Doing what comes naturally

Ahhh, I like natural things.  I prefer real chocolate (like….Dagoba) to say….Palmer chokolate.  (Sorry, I just can’t bring myself to call that stuff chocolate.)  I prefer natural laundry detergent to strongly perfumed kinds.  I prefer fresh tomatoes to hydroponic ones. I like natural things.

SO why is it so hard for me to remember that doing what comes naturally, in me, is what sent Christ to the Cross?  Why can I not remember that my mouth is a DEN of ugliness and my heart is suspect at its BEST moments?!!!  UGH.

Since I confessed to fighting with Jeff all weekend, I also need to report that things are improving.  It’s like having a deep cut though, ya know?  You cut it and you “doctor” it and you bandage it and you know it’s getting better, but it’s still kind of stiff?  Well, we’re still kind of stiff.  Part of that has to do with getting some time alone to just talk and restore relational intimacy.  (Not talking physical here, although that too)  (I should be blushing here, shouldn’t I?)

SO, tonight when he gets home, we’re leaving.  We’re going to take a drive and just spend some time reconnecting and seeking to identify and address the sin that got this mess started.  We will strive for peace and not just absence of conflict.  (WHEW, what a difference that is!)   We began our day praying, once again, that Father would be glorified in our relationship – that we would be attentive to His desires for us and that we wanted nothing less than His best.  That’s a good start.  🙂

(Please know, as I pray today for our communication and restoration of emotional intimacy, I will pray for you as well – if you want me to pray for you specifically, you can just say, “Me” in the comments section.  If you want to share a specific, fine, if not, I’ll pray anyway.  I just know that the holidays are PRIME times for miscommunication and sin to run rampant in our households and I want to stand in the gap for us all.  If you feel called to pray about this today, PLEASE join me!  I know our prayers will not go unanswered.)

Comments
8 Responses to “Doing what comes naturally”
  1. I will be praying today, too, for your marriage and mine and all you other ladies too. I know I confessed (although I think whined is more fitting) to you about our fight this weekend already – we’re just beginning to be more interested in reconciling than fighting. Now that’s natural for you – I’ve been much more focused on showing him how wrong he is than on finding some middle ground or correcting my own part of the problem. So, yes, please pray. We could all stand some time to restore the intimacy, emotional and otherwise;)

  2. whimsy says:

    Put me on there. DH and I are actually getting along pretty good right now, but you-know-who sure is trying to put a stop to that.

    As I was looking over my list of need-to-get-done’s, the “this isn’t fair, why doesn’t DH have a list as long as mine” thoughts were abundant.

    I am fortunate to have online friends to unload to before I got the chance at DH. Now if he only knew how fortunate he was……

  3. winkies6 says:

    It’s funny, I think somebody is working overtime to destroy relations around here. I was upset with my husband Sunday. I just sat on it. (I just had to think very hard why I was so upset. LOL) I was like, when he comes in the room, I’m gonna tell him. Then I sat here. He came in the room, he left the room. I didn’t say anything. I got up and said I was going to bed. I laid there, thinking, this is SO not worth it. It’s all in my head. This is CRAZY. I prayed, as I checked my heart. Totally, totally not worth it. The feelings went away. I went to bed. I am SOOO glad I didn’t say anything. Praise God for giving me control of my tongue. Does NOT always happen, believe me! No perfection here, by any means!!!

  4. Tiffany says:

    Will totally be praying for you Dawn! And you too Shannon!

    I have a question…feel free not to answer of course….but does anyone else seem to go in cycles in their marriage? Like for 2-3 months everything is going SO great. You just feel like you could write the manual on earthly happiness and contentment in your marriage. You’re communicating, you’re having fun, you’re honoring God, you’re doing everything just like you always hoped you would in marriage……and then things shift and it is 2-3 months of tension and misunderstandings, and lack of communication and intamacy, and feeling like you’re not on the same team anymore…..

    Or are we the only ones?

    Right now we’re in a REALLY great place, and so I am contiplating past mistakes, hoping to learn from them and avoid them in the future….anyone have wisdom they want to pass along?

  5. Yes, Yes, YES! We absolutely go through seasons although some are longer than others. It’s not that we have a bad marriage, we actually have a great marriage, but we’re going through a bad time in our marriage. Thanks, Tiffany, for reminding me that this will pass:)

  6. Tiffany says:

    I have such a hard time remembering in the middle of a bad/difficult/trying season that it hasn’t ALWAYS been that way. A professor of my husbands once said that if you look at a small enough set of any data it looks constant- in other words anything can look as if it has always been that way and always will be that way- but that it is in looking at the larger picture that you realize that it isn’t constant.

    Sometimes after weeks of things just not feeling right you can start to think that your marriage isn’t a good one and that things are falling apart….then it is usually about then a fight happens….and well it gets even harder to have a larger view.

    I’m really looking forward to all doing the 30day challenge together. Although, right now it is my thoughts more than my tongue that is in need of being taken captive. Praise God that He has REALLY been working on my heart about what comes out of my mouth….still a long way to go, but I am at least cringing less at my own words these days. I’ve also started to realize more quickly as I’m saying something that it isn’t right and appologizing before I’m even done with the thought. It has gone a long way in things going well in our relationship.

  7. winkies6 says:

    On the heels of this…. Hubby and I had an upset the past two days. *sigh* I think we’ve made it through. Just needed to talk about it instead of ignoring it. I feel better now that we’ve “discussed amongst ourselves”. 😉

  8. javadawn says:

    Oh, w6, I’m sorry to hear that.

Leave a Reply

