STOP!!!

Don’t move – close your eyes (read this next bit first….) – breathe and just check in with Father – now open your eyes.

Life is crazy right now.  I know that most of us have too many things to do and too little time to do it in.  I just want to ask you to stop and breathe and pay attention to the Lord.  Please, this next exercise doesn’t need to take very long – you likely have the list already written – just take it and pray over it.  Or, if it’s too long to pray over each item, simply take it and ask Father is there is ANYTHING on it that shouldn’t take up your time.  THEN, ask if there is anything that ISN’T on there that should be.

Yesterday, I had the privilege of hearing someone share about their early Christmases.  They were talking about the total lack of financial provision they had and how they remembered their holidays.

Things were so simple for them. It made me stop and think….how have I….how have we (meaning my family, but if this applies to you, jump right in) made Christmas so much more chaotic than it was ever intended to be?  It’s definitely worth thinking and praying about, especially as we think of next year.  There may or may not be things that I/you can do to change this year, but there is hope for next year.

BUT, regardless of what you may or may not have on your family’s docket this year, please, stop and ponder on the truly incredible season we’re in.  IT should take our breath away, not the pace we’re racing around at. (although I’m QUITE guilty of allowing it to do so!)
Peace, joy and love ~  Dawn

Comments
6 Responses to “STOP!!!”
  1. whimsy says:

    busted. again.

    thanks dawn 🙂

  2. I needed this today. No matter how I try to focus on Him it is so easy (SO! easy!) to take my eyes off Him and then how quickly I am just lost.

  3. winkies6 says:

    Are you saying there should be time to stop and think? At Christmastime?? Just kidding.
    My family has always been kind of laid back about the holidays. Everyone has their thing to do/bring.

    I’m hoping that you all have a chance to stop and smell the roses. The Rose of Sharon, of course! LOL *grin*

  4. MicheleinNZ says:

    I can honestly say that I’m not stressed about Christmas. My husband and I decided several years ago to make things as simple as possible and that has helped tremendously. We don’t buy a lot of presents and I’ve spread the Christmas dinner preparations among the family. I’ve loved doing Ann’s Glorious Coming Jesse Tree thing and the kids look forward to it every night. Other than being involved in church stuff on Sunday and my husband leading a Christmas morning service, that’s it.

    I’m not bragging, just enjoying the ability to breathe freely.

  5. myderbe says:

    I am breathing. We are more laid-back this year than we’ve ever been, and I LOVE it. 🙂 I’ve barely decorated. As a matter of fact, I only had a tree up until yesterday. Then I pulled out the garland and stockings to do the mantle. Then I went out for a while alone. While I was out, my girls wanted to help and save Momma some time, so they decorated the living room with some of the things from the boxes. Now, my girls are 7 and 8. My living room does not look at all like I would have chosen. I suppose “eclectic” would be the word to best describe these Christmas decorations. I forgot I had some of these decorations! But I absolutely love it. Maybe it’s my favorite so far. Because these decorations weren’t done to impress or to fit a magazine’s standards or to be “right;” these decorations were all put out with love and as an act of service. 🙂 I’m not moving a thing!

  6. javadawn says:

    GOOD GIRL! I have a tree that was decorated by my children….. I see it every day. There is one place where there is a clump of 4 ornaments all hanging on top of one another….. I fight temptation to change it daily. 🙂 The kids did a bunch of the decorating this year. It has been good for me to leave it alone. 😀 I love their desire and willingness to minister to me.

    Michele, pplgh. 😉

Leave a Reply

