Javadawn’s Holiday Survival Guide – Part I

The other night when we were out, I noticed, standing in line, that everyone has a holiday survival guide, so I, too, would like to offer MY 10 tips for entering and exiting the holidays in one peace.

1) Make certain that you have one good outfit to wear to all holiday gatherings. A good outfit will make all the difference, when you’re headed out. You will want to make certain that you choose a garment from Isaiah 61:10. I have found that obtaining my shoes from Ephesians 6:15 makes being on my feet too long, MUCH easier. Of course don’t forget your jewelry. Proverbs 25:11 should help you with that.

2) Eat well, eat often and eat a lot. Man, nor woman, can not live by bread alone. Feast on the Word of God.

3) Keep track of your expenses. Every thing that you do this season will cost you something. Make certain you are truly aware of the price of something before you take it on. Will making that 23rd type of cookie really make a difference to someone – or are you paying too high a price for it? Will it cost you sleep? Will it cost you relationship? If so, then the price you’re paying for that item is simply too high.

4) Deal only with real things. Picture perfect holidays are only perfect in pictures. Don’t be deceived into thinking that this perfection is something that is attainable.

If there was sound included with those pictures, I believe you’d hear who ever was closest to the baby singing, “Do you smell what I smell? A child, a child reeking in the night….” The children would be singing as well, “All I want for Christmas is my own bed-room, my own bed-room…” The Mommy is singing, “Oh HOLY night, the tub is sweetly calling….” and Daddy is likely to be heard “It doesn’t show signs of stopping and I can hear my joints are popping….” Having ears to hear truth in the midst of a perfect setting is very helpful.

5) Take your medicine. Laughter and joy are intended for our good. (Proverbs 17:22) In our family when one loses one’s sense of humor, it’s a serious situation. We all remember well eating dinner with another family who kept staring at us strangely and laughing tentatively – at the end of the meal the mother commented, “We need to have you over more. We never laugh around here. We NEVER laugh at the dinner table.” If this is you – ask the Lord to give you the “medicine” of laughter. Pour it out upon your family liberally.

There you have it – my first 5 Holiday Survival Guide Tips. (Move over Martha Stewart – here comes Javadawn!!)

Comments
10 Responses to “Javadawn’s Holiday Survival Guide – Part I”
  1. Patricia says:

    Awesome! I have a really cool testimony about how we applied Proverbs 17:22 to a serious health situation many years ago. I’ll have to remember to share it with you. I have it posted somewhere.

  2. Margie says:

    Dawn, I LOVE it!

    I have just been praying about how to make the holiday emphasis more on the true meaning of Christmas. This year will be particularly challenging because we are going to the inlaws. There the emphasis is always on eating until you are about to explode and then eating some more not to mention the tons of unnecessary gifts!

    I have two weeks to pray up my family into the real spirit of the season.

    I look forward to the next 5 tips!
    ~Margie

  3. myderbe says:

    Yes, if we had hair and make-up people on-hand and no sound, our Christmas would probably be picture-perfect too. 🙂

    Good reminders, Dawn.

  4. winkies6 says:

    Did I hear there are hair and make-up people on hand for Christmas? Oh, I guess I wasn’t listening right. 😉 Awesome way to put it all, Dawn. Was #2 supposed to be “cannot live by bread alone”? Just wanted to make sure I didn’t misread that. 🙂 Hope your day is going well!

  5. javadawn says:

    YIKES – Yes, W6, I DO mean can NOT! Thanks

  6. Lazy_linx says:

    hey I’m back from Thanksgiving did you have a good one

  7. javadawn says:

    Hey Busy_linx, welcome back!

  8. Awesome post! I am going to print it out & read it often!

    Merry Christmas!

  9. Jen says:

    hey – just wanted to say thanks for spurring me into the Word to find out what those passages contained. I even remembered what two of them were at least 8 hours after reading this.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...


Leave a Reply

