Quote-idiots Friday

It’s that time of week once again. Read through the quotes, send me your answer on the back of a $20 bill…..or you can email me….or you can leave your answer in the comments section. Out of all the right answers, we will randomly draw a name.

The winner of this drawing will receive their choice between one of our voices on your answering machine/voice mail or signed packages of popcorn for your family movie night.

Happy movie night!

1) I fear this latest escapade may have lessened your regard for her “fine eyes”.
Not at all. They were brightened by the exercise.

2) I am no longer astonished at you knowing only *six* accomplished women, Mr X, I rather wonder at your knowing *any*.

3) An unhappy alternative lies before you. Your mother will never see you again if you do *not* marry Mr XI, and *I* will never see you again if you *do*.

4) May I have the carriage, Father?
The carriage? No indeed! You must go on horseback for it looks like rain. Then you will have to stay the night!
Mother!
Oh, why do you look at me like that? Would you go all the way to Netherfield and back without seeing Mr XX? No indeed. – You will go on Nelly, that will do very well, indeed.

5) I shall never understand why you go through the world determined to be displeased with everything and everyone in it.
And I will never understand why you are always in a rage to approve of everything and everyone that you meet.

6) Who’s that girl dancing with Mr. XII?
Her name is Mary King.
She’s come to stay with her uncle in Mereton.
She’s not very pretty, is she?
Beauty is not the only virtue, Maria. She has just inherited a fortune of ten thousand pounds, I understand.
Now that is a definite virtue.

7) Oh, Mr. XIII, nothing you say shall ever vex me again.
I’m sorry to hear it.

8 ) Oh, fetch my smelling salts, I feel my faintness coming on me again.

9) The pleasures of Brighton should have little charms for me. I should infinitely prefer a book.

10) You are thinking how insupportable it would be to spend many evenings in such tedious company.
No, indeed, my mind was more agreeably engaged. I’ve been meditating on the very great pleasure which a pair of fine eyes in the face of a pretty woman can bestow.

Thanks for playing!!

This game void and prohibited by any employee of Javadawn or her affiliates. Winners of the last 3 weeks are not eligible to try and win this week – unless you send me chocolate or cake. I MIGHT be perusuaded then. πŸ˜‰

Comments
15 Responses to “Quote-idiots Friday”
  1. ReneeFL says:

    I finally know one!! Pride & Prejudice — one of the few I have stayed awake to watch all the way through! I guess that makes it one of my favorites… πŸ™‚

  2. reneegrace says:

    pride & prejudice!!!!!!!!!!!

    i KNOW this one and just got my husband to watch it with me (the short version)

  3. Lynn says:

    Mr Darcy *sigh*…

    I LOVE P&P!!! Chloe and I have to get our fix every few months. When Samuel was born I had a P&P marathon and watched 3 different versions in a week. Hmmmm… he’s 8mo now and it’s about time to watch it again.

    Just so you know, Dawn… the chocolates *really are* in the mail this week. I guess a girl has to bribe you to get Jeff’s voice on our answering machine. As much chocolate as I sent, though, I should get popcorn AND a message… (and maybe some cheese.) ;0) Actually, when you see what else is in the package I’ll be ducking for cover cause you’ll be throwin’ snowballs or rotten tomatoes. Gosh!

  4. valerie says:

    P and P – love it! You’re gonna find it hard to get popcorn through customs…. hee hee!

    BTW, who won that other comp? My reading has been a bit sporadic! And have I picked up correctly that you are thinking of leaving? Nooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!

    V xx

  5. Michelle says:

    O.K What do you people do all night long? No matter how early I get up, someone has always answered Quote Idiots before me, especially when I know them! P&P is one of my guilty pleasures. My sister gave me the version starring Kierra Knightly for my birthday last year and I’ve almost worn it out. I pair it up with Sense & Sensibility starring Emma Thompson/Kate Winslet for a Jane Austin movie marathon. One of the special features on the S&S disc is Emma Thompson giving an acceptance speech at some awards show (Golden Globes?) as Jane Austin. It’s *really* funny.

  6. My kids have this unabridged on MP3 ~ if you think the movie is long…we get to *experience* 11.5 hours of this regularly.

    I truly is one of the benefits of being stuck inside more in winter. My oldest son (9) can do an imitation of the Dad perfectly:
    “You mistake me my dear. I have high respct for your nerves. They are my old friends. I have heard you mention them these twenty years at least.”

    And when *E* tells off a certain Mr’s Aunt…our family breaks out in spontaneous Z-snaps and high fives.

    It’s Pride and Predjudice! Draw me! Draw me! (I’m the one in the bottom of the hat weighted with the roll of gold dollars.)

  7. javadawn says:

    LADIES!!! GASP – are you BRIBING ME????

    I assure you, I’m not the one to bribe. This last week it was Shadow who did the drawing. The week before it was Squishburt. Sorry – can’t remember the week before that. It’s my KIDS that are the ones to bribe. πŸ˜‰

    Hey Michelle, most of those who answered before you are on a significantly different time zone. πŸ™‚ BUT, thankfully, with random drawing, it just doesn’t matter. πŸ˜€

  8. Jenn says:

    Pride and Predjudice!! I finally know one!!

  9. Kate says:

    Hey, finally one I know – Pride and Prejudice! I haven’t seen the film for a long time, but I remember quote 3 cracking me up when I read the book!

  10. Krina says:

    … dearest loveliest Elizabeth …. (sigh) … and if my ear and memory is correct … these are quotes from the A&E Version but only the first 3 hours or so …

  11. Lynn says:

    Yep, Michelle, we’re 4 hours behind Dawn. So when she posts QIF it’s still Thursday in Alaska. Isn’t it nice that you don’t have to be the 1st person to guess? Actually, there is no advantage to answering early because I have yet to win anything (pout pout.)

  12. Melanie says:

    Wow. I actually know one, and it’s not even 7 Brides/7 Bros. =)
    (or something I watched 20 years ago when a video queen)

  13. whimsy says:

    I finally knew one!! I finally knew one!!!

    I got up early every morning for what seemed like forever to watch it on A&E.

    Long before the beautiful days of Tivo.

  14. Jen says:

    YEAHHHH I knew one! Pride & Prejudice. πŸ™‚

  15. javadawn says:

    Jenn,

    YOU WON!!!!

    So, would you prefer popcorn for your next movie night OR a Clark voice or two on your voice mail or answering machine?!!!

    (Also – apologies to Tiffany, I thought I still had some popcorn to send, but the cupboard was bare. I got some more now and it’ll go out Monday.)

Leave a Reply

