1983 (and my challenge)

Twenty three years ago yesterday, it was COLD. (wind chills were -50 to -80!!) I know this for a fact, you see, because I was stranded in the snow….on the way to the mall….to buy something pretty….for my wedding… that afternoon….with my soon to be groom….who was supposed to be letting the gal with the cake into the reception hall….who was late and missed him….who then left the cake in her car….which froze.

Twenty three years ago, on December 17th, at 5:30 in the evening, I married Jeff Clark. The entire event was….a circus. I believe it was a preview for what was to come. Our cake was frozen and partially decorated. (I guess it’s hard to put icing on when it’s frozen in the tube.) One groomsmen didn’t show at all (never have heard from him – we tried contacting him afterwards and he has yet to return our calls) There was money exchanged at the reception. (Several of the groomsmen and guests had money on whether or not Jeff would show up. When he was late – due to the car stalling – those who were betting on the “no” side thought it was a shoe-in.) One bridesmaid showed up with her dress in pieces. (P.I.E.C.E.S. – side seams in the dress and jacket only – no sleeves, no ruffles, no hem… NADA) We basted, ironed, masking taped and glued it together to get her down the aisle. (She was the same gal who made our cake) My hands were so cold, I dropped Jeff’s ring – which “pinged” loud and clear on the hard floor of the sanctuary and then rolled out into the congregation. Despite all that chaos (and more I haven’t mentioned), we were still married.

After 23 yrs of ups and downs and twirls and spins, you’d think we’d have it down pat. You’d think we would have this super marriage. Some days we do. Some days you’d pay me BIG bucks to have a marriage like mine. Other days – like, say…this weekend for example πŸ™„ you’d have willing jumped onto the “no-show” side of the money at our wedding!

SO, when Patricia mentioned this 30 Day Challenge from Nancy Leigh DeMoss I figured it was a great thing to endure trudge through do. I have read through a goodly part of it and I think it will hold great fruit for me. Do I think it will be easy? PUHLEEZ. (I’m the one who fought with her husband ALL day on her anniversary, remember??) Do I think I will want to quit on it? Why do you think I’m mooching on all of you to join me?? I need some accountability with this.

So, here is my challenge – I would like to challenge you to join me in a 30 day Encouragement Challenge to your husband (and “I encourage you to stop speaking to me before I scream” doesn’t count) For those of you that want to come along on this adventure, I’m going to start a Yahoogroups loop up. This will give us more freedom than a blog would, to share the testings we are having meeting this challenge, prayer requests for sin that is being revealed in me…uh, us, praise reports of the work that Father is doing and simply a place to say, “Well done!” to one another. If this appeals to you at all, won’t you please put your name in the comments section below – and come on over to this group to join? (It is restricted, so not anyone can join – this will help keep spammers at a minimum AND it will help keep our discussions private.)

If you read this and you think, “Hmmm, I might like to do that, but am not sure I’m ready to take that on right now.” No worries, mate – you have until the first. (January, first, that is) That’s when I’m going to start the challenge, because I can’t think of a better way to start my new year, than being challenged to be a more Christlike wife. πŸ™‚

Blessings ~ Dawn, who thinks it’s pretty tricky of Nancy to post such a thing, since she’s not married. πŸ˜‰

Comments
14 Responses to “1983 (and my challenge)”
  1. Kate says:

    Congratulations on your Wedding Anniversary, and may Our Lord continue to bless your marriage richly,
    Kate

  2. Tiffany says:

    Dawn, this sounds great….totally count me in. My 5th anniversay sounds a bit like your 23rd…..what is it about special days that highten the tension and stress and just escalate things? Anyway, this sounds like such a perfect way to start the new year!

  3. I am so with you, girl! Twenty three years is pretty doggone impressive, Dawn, fight or no fight!

  4. Violet says:

    Yes, congratulations on 23 years of marriage! The longer my husband and I have been married (27 years so far) the more aware I am that, indeed, God put us together because He knew this was the best way to conform us to the image of His Son. I am thankful (I think!) for the mirror that marriage is in showing me things about myself that need changing. I can’t think of a better way to start the new year than taking up the challenge of encouraging my husband. Thanks for getting the ball rolling.

  5. javadawn says:

    Thank you Ladies for your kind wishes! I’m truly, truly grateful for them.

    If you’re joining me for this challenge (which I so obviously need, this weekend being a very valid demonstration) don’t forget to pop on over to the yahoogroup and join. (use the link above) I’ll approve you “promptly” (relative term) and send you your welcome letter.

    I am really looking forward to having the accountability and the challenge of glorifying Father through our familial relationships.

    Blessings dear ones!

  6. valerie says:

    Dawn, HAPPY ANNIVERSARY? I hope you celebrated good! Congratulations, that’s no mean feat. You continue to inspire and bless me, girl, and making me laugh goes without saying.

    I tried to get into that thingo link, but It stalled my entire computer (thank you, Adobe) so I’m not sure I can do it. You could just give me pointers if you like, such as β€œI encourage you to stop speaking to me before I scream” HA!!

    Blessings and love,

    Valerie

  7. Mrs. Nehemiah says:

    Ok, I’ll give it a whirl

    Mrs N

  8. whimsy says:

    I’m in.

    Oddly enough, I’ve learned more about being a better wife from Nancy than I have any married woman (with the exception of my MIL)

  9. whimsy says:

    and about the fighting….

    did you do some good making up???

    I am suspicious that my DH will pick a fight just for the making up. (OK, so maybe I do it too)

  10. javadawn says:

    whimsy, I know, Father has REALLY gifted Nancy, hasn’t He? That is why I don’t hesitate to take up her challenge, even if she isn’t married. As for the making up part – ugh…not yet. Things are SO much better, but we still just need to get some time alone and talk. I hate that “waiting” time, until you get to do that. Don’t forget to pop into the yahoogroups thing and join the group. (I promise to let you in! πŸ™‚ I’m not keeping anyone out, but by making it restricted, we can keep spammers at a minimum.)

    What, Val?!! You’ve never had such counsel on encouragement before? πŸ™„ Hmm, guess I need to change my tactics, huh?? πŸ™‚

  11. MamaKayB says:

    You can count me in, Dawn!

    We just celebrated our 13th anniversary yesterday! I very much need to invest time and thought into my relationship with my husband. Thanks for the challenge.

  12. Holly says:

    Congratulations! I wish I could have been at the wedding! It sounds very exciting. πŸ™‚

  13. javadawn says:

    Holly Belle, It was…exciting, to say the least. πŸ˜€

  14. myderbe says:

    I’ll take you up on the challenge. πŸ™‚ And your wedding sounds like the start to a great adventure. Good thing you have such a good sense of humor!

Leave a Reply

