CAUTION! Falling and shifting paradigms. Enter at your own risk!

I have typed up 7 next posts. S.E.V.E.N. and have deleted every one of them. (Two of them had killer titles, too. Man) πŸ˜‰

SO, here’s my question for you – what are YOUR questions, if any, now that I’m sent us all **shwloop**-ing? (whimsy’s onomatopoeia for having our paradigms shifted.)

Do you need “feet” to see how the Lord has led us to employ it in our homeschool? our child training? our scheduling? Anything else I might be forgetting? So much of this is just a matter of going to prayer and seeing what the Lord would direct you for your family. I can tell you what we’ve done, what the Lord has done in our lives as He was doing this work in us, I will willingly share anything that you would need in order to get a hold of this for your own family.

Ask and all that I have, I will share with you, except for my husband, and except, of course, for my kiddos, and my van (I only have ONE) and my dog. If I still had the puppy, I would share him with you. I’d really rather not share my desk. I already share it with 6 kids. The mess on the top – hey, I’ll share THAT with you. At my house, any time I head to the bathroom, the dog follows – hence the baby follows, so the kids all follow, whooping and hollering “Party in the bathroom!” SO, if possible, I’d rather not share that either. Did I mention that I run when relationships start requiring sacrifice?!! πŸ˜‰

Comments
13 Responses to “CAUTION! Falling and shifting paradigms. Enter at your own risk!”
  1. mamashortcake says:

    Dawn,

    Okay this is probably a dumb question and you are going to think, “Has this woman read ANYTHING I just wrote??!!” , BUT here goes…… why does MOTH (and similar type organizing/scheduling ideas) seem to work so well for other families but cause others so much trouble? I read various blogs/ listen to Titus 2 type ladies speak and see that they are doing this and are accomplishing so much AND their relationships at home are good. I don’t understand this…why is it so hard for me? This just really makes me feel like a failure. Well, I have 11 minutes to get ready for bed so I have to go for now. I hope this makes sense! Thanks for all the time you are spending to teach and bless us!

  2. javadawn says:

    mamashortcake, my sweet….can I ask you a question? Why does it matter? (I’m saying that as gently as I know how.) It doesn’t work for your family – open your hand and allow the Lord to whisk it away like chaff on the wind. Then, you instead, learn and embrace that which Father has for you. What He has for you is custom made for your family and it DOES work. (S, PLEASE hear me, I’m headed to bed myself, so I fear I’m not communicating my heart accurately….please let me know if I’ve offended you, ok?!!! PLEASE!!!!!) (I’m also tired enough I want to encourage you not to waste precious brain power on figuring anything about what you know you’re not to use for your own family. And right now? Brain power is at a premium, so that is an important concept, in my estimation.) πŸ™‚ (going to be praying I’ve not offended you in anyway, my favorite shortcake!)

  3. whimsy says:

    “Onomatopoeia is a word that imitates the sound it represents.
    also imitative harmony

    Example:
    splash, wow, gush, kerplunk ”

    Ya know, just in case someone didn’t know what it meant. yeah, that’s the reason I looked it up.

    Dawn – you know more words than anyone I know. and I LOVE learning new ones. They are like little bonuses!

    ANYWAY – I don’t even know where to start. It really did shift my world to think about NOT being capable to do it all. I’ve always felt like I am failing some way. I mean, surely I can work 40+ hours running a business, homeschool my kids, make and use cloth diapers on the little one, keep an immaculate house, prepare healthy organic meals, grind my own wheat, knit our socks…….and oh yeah, isn’t there something about hospitality?

    So when I got down to the business of asking God what He wanted from me, I was surprised. He actually does want MY FAMILY doing most of those things. But the bulk of the actual work does not have to be done BY ME. I am carefully going through my list and evaluating what I can have someone else do. Even if there is some learning curve time. My sin is in thinking “oh, it’s just easier if I do it myself” instead of “is this a useful skill I can teach someone else to do?”

    Can you talk to me about your homeschool? I almost emailed to ask you yesterday. Very timely blog post huh?
    Right now the girls are spending too much time just pouring facts in thier heads. Not the image of HS that God has put in my heart. I want it to be “real” that’s the best way I know to describe it.

  4. javadawn says:

    whimsy, πŸ˜† it WILL be a long post. I’ll try not to overtake anyone with it. It’s been a long and arduous process. I’m so glad I didn’t wimp out before the end. (I came so close.) AND I can’t take any credit for it. It was all God, mostly working through and using Jeff.

    “Two are better than one, because they have a good reward for their toil. For if they fall, one will lift up his fellow. But woe to him who is alone when he falls and has not another to lift him up! Again, if two lie together, they keep warm, but how can one keep warm alone? And though a man might prevail against one who is alone, two will withstand him–a threefold cord is not quickly broken.” And may I say, THANK GOD! πŸ˜€

    PS Should I edit your onomatopoeia comment to include “shwloop”?? πŸ˜‰

  5. mamashortcake says:

    Dawn,

    Of course you didn’t offend me!! I do *not* get offended easily at all, so please, speak your heart and never worry about that…. I *did* ask the question after all :). The reason I asked, now that I have slept and am not so tired, is because I am never sure if the reason it doesn’t work is because of my own sin (i.e. laziness, distractability, etc.) or if it’s really because it’s not for us. I did do things like that before we had children, but because I had much more free time (I didn’t work before we had children) my self discipline issues didn’t mess things up. Plus it was easy to keep up with, because our house was small, I like to cook and clean, AND we are both neat and organized. It doesn’t work that way with three little boys, a tired mamma, and no t.v. πŸ˜€ . One thing I did realize last night in the middle of the night that might be a factor (besides my own sin) is that we do not schedule our babies which seems common among those families. I am not saying scheduling them is a bad thing…I’ve seen the Maxwell family for a long time and I admire them all a lot. Their children are very happy. But I just can’t do that. My two year old is still sleeping with us part of the night and still wakes up…in fact all my children wake up a lot and my dh is a heavy sleeper so I do most of the night time work…I am NOT complaining about that BTW :), but it does mean I am tired a lot and having trouble waking up early…..but then again I often wonder how much of my tiredness is more mental/emotional/spiritual than physical…… I guess what it comes down to is that I can never figure out what is sin in my life vs. what is just my life cicumstances that I need to learn to work with. I am sorry for taking up your whole blog today!! I hope this made sense. Thank you SO much, Dawn. You don’t know how much I appreciate all this!!!!!

  6. javadawn says:

    msc, ~WHEW! Thank you for extending grace.
    Honey, if there is sin in your life and you are wanting to know about it, Father WILL reveal it to you. THE greatest thing we can desire for one another is that we would walk in right relationship with our Lord. THAT is the BEST way I can love you. IF *I*, pitiful I, can desire that for you, how much more the Lord, Himself?!

    “Search me, O God, and know my heart! Try me and know my thoughts! And see if there be any grievous way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting!”

    If David is going to ask that, so am I. πŸ™‚ (Hey, MY kids do it all the time. They see one child receiving favor and they ask for the same favor. You can BET I’ll do that with God, ESP when it comes to Him searching me and knowing my heart and drawing me closer to Himself!!!!!!)

  7. javadawn says:

    Hey – one good thing – tomorrow is Friday – it’s Quote-idiots! No big heavy discussions. Just brainless fun. πŸ˜€

  8. Mrs. Nehemiah says:

    *Hey – one good thing – tomorrow is Friday – it’s Quote-idiots! No big heavy discussions. Just brainless fun. *

    hooray!
    gotta have some downtime to put all this into practice. head knowledge gets you only so far before it falls flat.

    Mrs. N

  9. whimsy says:

    MSC – don’t feel like you’re taking up the whole blog. I didn’t ask that question because you already did. You are definately NOT the only one who struggles with that!

  10. …the complete crushing of and rebuilding of how we train our children…

    This! This is what I need to hear about…because we’re hearing the Lord say this needs to start fresh in our family. I’m aware that I’m wrecking stuff in our relationships…but I just cannot grasp how or what to change. Can we ‘put feet’ to what ‘relationships first’ looks like in child training?

    (with tired smile) NEXT week, of course.

  11. javadawn says:

    I’ll tackle child training on Monday…or Tuesday. Depends on how late I’m up celebrating on Sunday night. πŸ˜‰

    Julie, one really quick thought…. when you’re getting ready to work on training your children in a new way, you must have their hearts. Spend the weekend with as few “demands” on your kiddos as you can, just so you can see if you have their hearts. I am not advocating ignoring discipline this weekend….just pour yourself into enjoying them as much as you physically can!!! (I’m praying!)

  12. DawnP says:

    Everything Julie said – ditto. (except for the “next week” part πŸ™‚ )

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] unsettled about our homeschooling. I’ve been talking about it over at JavaDawn’s, here and here. (and probably more places that I’m too lazy to look up) I thought Switched on […]



Leave a Reply

