Chasing lions in the desert

I’m absolutely convinced that nothing grieves the heart of God more than God-given potential that remains untapped or God-ordained opportunities that remain unseized. ~ Mark Batterson

While reading an interview with Mark Batterson (hat tips to Whimsy-is..) I read the above sentence. I literally gasped. I could feel my heart beat fall into rhythm with what Mr Batterson was sharing. Then I read: “Lion chasers dare to dream dreams that are destined to fail unless God intervenes. There is an old aphorism: no guts no glory. I think we rob God of the glory that rightfully belongs to him when we don’t have the guts to step out in faith. ”

To all those who have so lovingly asked me what we’re doing entrepreneurially – this is it!! We’re going to be lion chasing. You see, during our Bible time this morning, Jeff and I discussed that what makes explaining where we are with this adventure SO difficult is because what Father has been doing is deep – most of it is mental. It’s like walking into a spider web – it sticks to your face, but it’s SO hard to actually get your hands onto it. It’s been horribly hard to clearly identify what we’re doing or where we’re at, because we’re not DOING much of anything. Rather, our minds are being transformed and our thinking is changing.

After reading this, I now have a greater understanding (and can’t wait for Jeff to read the interview!! Suppose his boss would mind if I emailed it to him and asked him to let him read it at work??? Yeah, probably) of what Father has been doing – and the purpose of my wrestling with understanding seeking first the Kingdom of God. We are being prepared to chase lions – we are being prepared, our inner man strengthened, that we might be willing to dream dreams that are destined to fail. Isn’t that just too exciting…amazing…humbling…just plain cool?

I am thrilled to my very core that Father would give us dreams to dream with Him. Dreams that are destined to fail require His intervention. I can no more imagine a life without a single rain drop, thunderstorm, sun rise/set or snow storm, than I can imagine living without Father intervening on the plans He is laying on our hearts. It would be dull, flat….lifeless. Is it not this same sense of anticipation that kept the faithful children of Israel focused on the Promised Land? (AND if ever there was something that was destined to fail it was those folks, taking the Promised Land!)

Even as exciting as chasing lions is, the reason for it is even more important, that we not leave any, as Mr Batterson described, untapped God-given potential. Through this process of being prepared for whatever is coming next, I have ached for the men/women of God who have had gifts, ideas, dreams that they have laid down, because no one encouraged them to pursue it. Instead, we’ve taught our children to see “making a living” as THE most important factor, when perhaps, in God’s world, the REAL issue is knowing how Elohim – God, the CREATOR – has made you and walking in faith to live that call out….perhaps that is part of what it means to seek the Kingdom of God and His righteousness.

Oh Lord, may we not fear the lions, but instead, desire SO to dream Your dreams that we would instead chase those dreams – whether they growl or not. Give us the courage of Moses – courage that would allow us to take a snake by the tail, that would allow us to take off our shoes and step on holy ground, that would make giants seem “do-able”, all so that we may not rob You of YOUR glory, out of fear for ourselves. May You be exalted in our lives.

From the desert ~ Dawn

Comments
5 Responses to “Chasing lions in the desert”
  1. Patricia says:

    Waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay cool! GREAT inspiration, Dawn! I am going to link to this in something I just now posting. Also from the desert ~ Patricia!

  2. John Smulo says:

    Dawn,

    I’m excited you found the interview encouraging! Thanks for linking to it.

    If you haven’t got a hold of Mark Batterson’s book that the interview was based on you’ll have to. It’s great, and sounds like it would be very encouraging for where you guys are at.

    God bless

  3. Oh, Dawn, this is so where I am right now! I needed to read your post. I really did! Especially today. We are dreaming some dreams right now (they are not “us” centered, but “God” centered…but we are the “joint heirs” if you will…and your words are just another confirmation for us.

    (I miss you.) (Can’t make a sad, little weepy face adequately here.) Just…pity me, okay? 🙂

  4. Margie says:

    This line jumped off the screen at me (regarding spiritual maturity) “It’s a moment-by-moment sensitivity to the spirit of God so that when you cross paths with a lion you see it the way God sees it and your reaction isn’t natural, it’s supernatural.”

    The whole visual of the lion in this interview is so real to me since I am studying the book of Daniel right now.

    Thanks so much for posting this. Like Holly, I really needed to read this right now.

  5. javadawn says:

    Holly, I’m so glad it ministered to you, too. I can’t tell you how excited I was when I read the interview. It felt like Father was showing me a piece of the puzzle that I had been missing. OH I WAS SO MINISTERED TO by it.

    I don’t want to pity you, I want to natter at you in a long phone call. 🙂 🙂

    Margie, that hit me too.  I loved that….not a natural reaction.  Man, my natural reaction would be to turn tail and FLEEEEEEE, instead, like moth to a flame, I’m just drawn in more and more into all that the Lord wants to do.  MUST be God!!!    🙂

Leave a Reply

