Minutiae?

How can it be a large career to tell other people’s children about mathematics and a small career to tell one’s own children about the universe? How can it be broad to be the same thing to everyone, and narrow to be everything to someone? No; a woman’s function is laborious because it is gigantic, not because it is minute.       ~G. K. Chesterton

If you are on the mailing list for Bob and Tina Farewell, you’ve already received this lovely quote. What you don’t know, is that after receiving this, some one – somebody’s mommy – has been on my heart for prayer.

I don’t know if this is you or not, but for the dear Sister out there, that is simply exhausted from the holidays, and is looking at her “task” of being wife, mother and home keeper with disdain, I say, “Peace, dear one!”

The position you hold in your household is not one of insignificance. In your hands, are the makings of giants in the world of men. In your hands, is the manifestation of the love of Father for His children. In your hands are the ministrations of comfort for all that Father places in your path.

Your world is not that of inconsequence, that of ants and dust. The responsibilities on your shoulders are bigger, vaster and more valuable than you can fathom in your human form.

Unfettered by the false understanding of your position, you will be free to speak words of life into the hearts of all that the Lord would have you minister to. You will see hope restored in the eyes of the broken hearted. You will rejoice in seeing the shattered being made whole again, as you reach out to be real in the lives of others.

Your position, dear one, YOUR position – given to you by The Most High God Himself – is not one of the piddling, it is one of the magnificent. Rest in the Provider of your strength, in your hope and even your energy. HE is your sufficiency.

To God be the GLORY for the many things He has done!

(These words are part of the prayer that the Holy Spirit laid on my heart to pray for some one. I don’t know who you are and it doesn’t matter. Father does and this is how He led me to pray for you. May you be encouraged to know that you are not alone and that He is not daunted by the depth of your feelings of inadequacy or fear. He longs for you to know He will use you. You are not consigned to the things of the ground – toys, kleenex, crackers, erasers…oh wait, that part is mine…. 😉 You are not just a servant to the mundane, even if that is the extent of all that you can see. Be encouraged to know His plan is greater than that!)

Comments
6 Responses to “Minutiae?”
  1. I love this quote! It may even be my email signature – I can’t remember. But this calling is so great – so huge! I’m having such a struggle lately because I feel so inadequate and ill-equipped to handle it, but I know God doesn’t call us and then “forget” to equip us.

  2. thanks says:

    thanks….

  3. Oh, Shannon, you beat me to it! I was gonna ask if I could use it for MY signature! Wow! That’s a great one.

  4. javadawn says:

    udh, Help yourself!! I’m sure Mr. Chesterton wouldn’t mind, one bit! 😀

    thanks, it is my honor, my delight and my joy. I pray you were ministered to by the precious Holy Spirit of our Lord Jesus!!!

  5. winkies6 says:

    On the same track as your prayers…. Today in the car, I was not exactly thrilled with my children. We were driving home after an exhausting dinner and trip to Target with my 4 children and me. On the radio was Focus on the Family. A man was talking about how he was a real trial for his family and how he was just over all a wild child. All I could think about was my #3, the child I struggle so much with. This man said that every day his mother would yell at him. One day, she stopped. She told him that she decided to give him to the Lord, because she felt that she couldn’t do anything else. I prayed right there. That was exactly what I needed to do. Stop fighting with him and give him to the Lord. I can’t do anything more. I just don’t have the strength to. Right after I prayed, not even 3 minutes later, my son became very quiet. He told me that God was touching him on his legs. And that God was right there with him. I just drove as tears streamed down my face. He is SO amazing!!

  6. javadawn says:

    w6 – …… (how does one put into words gratefulness and awe and love and worship?!!) How GREAT is the love the Father has lavished on us!

Leave a Reply

