

    whimsy, I’ve delighted in reading how Father has moved in your lives! It just blesses me SO much. (Thank you for allowing others to share in the awe of seeing His hand moving) It’s truly an honor to be poised here – just waiting to see what He is going to do next, isn’t it?

    Shannon, my dear, good thing you didn’t put me on a pedestal – I’m afraid of heights. 🙂 I’m glad you DO see me struggle. I do. When I am spending time with Father – when I am walking where I should be, with my eyes in the place that they should be – there is no fear. But, sometimes, as is wont of all wandering children, we see something in the sand and follow it for days….only to realize we can no longer see camp. YIKES! Then I freak. 😆

    Patricia – COME ON OUT! The sand is GREAT! Today, when it’s cold and rainy, I keep giggling to myself thinking – it’s nigh on sleet here and in “reality” I’m sitting in the middle of the hot desert. Hmmm. Must be Kingdom reality!!! 😉 😉

    Thanks Ladies for your encouragement – I just can’t tell you how much it means to me. Next time I freak – I can come back and read that you’re praying with me and that if I wander too far out you’ll send someone with a large crook to drag me back. Now THAT’S love!!! 😀

  7. Valerie says:

    Wow, Dawn. It looks beyoootiful! Know that I do pray for you, dear one, as you go through this transition time (and I thank youfor your prayers for me – the good news about no kitchen is that we have at least five meals promised to us thus far – no cooking! Hah!) and I feel with certainty in my heart that as you step out He will meet you.

    love, Valerie

  8. Lynn says:

    Are you sure you didn’t misunderstand what God was telling you? I think He meant KP as in Kenai Peninsula instead of UP. :0)

  9. Ugh. I AM there. 🙂

    Not Ugh, because it is a bad place to be…the holding pattern during which you are to prepare for you are not sure what…:)

    But Ugh…because waiting is hard for me. 🙂

    It is GOOD to walk with HIM and to live with your ears close to his lips…waiting for that next whisper.

  10. javadawn says:

    Lynn…sigh…you know, I’m willing to go to KP…are YOU willing to move to the UP?? 😀

    Oh Holly, did I say I was waiting well? Not today. Today, I’m ready to throw everything into a box and go sit in the driveway, just waiting for God to point…or whisper…or breathe.

  11. molleth says:

    This is all so exciting, Dawn!!!!!!! 🙂
    And, NO, she’s not allowed to move. At least not till *we* do. And even then, aren’t you guys moving to Utah with us, Lynn????
    😆

Leave a Reply

