Truffles or tossed salad? A Sabbath discussion

We have talkers in my house. We can all talk about nigh on anything. We have one mini javabean that can talk you into a stupor. She will talk to herself if no one else will listen – I guess we all will. We are talkers.

Because of this, Sabbath at my house involves talking. Every week we have a new topic that we “attack.” This week, we are going to discuss the following paragraph from Donald Miller’s “Blue Like Jazz”:

“We would eat chocolates and smoke cigarettes and read the Bible, which is the only way to do it, if you ask me. Don, the Bible is so good with chocolate. I always thought the Bible was more of a salad thing, you know, but it isn’t. It is a chocolate thing. We started reading through Matthew, and I thought it was all very interesting, you know. And I found Jesus to be very disturbing, very straightforward. He wasn’t diplomatic, and yet I felt like if I met Him, He would really like me.”

We’re going to read through Matthew this weekend to see what it is that this young lady found so disturbing. We are going to do it while we eat chocolate. (I know, even as I type this, that part of our struggle with imparting this is, at our house, salad making is an art form. There is a constant ongoing battle to see who can make the most colorful and flavorful salads, so this probably isn’t the best comparison for our family. But, after discussing it, Jeff and I think we’re going to order a side salad from a local drive-thru restaurant and put it on the table, along with a bowl of truffles. We’re going to offer the children their choice of both to nibble on while we have family discussion.)

Much of my life, I think I too have approached Bible reading as one might salad eating. It’s good for your body. You need to eat your vegetables. It will make you big and strong. (and give you good eyesight, too) It is a necessary “evil.”

I don’t think that is how Father wants me to approach His Words to me. I think He would much rather I see it as an incredible pleasure – one I’m eagerly anticipating. I think He would rather I was thinking, with delight, of the very next opportunity I have to snitch a bite. I savor truffles. I eat them in the dark out of selfishness. (I don’t go downstairs to get it in the middle of the night though.) 😉 I eat them as often as I possibly can. I hold the flavor in my mouth, trying to keep the experience alive for as long as possible. Do I approach the Word that way? Am I thinking of the next “bite” at the very moment I’m finishing up the current “bite”?

I don’t think I thrill to being in the Word of my Lord nearly enough. I am hopeful, after we unpack this comment with our children that Father will work on ALL our hearts and I won’t be able to say that again.

Won’t you join me? Take the salad vs chocolate challenge….search your heart. Are you at all like me, seeing the Bible as good and needful, but not as sheer delight – something you would receive from someone who loves you dearly? If you’d like to join me, I’ll even serve the truffles….just because I love you dearly. 🙂

Comments
5 Responses to “Truffles or tossed salad? A Sabbath discussion”
  1. ReneeM says:

    yes yes yes!!!

    p.s. I loved this book. some of it maybe unconventional – but I loved the fresh non churchy perspective!!!

  2. Jennifer says:

    Dawn, I see you finally got your copy of the book. 🙂

    I like that quote too, and THANK YOU! I am doing the lesson for our 5th and 6th grade AWANA girls on Wednesday, and I think I have my object lesson now. I think I incorporated chocolate last time, but maybe the leaders won’t remember. 🙂

  3. Sarah says:

    AAAaawwww, Dawn!!!

    That is SOOO cool! Let us know how it goes — I just love His Word and I love the idea of equating it (especially in my children’s eyes) to an indulgence and a precious delight!

    Can’t wait to hear how your angels respond!

  4. javadawn says:

    Jennifer – I sure did and I drank it right down. (Lynn, I think Mr g even got a pic of me in my “prayer chair” reading and talking to Jeff.) 🙄
    Ooh, I’m glad you’re able to use this too. Isn’t God’s economy incredible? We don’t have a clue about recycling like He does. 😀

    Wha Mizz Sarah, yer jest makin me blush. (kickin’ mah foot on the floor) 😉

    I wish I could offer a report – our evening got boggled by some goofy stuff (gee, what a surprise) – so we’ll pick it up on Wed night, instead. I will report then, Ma’am! 🙂

  5. Wow, this is rich. I will never sneak, I mean, EAT chocolate again without this question nudging me. I can’t wait to have Chair Time with my honey to talk this one over.

    I AM like you…getting in the Word has always been like cod liver oil to me. Righteous duty, self-discipline, something to do because it is the *right* thing to do. And yet, once I’m back IN the Word, I don’t want to leave. Amnesia seems to set in, in between, and I forget the delight I just experienced…until I make myself go back again. What’s up with that?

    Sheer delight, huh? Yeah, I’ll join you. I need to do some business with the Lord over this one.

Leave a Reply

