“I know the plans I have for you” says the Lord

This past week my brother in law passed away.  He has been sick for some time and on Tues he had a massive heart attack and an aneurysm, apparently simultaneously.  He passed away Thurs evening.

Of all my sister in law’s, I have the least in common with this one, simply because she doesn’t have any 2 legged children.  They have poodles that qualify for child status at their house, but none of the 2 legged variety are running around there.

Furthermore, I have always known that she and I think differently.  I just didn’t realize HOW differently until the other day.

Saturday, wanting to make certain she wasn’t making funeral arrangements alone, we sent family with her to talk to the director.  As we human types are wont, she spent much time regaling the funeral director with many stories about her recently departed husband.  She shared about their wedding (they married 16 yrs ago – she married rather late in life, as she is 18 yrs older than Jeff) and some of the things that happened there and many other more recent stories.  Imagine our complete surprise (and then strangled attempts to keep from responding inappropriately) when, with all seriousness she said, “I think God had all of this planned out.  My frig conked out on Monday and Bob conked out on Tuesday….and all the food in the frig that was ruined was his.”   :0

I guess I never considered just how fully Father plans our lives before.

In memory of Bob

Comments
7 Responses to ““I know the plans I have for you” says the Lord”
  1. I’m so sorry about your brother-in-law, honey. I’m hoping that your sil is doing well (and has replaced her fridge!). Love you!

  2. javadawn says:

    Thanks my dear! BUT, it was such grace for Bob to pass. He’s been fighting this stuff for 3 yrs and he was ready to die. I know my sil will miss him, but when she compared him passing to the passing of her frig….well, I knew she’d be ok. 😆 (I shouldn’t laugh, but we all sat there choking back CRACKING up when she said that.)

  3. whimsy says:

    Ok. that was pretty funny. I think it was her way of showing that she knew it was a good thing for him to pass too.

  4. winkies6 says:

    It’s so hard sometimes to relate to people and hard for them to relate to others!

    I’m glad that God is giving her something to be happy about (that her food in the fridge didn’t go bad, naturally). 🙂

    ((((HUGS))))

    She might need some extra attention this holiday season. Not that you have tons of time, but I’m sure there will be windows here and there. If the Lord lays it on your heart, I pray that you see those windows for her. 🙂

  5. Jenna says:

    People say the craziest things when they are grieving!

    *hugs*

  6. myderbe says:

    I am so glad it was you in that situation and not me because I know *I* would have been totally inappropriate and laughed out loud.

  7. ReneeM says:

    My first thought was out right laughing, and I was going to tell you so, and then I realized this is a post about family DYING!! so then I switched tactics…

    then I read the comments and your response… SO

    FIRST… I laughed.

    NOW… I pray this gives you opportunities to share with your sister-in-law, and a time of unity for your family.

    as a side note, Bryan and I deal alot with grief using laughter… we laughed about the weirdest and most “inappropriate” things when our baby Hewett died… but it was healing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

