Help me unpack, would ya?

This morning in my quiet time, I was reading from Matthew (remember? Salad and truffles at this house, this week)

Too often I think I end up reading Scripture with only half a brain – I’ve read it before, I’m familiar with it, so I only read it with half my brain intact. This morning, my brain engaged anew…

Matthew 6:31 begins “Therefore do not be anxious, saying, “What shall we eat?” or “What shall we drink?” or “What shall we wear?” For the Gentiles seek after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them all. But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things will be added to you.”

Help me unpack this – what does it mean to seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness? (I’m still praying, studying and seeking for some clarity on this – I will be back later, but I’d LOVE to hear what your understanding of this is. Violet, dear…where are you??)

Comments
4 Responses to “Help me unpack, would ya?”
  1. How funny – I’ve been focusing on this verse a lot lately.
    seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness
    And I can’t wait to hear all the insight y’all want to share about it. For me I think it’s a call to make Heaven my goal line, to keep my eyes solely focused on His kingdom and on following His will in my life – letting no other desire, no other “need” come before that. So how should this look in real life? Here’s where my trouble comes in – real life always seems to come first. How do I stop that? In my heart He’s first, but in my day to day reality how much time do I find for Him? And, how do I even begin to change that with three littles under foot? How do I seek Him first when I’m busy seeking lost socks and getting supper on the table? ANy thoughts?

  2. javadawn says:

    I’m even seeing it in light of our entrepreneurial ventures – they could easily take over our vision – instead we’re called to seek Father first – His kingdom, His righteousness. My brain is just full of thoughts on what that “could” look like – but are any of them Truth??

    Get this – I posted this and Jeff called – he said, “Hey Babe, would you please pray for me to understand Matthew 6:33 – “seek first His kingdom and His righteousness” The Lord put it on my heart last night and I’ve been praying over it and studying it during my quiet time this morning.”

    Nothing like the Lord working both ends, huh? 😀

  3. Violet says:

    I’m back from four days away at the coast with my husband and two of the children (I guess I should say young adults!). We had a lovely time to relax and just soak in our Creator’s magnificent handiwork. I’ve traveled a bit in my lifetime and even lived halfway around the world (Hong Kong), but I must say there is no place like the Pacific Northwest!

    Matt. 6:33 is a verse I memorized as a child, but have only come to know it by “heart” in recent years. I think the telling moment came to me when I began (still very much in process here) to realize that ALL of real life is the Lord’s way of conforming me to the image of His Son. The subtitle to Sacred Marriage sums it up: “What if God Designed Marriage [real life] to make us Holy more than to make us Happy?” Seeking Him first, to me, means to receive and embrace all of life from His hand (lost socks, entrepreneurial ventures, etc.), knowing that He is making you holy as you cry out to Him for direction, wisdom, and mercy. Real life and seeking Him first are not two separate entities. They become wedded when we look to Him for responding correctly to this life that He has orchestrated for us. It’s when I try to live this real life in my own power first, that things get all confused.

    Another thought that I just had relates to identifying what my real needs are. This passage points out the “needs” we most commonly think about, i.e. food, clothing, shelter. God has promised to meet those needs without our fretting over them. We should concentrate on our greatest need (from the Lord’s prayer) – to hallow (regard as holy) God’s name. Everything we do in real life, when passed through that sieve, would be considered seeking Him first, imho.

    Edward T. Welch in his book “When People are Big and God is Small” says in reference to the Lord’s prayer in John 17: “There are two critical petitions: (1) that God be glorified, and (2) that God’s people would grow in obedience.” Welch sees these as our two basic needs. I would concur.

    Hope these thoughts aren’t too random. I need to run at the moment. Will check back later.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] All day long, these few little verses have been “following” me around. I have been pondering on them and praying about them, asking Father to open the eyes of my understanding…. […]



Leave a Reply

