Incredible ~

I know all you non-football types are sick of hearing me yammer about football – but I MUST share my incredibly grateful heart for the great football day yesterday.  Please, even if you’re not a football wife, please read on, it may not be what you think it’s going to be.

While it may sound like another litany on the thrill of flying pigskin, in reality, it’s a psalm of praise to the Lord for His goodness and mercy.

You see, 20 years ago (less, really) a day like yesterday, rather than being spent in joint enjoyment and pleasure in 2 football games would instead have been spent in sulking and argument.  (mine)

Jeff was born a football man.  I was born an anti-football woman.  The sound of a football game in the other room would instantly give me a headache.  My father wasn’t a football watcher and the thought that people would waste such copious amounts of time watching other people run on the field and act like grumpy fools…..well, the mere thought could provide me sufficient fuel for a diatribe to last all Sunday long.

Since talking to Jeff didn’t warrant sufficient change in him – oh he tried, he really did – but he’d still check on the scores late in the afternoon or turn it on just for a little while.  (When I look back and see the sacrifices he made, I’m really, truly blessed – and amazed.)   I decided to “go over his head” and talk to the Lord about it.  I asked the Lord to change the situation, so that we could spend an enjoyable Sunday afternoon TOGETHER.  (This was a big issue for me, since we worked diametrically opposing work schedules.  “Together” during the week MIGHT mean 30 min at lunch time together.  Best case scenario, it meant we got to spend all day together on a Sunday, but only in REALLY slow seasons – he was a retail manager)

When I prayed that prayer, it just never never crossed my mind that *I* was the situation the Lord was going to change.  So, you see, when I see my family sitting in our tiny living room (and it IS tiny) watching a football game, TOGETHER – enjoying it together – all wearing our Colts hats together – and laughing and having a sweet time….it is cause for rejoicing in my soul.  I could have missed all this.  I could instead be sitting in my bedroom, to block out all the noise that Jeff and the kids make watching the game – or I could be watching a movie or any other number of things.  AND most likely doing it with a rotten heart attitude.

Instead, during part of the game, I was sitting, back to Jeff’s chest, within the fold of his arms, munching popcorn and laughing together.  I could have missed out on that – and the fact that I didn’t is ONLY due to the mercy and kindness and goodness of my Lord to work a change in my heart.

Truly, truly our Father is kind to work in our lives, changing us into the likeness of Him, for His glory and our good.  Am I saying then that I believe God is a football fan?!!  Well, DUH, didn’t you see that interception at the end of the Colts’ game?!!!   😉

I believe it is His pleasure to see us meld ourselves, as wives into aspects of the character of our husband – as a constant reminder – to both our men and ourselves, that we are being molded into the character of our Heavenly Bridegroom.  The thought that He would do either one, leaves me longing to bow my heart in worship of His abundantly good gifts!

It may not be football at your house, it might be sailing or biking or any other number of things that the Lord has changed in your heart.  Won’t you join me?  Won’t you take a few moments and thank Father for His kindness to you both – you and your hubby – for changing you, so that you two are becoming one in more ways?

If this (not necessarily football, but perhaps NASCAR racing or boxing or…or…) is something you still struggle with – may I be one of the voices who would say to you, “The Lord is able.  He is MORE than able to change you.  There will come a time when you will suddenly stop and be ASTOUNDED that you are able to enjoy the things that your man enjoys, to the glory of the Lord AND for your pleasure.”  He really is that able….and He really is that incredible.  Blessed be the Name of the Lord!

Comments
6 Responses to “Incredible ~”
  1. winkies6 says:

    How’s that saying go…. Be careful what you ask for. 😉 Seriously, tho, I’m so glad the Lord has given your entire family some connect time! I don’t personally really care for the game, but I’ll sit through it while doing something else, look up every now and then, comment and go back to what I was doing. You know, it’s not what I signed up for, because when we were dating hubby was all about baseball. Who said he could form a love of football, too??? 😉

    Of course, I’m sure that the Lord is working on things with me as we speak lately. We went to a church yesterday with a female pastor (shared duties with her husband pastor) and I always said no way to female pastors because I felt I didn’t get anything out of the service. *SNORT* I LOVED it!

  2. whimsy says:

    I completely understand. I am a HUGE baseball fan (WORLD CHAMPION Cardinals only thank you)
    and my DH cannot stand baseball (crazy huh?)
    My DH is a cowboy, and the only sport he’ll watch is rodeo. PBR finals and playoffs/world series are the same time of the year. I can honestly say I was slightly torn this year. I couldn’t believe it, but I have come to love watching bull riding with him! It’s part of our weekend routine now.
    I even missed the last game of the WS to cheer him on as he rode his mule to become the World Champion Steer Stopper. God blessed me and did let me hear the last inning on the radio.
    And it wasn’t even a “sacrifice” I really do enjoy the cowboy stuff now!

  3. javadawn says:

    Doesn’t it TRULY just, when you stop and realize that it’s not only not something you endure any longer, but something that you enjoy?!!! I was just BLOWN away when I stopped to ponder on that yesterday.

    w6, I think the Lord is rattling and shaking a lot of things, my dear. A. L.O.T. of things!!

  4. valerie says:

    Hye, that’s gorgeous! I can honestly say that my gem of a husband has moulded far more to me, than I to him, in that he likes SO much of what I like, now! It is awesome! THings he was ambivalent on before are now things we do together a lot – walking, playing board games (though not trivial pursuit yet, I cannot convince of the joys of that game!) wine tasting, gourmet cooking, the symphony, the opera – he is so cool! I never begged him to do those things, he just came along in the first flush of love, when you can’t refuse your partner anything, and found to his suprise he was having a great time!

    Now, anything he really wants to do I always try to join in, because he is such a honey about doing ‘my’ things.

    Valerie

  5. myderbe says:

    Ok . . . Ok . . . I guess I’ll start counting down to the Daytona 500.

    🙂

  6. Mrs. Nehemiah says:

    My Dh and his dad joined a bowling league last year, mixed teams. and he invited me to join also, I considered not doing it, but decided to join because it would give us one night a week out together every week (and because I knew I would get a bad attitude about it if he was going out everyweek without me, especially now that the business is so busy) we are having so much fun together. and making new friends, who have the opportunity to see Jesus in us (most of the time, I hope) some of them are getting a new perspective on Christians, we’re not all anti-fun you know 😉
    any way I’m very thankful that we can play together.
    Mrs N.

Leave a Reply

