Quote-idiots Friday – Lite

Ok, so Friday is all but over – there has been no new Quote-idiot post and now all I’m doing is just posting answers from last week?  I should be ashamed, I know.

I said *should* be, but I’m not.  We’ve been busy prepping for winter today.  Reworking the schedule and routines, double checking school plans, gathering in our normal x 100#’s of potatoes (it’s always dependant upon the harvest), gathering in the last of our apples, the last of our squash and just enjoying a special day with our kiddos in general.  HOW could I possibly be ashamed?!  🙂

SO, here are the long awaited answers from last week:

1) May I be frank?
Is that your name?
No, my name is Godfrey.
All right, be frank.    (My Man Godfrey starring William Powell)

2) Who is it?
Joe Jr.
I’m not here.
I know that trick!  (While You Were Sleeping starring Sandra Bullock and  Bill Pullman)

3) Y’know, if you had a bank roll and purple eyes, I’d ask you to be mine.  ( Living in a Big Way starring Gene Kelly)

4) God gave us a great big apple, see, and He said, “Don’t touch it.” He didn’t say touch it once in awhile. He didn’t say take a nibble when you’re hungry. He said, “Don’t touch it. Don’t think about touching it. Don’t sing about touching it. Don’t think about singing about touching it.”   (Walk the Line starring Joaquin Phoenix and Reese Witherspoon)

5) Well how do you like that? Not so much as a “kiss my foot” or “have an apple”.  (White Christmas starring Danny Kaye, Bing Crosby and Rosemary Clooney)

6) Dee-na-mee-tay. Must be Italian.  (Hoodwinked starring Molly Aley as Twitchy)

7) I will simply deny you the crown and live… forever!  (Ever After starring Drew Barrymore and Dougray Scott)

8)   Did he actually refer to himself as “the talent”?  (Groundhog Day starring  Bill Murray and Andie MacDowell)

9) How is it that you are so brave while the rest of us shake in our boots?
I don’t think of what might happen, only what needs to be done.  (The Village starring Joaquin Phoenix and  Adrien Brody )

10) I thought all writers drank to excess and beat their wives. You know one time I secretly wanted to be a writer.  (The Philadelphia Story starring Cary Grant, Katharine Hepburn and Jimmy Stewart)

Goodbye, trolley people! (extra credit)  (The Princess Diaries starring Ann Hathaway and Julie Andrews)

As for THIS week’s quote-idiot quiz (since I know you’re all aching to win our voices on your answering machine or popcorn signed by us all) I will post it tomorrow, while we’re working on getting apples into the dehydrator.  Until tomorrow then!

Comments
4 Responses to “Quote-idiots Friday – Lite”
  1. Lynn says:

    LOL!!! You are so right… Molly IS Twitchy! I love you, Molly. :0)

    So, question for ya…. are the movies that make your quote-idiot list all worth watching? I’ve only seen three of them.

    Oh, and for those of you with TV reception, watch Extreme Makeover Home Edition for me on Sunday night. They’re redoing a house in St Meinrad Indiana which is where I grew up. I’m having a friend tape it so I can watch it later.

  2. Crystal says:

    Ah man I was wrong none of those wacky quotes were from The Princess Bride! Oh well. LOTS of fun movies though!!!

    Lynn, my husband works for an architectural mill work company (the very best I might add) and Extreme Home Makeover Edition called them up out of the blue and asked them to donate 50,000 buck of wood and volunteer some carpenters! So they are doing a house here in Chicago I think they just filmed it this last week or the one before. Anyways Scott and I could have volunteered (we could only pass out food and stuff because you have to be a licensed carpenter to work on the house, and my husband is an engineer) and go on the last day to be there when the family came home. We chose not to but it was so cool that we could have by golly! AND here’s a little tidbit for you. If you want the show to JUST pan over your vehicle or something with the name of your company so the whole world could see you have to pay them 100,000 buckaroos!! C R A Z Y! I love that show though. We don’t have TV so I’ve only seen it a few times but I cried every time!

    SORRY I hijacked the topic here Dawn!

    Back to the post…I can’t wait to read the quotes tomorrow I wanna win a voice mail!!!! BRING IT ON BABY!

  3. winkies6 says:

    Our family loves to quote A Christmas Story: “Fra-gee-lay… Must be Italian.” “Randy lay there like a slug, it was his only defense.” “Meatloaf, meatloaf, double beet-loaf, I HATE meatloaf!” “Who’s mommy’s little piggy?!” etc, etc, etc. Also, Sixteen Candles, Pretty In Pink, The Breakfast Club. Ooooh, Princess Bride! And of course The Neverending Story. I could go on and on…. And on and on it goes. 🙂 I love the quotes, keep ’em coming!

  4. Crystal says:

    Get to work lady!!!

Leave a Reply

