Love is in the air

Our courtship (if you could call it that) was tumultuous at best. We were known for our intense fighting, slamming doors and squealing tires. There was nothing peaceful, nor angelic about our coming together. We moved heaven and earth to become one.

Jeff proposed in the middle of a fight. He said something – and I don’t remember now what it was – and we were arguing about it. I remember saying, “I can’t stand it when you do that.” He said, “Okay, but will you be able to stand it 50 yrs from now?” I said, “I doubt it.” He said, “Want to give it a try?” (He’s such a romantic, what can I say? That was the first thing that attracted me to him…that and his big size 11 1/2 feet tossed up on my desk!)Β Β  πŸ˜€Β  We were so pitifully broke, we didn’t even have enough money between us to go out to dinner to celebrate, so we bought a box of Ding Dongs and a 2 liter bottle of Grape Nehi.

So, what about you? What was your proposal like? Will you share either it or the way you met, here or on your own blog – and link to it? If so, I’d like to take all the names of those who participate and randomly draw one of you to win a Valentine’s Day basket.

I won’t share all the details about it….yet. But, I can tell you, I’ve got a master pastry chef involved. πŸ˜€ I can tell you from experience, she’s INCREDIBLE! AND you can be certain, coming from me, that it will involve chocolate FOR SURE.

So, what about you? Will you share your story with us?!!

Comments
41 Responses to “Love is in the air”
  1. Casey and I were friends who, for reasons I’ll spare you, weren’t *supposed* to ever be anything but friends. When we first realized that we loved each other and wanted to be together, we knew there would be a lot of opposition, so we talked and talked and talked about it. Then one day before we had done anything more than hold hands, before we had even told anyone, we were sitting on his mom’s couch watching a movie and he looked over and said “will you marry me?” Even though we’d been over and over all this, hearing the words still caught me by surprise and I teared up when I answered him. By the time we got married nine months later, everyone had come around, but it was rough going there for awhile. And we had a rocky courtship too – we never waivered in committment to one another, but we did (often and loudly) wonder how we were going to make it work. But God held us together and still does 10 years later!

  2. reneegrace says:

    I LOVE our love story…

    Bryan worked security and I needed help getting the oil filter off my car when I was changing the oil… I told him I’d make him cookies, he thought, yeah right!! and I did it to prove him wrong, AND even though they didn’t turn out, I gave them to him anyway. That was the beginning… he knew me as the “cute hippy up on stage”… I didn’t know him.

    THEN, as I was enjoying spring in Arizona, sick of the practice rooms, feeling as if I’d earned myself the right to a romantic fling, “I picked” Bryan as the lucky unlikely (quiet sports jock and all from … ALASKA! )recipient (by now I had figured out he shared an apartment with some friends.)

    He quite conveniently had knee surgery SO I took the opportunity to woo him with coloring books and crayons, “My Fair Lady”, squirt gun… you know, fun “healing” toys… and the fling began.

    We had 6 weeks till graduation and parting ways. (you’d think I’d be safe!)

    After my returning to Australia and great long distance “dating” we met back in college 5 months later to move all my stuff back to Australia… on the 3rd day at 1am on the floor of some church friend’s living room, he asked me to marry him. It took me 2 hours to say yes… I had only just realized that I DID love this guy, and wasn’t sure I was ready to marry him, but I didn’t know if he’d ask again, and I knew he was the one. He is the only guy I ever dated (yes there were many) that I wasn’t unhealthily obsessed over because of insecurity, and that made me laugh constantly over the little things that should be irritating, and actually got more handsome the longer I knew him. and still does!!

    SO we got married 5months later (3 of which he wasn’t in my country)… the anniversary of the infamous knee surgery!! . SO, no, we didn’t know each other that well.

  3. Melanie says:

    I don’t know if I can do this in ‘nutshell’ version! But I’ll try. I have this on our old computer in something like a 7-page version πŸ™‚ “Diary of a Happy Courtship.”

    I was in a small church where I was the only single female and Tim was one of 3 bachelors. I dated another one and made some mistakes (first one being going out w/a guy who I didn’t want to date) — I was so determined to obey the Lord’s will in my life, so I thought if he asked me out, it must be God’s will. My friends thought Tim was a good option, but I didn’t believe it was my place to pursue AND he worked for the other guy I’d dated, so I knew he’d never ask me out after that fiasco. 😦 But he did! πŸ™‚ We went out on Leap Year Day, how appropo.
    But he wasn’t looking for a wife. He only wanted someone he ‘knew’ to go with him to a singles group at a different church. Okay, fine (I was ready to say yes to anything after that wonderful first date.) We didn’t do a whole lot the first months – Christian radio rallies and protests at abortion clinics in Milwaukee, etc., with ice cream or Perkins pie on the way home.
    Summer came and we started walking a LOT and talking about everything imaginable.
    4th of July we went “public” and attended a church picnic together. I think it was later that month that he told me that he had told his brother: “the mighty oak is being hewn down,” meaning himself. I swallowed my joyful scream and just smiled. Talk went from marriage in general to “what do you want in a husband?” (You!)
    End of July he flew down a staircase followed by a refrigerator. I wasn’t there to see him. But the car the frig landed on was a mess; Tim had broken glasses and a messed up wrist. We went bowling that night — best game he’d bowled he said. We also picked up his loose diamonds from his mom’s house (that he’d bought for investment purposes in Israel on a Med.cruise) πŸ˜‰
    I had already talked him into accompanying me on a visit to my folks — so he took the opportunity and asked my dad for permission to marry me.
    When he actually proposed/gave me the ring, we were back at the same Italian restaurant in Madison on August 29 (six months after first date). “Do I have to ask you again?” was his first question. I said Yes to both πŸ™‚
    And we were married 3 months later on Nov. 27 — the day after Thanksgiving {It was officially Dear-hunting season in Wisconsin πŸ˜‰ }
    Our first battle was over vows — the week of the wedding. 😦 We’ve had some extremely rough days/times, but we’ve not considered our vows taken lightly. And the Lord has been so gracious to teach us both so much that we can truly say now that life together now is the best and getting better!

  4. javadawn says:

    Thank you Ladies, for taking the time to do this. I just love reading all these totally cool, totally God stories.

    πŸ™‚ Jeff and I met in a smoke filled room….oooh. It was definitely love at first sight. (Not) BUT we did start talking and talked for HOURS! We did that for weeks – talking and talking and talking some more until the wee hours of the morning, night after night. (Much to our parents’ annoyance)

    When Jeff asked my Dad for my hand in marriage my Dad told him he thought that only taking the hand was the best choice….definitely leave the mouth behind. They just loved me SO much. πŸ™„

  5. Holly says:

    Oh, that is so cute and great and sweet! I love love love…love stories! I might do this on my blog. Gotta think about it…I already gush so much about my dh…it might make people ill. πŸ™‚

    (But I am desperately intrigued and scheming to get that chocolate….)

  6. javadawn says:

    OH HONEY – if only you knew who I have scheming behind the scenes to do the chocolate part, you’d make up a story, then change your name and post another one and another one and another one! πŸ˜† I’m telling you, I have given serious thought to putting my own name in the drawing!! (We’re talking HOMEMADE truffles here!!! She mentioned chocolate orange truffles and chocolate raspberry truffles…and chocolate LIME truffles… Good grief, I’m drooling on my keyboard!!)

  7. MicheleinNZ says:

    Jeremy and I met in an internet chat room on 10 May 1999. I was living in South Korea and he was here in NZ. I simply wanted to talk to some people in English. We started chatting about missions (he had grown up as a missionary kid in PNG) and the next day I had an email from some guy named Jeremy White. I was like – uh, who are you and how did you get my email address? Turns out those chat rooms aren’t as anonymous as I thought and he’s a bit of a computer sleuth. Anyway, we started emailing and chatting on ICQ. We never thought we’d actually meet, considering we lived on two different continents. After a few weeks of a LOT of emails (I’m a great pen pal and turns out he is too) I thought – hey, I’ve never been to NZ, I should take a holiday. I asked him if I could come to visit and he said absolutely, he’d find a family from his church for me to stay with. anyway, from the time i booked my tickets until I arrived in NZ was six weeks and during that time we fell in love. When I walked into the arrivals terminal and I saw him, it was like seeing my best friend whom I just hadn’t seen in a while. No awkwardness or anything. And the first kiss in the parking lot was great! I still love that airport πŸ™‚
    anyway, we married in Dec 1999 and I moved to NZ on 6 Jan 2000.
    Now we’re just like an old married couple (with 2.9 kids) and sometimes we still giggle over the fact that we met on the internet. He is my best friend and I find it incredible how love really does grow and change.
    Obviously heaps more details but I’ll leave those for another time.

  8. valerie says:

    Michelle, that is a lovely story! An internet romance!

    Mine is good. Good. GOOD. I can feel some chocolate headed my way….. (heh heh!! Just kidding – some of those stories are hard to beat!)

    I had known Arran for about five years. He was in the same loose friendship group (I don’t mean loose morally πŸ˜‰ ) but we never really clicked or connected. He was just *there*. To me he was just this young (YOUNG!!!) guitar playing, long-haired, God-loving youth who I said ‘Hi, how’re you going’ to, but that was about it.

    I was at this church meeting one time, praying with a lady, who said to me that she felt to pray for my future husband. She told me that she felt he would be a friend first, then we would do some ministry together, then we would fall in love.

    I was in raptures, blessing the Lord, thanking Him for His provision, and awaiting the day faithfully – NOT!!! I dismissed what she has said summarily – so OVER marriage prophecies – and lived my life.

    About a year later, in January, this group of friends started hanging out together more. We went to the beach every day between Christmas and New Year, and got together for movie nights and so on. The guys would drop past my house for coffees from my special espresso machine (not Arran – he is a non-drinker, would you believe. A coffee teetotaller.) We had fun.

    Then, over the next few weeks, our pastor started taking small teams of peoplke to minister at a couple of other churches we were connected with. You can guess who was there, and who I often ended up praying with or whatever. I thought nothing of it – the guy wore Hawaiian shirts, for Pete’s sake! (They are SO gone.)

    After that time, I bought a new computer through Arran, who came around to my house to set it all up. We got chatting that night, and just- clicked.

    After that, most nights, we would both just gravitate to our respective computers and chat on skype, the time between 6.30pm and midnight just disappearing. Apart from the nights he came over to ‘install another great programme on your computer’.

    I kept thinking, ‘what a great platonic friendship! It is so nice to be such good friends with a guy, and know that is all it is!’ He was thinking, ‘I’m digging this girl. I think she is the ONE.’

    To cut a long story short, we pretty much started spending all our free time together, picnics, movies and the like. One night, we were driving home along the Kwinana Freeway, right near the Canning Hwy off-ramp, when I asked him waht he was thinking about. He poured out his heart, declaring his love for me, and telling me how wonderful I was etc etc. I could say nothing, but just reached out for his hand. It was magical, beautiful, the best moment of my life up until then.

    We were together three weeks when we started talking marriage. He took me out to a fancy restaurant (where we had our reception, actually) and I thought he would ask me there, at the table overlooking the river and the lights of the city, twinkling across the water. Nope. We drove up to the park overlooking the city afterwards, but he didn’t ask me there, either. We started driving home, and just as we approached the Canning Hwy off-ramp, he pulled over, right there on the freeway, got out of the car and went to one knee on my side of the car, in the gravel, where he proposed. He put a sparkler on my finger, and over in the park on the other side, some youths called out and whistled, guessing what was going on.

    For ages after that, every time we would pass that point, we would grab each other’s hand, squeeze it, and smile a smile of memory, reliving those moments of first love and first commitment.

    We’ve been hitched nearly two years now, and though the road has not always been easy, every day is a gift and I am overwhelmed at the generosity and love of our Father that He would give me this amazing, wonderful man of my dream.

    Valerie

  9. Crystal says:

    Ditto to what Holly said…I don’t want people to spu (sp.) from reading another thing about my amazing man!

    I LOVE your story Dawn! I felt like I was watching a classic romantic movie! SERIOUSLY! You can’t beat ding dongs and grape pop and yelling! Too much awesome!

    I’ll work on mine so I can be in the drawing! You know my birthday is the day before Valentine’s Day does that get me and extra drawing!!?!?!? JUST KIDDING!

  10. Michelle says:

    It was New Year’s Eve, 1991. My church had a prayer service where each member could be prayed over by a pastor for the coming year. I was in the senior pastor’s line–the man was a brilliant teaching pastor, but not very personable…certainly not someone who would be interested in my love life; so imagine my surprise when he prayed “Lord I just ask that You would raise up a Godly man for Michelle this year.” After the prayer service, I walked down the hall to our church singles group’s NYE party. I wasn’t there at the time, but the wife of the singles pastor approached a group of young men and wanted to know why they were complaining about not having anyone to date when I hadn’t gone out with anyone in several months. John wasn’t in that group of men, but he was within earshot and took note.

    The next day there was another New Years party at the home of one of the men in our singles group (what can I say we liked to party?) When I got there I apologized for being late, explaining that my family had gotten together to butcher a pig. John ears perked up and he determined to ask me out by week’s end. (To this day I’m not sure if it was because I was willing to participate in the butchering of the pig or because my father owned equipment to butcher said pig ;o)

    After that, it was a done deal. He DID ask me out by week’s end, we were engaged by Easter, and married by Labor Day. When John proposed, it was in his car in the parking lot of the church after I had sung in an Easter cantata. We went out to Baker’s Square with my family after the cantata and when John announced our engagement, they looked at us deadpan and replied “So? Tell us something we don’t already know!” John says his only regret was not thinking to ask for my hand first.

    My dad says it is ironic that out of his 7 children, the prissy, fussy, allergy-ridden daughter (me) was the one to grow up and marry a farmer. Yup, God has a sense of humor, but I wouldn’t have it any other way.

    Happy Valentines Day everyone!

  11. Crystal says:

    Scott and I started dating October 27, 1994 when we were both 16 years old. To read about the day he “asked me out” you can go here (it’s short), http://crystalstarrs.blogspot.com/2006/10/i-love-my-guy.html.

    We got pregnant with Emily when we were 17 (had her at 18). We both knew we wanted to get married one day so now with a baby we thought this day should come sooner than later. Soooo…a month after Emily was born and 2 years to the day we started dating on October 27, 1996 Scott (aka the love of my life) purposed to me!

    We were at his parents house and they were going to baby-sit so Scott could take me out to celebrate our dating anniversary. Well he drove me to a gazebo by his house on the river and he pulled out a blanket, some candles, some sparkling wine and glasses. Then he pulled out the ring and asked me to marry him. Of course I screamed and cried and hugged him and kissed him. When we came home his parents, Emily, and his aunts and uncles were all there and we drank wine as they toasted us and congratulated us. It was a fun a beautiful night. They tore down the gazebo but they can never tear down our memories.

    Four months later we were married and began to ride the biggest scariest and most exciting roller coaster of our lives. We’re still riding it but God is on it with us and everyday with this man is a gift.

    There you have it, that’s our little story of union.

  12. Crystal says:

    The link didn’t work because there was a period after it, so here it is again…

    http://crystalstarrs.blogspot.com/2006/10/i-love-my-guy.html

  13. Violet says:

    I went to the mission field (Hong Kong) as a 27 year old single woman, looking forward to serving the Lord there as long as I was able. Originally I was headed for Bangladesh, but the Lord had different ideas since He had gone to a lot of trouble in making sure my future husband escaped from China safely while I was graduating from Bible school.

    Samuel and I met my first weekend in Hong Kong. He was one of the students in an English class my roommate taught before the evening church service. He was part of a group of friends (3 boys and 2 girls) that did everything together. My roommate and I had their group as well as others in our home often, and were also included in their outings.

    Samuel had an oppotruntiy to go to Israel and live in a kibbutz a year after I arrived in Hong Kong. He was so excited to be able to go live in the land where Jesus walked in His humanity, as well as experience communal living in a free society. He had lived in a commune in China before his escape.

    About a month before he left for Israel, he nonchalantly talked about meeting at Chinese University in the New Territories, and going rowing in the harbor there. I assumed it was with a group, as usual, and so found out the time and place. When I showed up, Samuel was the only one there. This was unexpected, but I didn’t say anything. We rented a boat and went rowing in the South China Sea. Once we were a good distance from land, he told me he loved me and wanted some kind of promise that I would wait for him. I was totally flabbergasted! I told him I could make no promises except to write to him. I knew I was where the Lord wanted me at that time. I didn’t know about the future, but was sure the Lord would show us both in His time.

    He was gone for 1 1/2 years, staying in both Israel and Europe, ending up in Germany. We wrote frequently (I still have most of those letters), he called a couple times, and I fell in love. When he came back to Hong Kong, we had to get reaquainted again, which made for some interesting times. Typical Chinese courtship is done very quietly. Sometimes you don’t even know the two are acquainted until they are engaged. One evening, as he was telling me good-bye in the hallway, he whispered, “Will you marry me?” I wasn’t sure I had heard correctly, so looked at him a bit quizzically. He repeated the question a little louder (not much, though), and I said “yes” before he had second thoughts.

    The Lord worked out so many confirming details for us in the next year that it would take a book to relate it all. We were married on August 25, 1979. I thank the Lord for all He has brought us through and all He has yet in store.

  14. Tiffany says:

    Oh- I’m loving this contest!

    Well, my husband and I met for the first time on 7/5/97. He was 15 and I was 14. πŸ™‚ We were going on a church camp (a regional sort of camp) bicycle trip to the San Juan Islands. I saw him and my first thought was “this is going to be a fun trip” (you’d find this extra funny if you could see the pictures-we were goofy looking) We spent the next week “debating” everything under the sun…and well fell in love, although I don’t think either of us would have put it that way then. Thus began a rather tumultuous 4 years until we were married. I became a Christian on 7/23/97- due in large part to Nolan and his insistence that the LDS church and Christianity weren’t the same thing. We graduated high school in may of 99. were forbidden to see each other from aug 99-july00. Then moved into the same christian boarding house (different rooms, natch) aug 00. He proposed Dec 31, 2000.

    Took me out to a wonderful fancy dinner. Then to a local park that is lit up every year for Christmas that we had gone on our first real date to. Then back to his parent’s house. he had me go in the office entrance because he “had to check on the dogs” and when I walked in there was a piece of paper with “follow the kisses” written in calagraphy, an arrow made out of hershey kisses, with kisses every foot or so leading me upstairs. There was music playing, and the scent of a gardenia candle burning (my favorite scent to this day). The kisses led into the bathroom (which I have to say really threw me for a loop) where there was another arrow pointing to the shower. I opened it and there were a dozen long stem roses hanging there with a note that said – “now that I’ve kissed the ground you walked on and showered you with roses, will you marry me” and I turned around and he was on one knee with the ring. One with our two birth stones he had designed. I of course said yes, and we were married on 7/7/01.

  15. Lynn says:

    Oh my gosh, I am having so much fun reading these! I’m sitting at my computer smiling like a fool…. the children are wondering about me! LOL

    I’ll be back late tonight to enter this contest but right now I have a baby to nurse and pears in the canner.

  16. Marianne says:

    Hello, all. I’ve been lurking ( and learning to love you all) for the last week or so since Melanie gave me the link. She’s my best (female) friend, by the way. We go waaaaaaaaaay back to kindergarten. I can attest to the truthfulness of her and Tim’s proposal, and probably add some wonderful stuff. Like how they spent vast numbers of (late) evenings in my living room during their courtship gabbing and eating my ice cream. (The long walks were to and from my house via long, circuitious routes around said small town.) At any rate, their wedding was the most beautiful, Christ-centered wedding I’ve ever been to. I’d divulge LOTS more details if I knew she wouldn’t holler at me about it later (snicker, snicker).

    Ok. enough romance – here’s the story of my own proposal. Let me say I’m married to a wonderful, faithful, hard-working guy that doesn’t possess a romantic bone in his body. Well, maybe a small one. I dated David before he was a believer. (Wouldn’t recommend THAT to anyone, but that’s what happened.) We met because he saw my picture (uggggh! taken before I was a believer – pretty scary) at my grandmother’s house. They worked in the same restaurant. I lived with an aunt at the time and she and I had been praying that I’d meet my dh to be on a certain date. (Wouldn’t recommend sticking God in that kind of a box, either.) At any rate, my g’ma called and said, “I have this guy who saw your pic. and wants to meet you.” KRINGE!!!!!!! I said, “Ok. I guess.” and then promptly forgot about it. Like TOTALLY forgot about it. As in completely stood him up on our first date. Let me say, just for the record, though that IF I had remembered, I would have met my future dh on the exact date my aunt and I had prayed about!

    We met the next weekend instead. πŸ™‚

    He was pretty well-versed in some modern day worldly philosophy (duh! – he wasn’t a believer yet) and about 3 weeks after we met, he suggested that we move in together as soon as he graduated from college. I carefully explained that living together wasn’t what God wanted. There would be no “experimenting.” I told him that I thought the first couple years of a relationship could/would be a big adjustment and that it would be a whole lot easier to stick it out if vows and rings were involved. I also (carefully) told him I wouldn’t/couldn’t marry him until he had made a committment to follow Christ (and then I gave him the plan of salvation AGAIN).

    About a month later, he told me he’d had the strangest experience. He was showering before our date and said to himself, “There just can’t be a God. What Marianne’s been telling me is just too strange.” He said it was as if all “light” just went out. Like he was all alone and totally forsaken – the only one left on the planet. And, it terrified him. He showed up at my house actually shaking, saying he needed to be saved NOW! Right there in the car, he gave in to the Spirit’s promptings and gave his life to Jesus Christ in salvation.

    Later that week, he said, “Well, since you won’t move in with me, I guess we’re going to have to get married. What’d’ya think? ” I said “yes”. That very night, he took me ring shopping. Bought one right then and there that very night, and stuck it on my finger. That was that.

    Pretty romantic, huh? πŸ™‚ Mr. Practical. That’s my man. We’ve been married 20 years and have 8 children. Great to “meet” you! And, I LOOOOOOVE chocolate. (hint, hint)

  17. Holly says:

    I LOVE THESE! What great stories!

    Hi Marianne. If you have 8 children he must be somewhat romantic! πŸ™‚

    Okay. I’ll bite. Condensed version:

    Met at College. I was 17, he was 18. I thought he was cute, but WAY out of my league. Too popular.
    Welllllll…we started taking walks together…climbed pear trees, went on hay rides. I held his hand first, kissed him first, but was “kind” enough to let him propose. πŸ™‚

    We dated for 3 years, until I graduated college. We could have, should have gotten married at 17. I kept waiting for this huge “adjustment” that everyone said should come…and it didn’t. We were married two weeks after my graduation. It was good, it is good!

    Now give me the chocolate.

    ahem. I mean…please. πŸ™‚

  18. Melanie says:

    Yikes, Lynn. I’m trying to remember if I know where you live. Canning pears in February?? Go, you! We love home-canned pears πŸ™‚

    And yes, these stories are great fun to read!

    i’m not sure what details Marianne is thinking she might add? hmmm.

  19. Myderbe says:

    I’m enjoying reading all of your stories. πŸ™‚

    I met my husband, Patrick, the beginning of my freshman year in college. He was dating the girl who lived around the corner from me in our dorm. Because we attended such a small college, we ran into each other often. And we didn’t particularly care for each other. Our personalities were very different, and we annoyed each other. At the end of my freshman year (his sophomore year), we ended up on the same month-long mission trip to Papua New Guinea, where we annoyed each other on a different side of the world. πŸ™‚

    As it turned out, we both were pursuing English majors with minors in secondary education. Well, in a small school, that meant we had a lot of the same classes. My junior year, we found ourselves in nearly every class together. One day in class, he complimented me on my earrings, noting he hadn’t seen them before. I was slightly impressed with how observant he was. We began to study together. Usually, we invited other people and often, they did not show up. In between studying, we started to talk and get to know each other and we became friends.

    I was a class officer and was planning a dance — it was the junior class officers’ responsibility. But I did not plan to actually attend the dance because I had already decided there was no guy at my college for me and that I would have to attend a Christian graduate school in order to find a husband (and I already had a catalog from Columbia International University in my dorm room). So a guy-friend who was also a class officer bugged me about not planning to go to the dance. I explained I did not ask boys out for dates and didn’t have high expectations for boys to suddenly begin knocking down my door to ask me. He made a deal with me that if a boy asked, I had to say yes; otherwise, it would be OK not to go to the dance I had spent hours planning. I was so sure no boy would ask me, I quickly agreed to the deal AND bought a ticket to a James Taylor concert out of state for that same night. πŸ™‚

    A week or so later, Patrick and I were studying when he said (so charmingly), “So, I know you’re a class officer and you sort of have to go to this dance your planning, and I know you don’t have a date yet, so would you like me to take you?” And my first thought was, “Oh man! I should never have made that deal with Tim! I really want to see James Taylor in concert!” So I hemmed and hawed around and finally said (with a disgruntled look on my face), “Uh, yeah, sure. I guess so.” And I sold my James Taylor ticket to Tracy down the hall.

    So we began planning to attend this dance together. And we kept studying together and talking, and we kept finding ourselves alone together. We would invite friends to go places with us, but they would all back out. So we would sit for hours and talk and talk and talk. He became a good friend to me. Then we attended the dance and had a wonderful time. After that, we spent the night at my friends’ house with a bunch of other couples watching movies and eating snacks, staying up all night — with the exception of the little while I fell asleep leaning back against his legs during Star Wars. Then he and I drove up to the top of a dam to watch the sunrise. We listened to a Mannheim Steamroller Christmas album (though it was only November) and as Silent Night played, the sky brightened and he put his arm around me.

    It took a couple weeks for us to decide for sure that we wanted to really date each other (because we both had decided the next person we dated needed to be someone we’d marry). I met his parents. He came to visit my family over Christmas break, and I knew I wanted to marry him. He mentioned marriage in January, and we both seemed to have the same vision for our future. In June, he proposed while we were hiking to a beautiful waterfall. I said yes. So 11 months later, 2 weeks after I graduated, we got married. I did not go on to graduate school at CIU — no need, I’d found my Christian man. πŸ™‚ And for birthday the year we married, Patrick took me to a James Taylor concert to make up for the one I gave up to go to the dance with him. Boy, am I glad I did! This, all this, is way, way better than JT!

  20. deborah says:

    hi dawn! we made the move to the st. louis area 2 weeks ago and all is well. i visit your blog regularly to hear a friend’s ‘voice’! anyway, i figured i would jump into the fray here and tell our story. hope i don’t bore you all…..

    i met rod when i was a 23yr old single mom of a 3yo dd. now, being a single mom for 3 years, i had gotten into the habit of viewing every ‘single’ male that i met with the thought of ‘is this the one?’ then one day, God reassured me that when i met him, i would know. so, i went about my business.

    well, a friend of mine told me that there was a new guy playing the piano at her church and whenever she saw him she thought of me. i disregarded her with a “yeah, and i bet he’s got a good personality, too” attitude. then in february 1996, i was cleaning houses for a friend who went to that church and i asked her about this ‘nice’ piano player. so she went and asked him all kinds of questions. you know, normal questions like, “would you ever marry someone who had a child”. :0. (his answer was “well, if God was in it, it wouldn’t be an issue”). that previous jan. 1996, i had made a list of qualities i wanted in a husband (might i add, liking m-n-m’s was on the list…..)(and the princess bride)(and no, i’m not kidding!) so when my friend came back and described him to me, he fit about 90% of the qualities! the other 10% i wouldn’t know until i met him and got to know him. but they fit too.

    anyway, i didn’t do much with the info because my mom told me not to call him…..that he should call me. well, he had no intention of calling me at all….he just flat out didn’t date and wasn’t ‘planning’ to get married til he was 30. so july of 1996 rolls around and i’m doing my data entry job when i get the urge to call him. i call him and leave him an embarrassing message wherein i stutter, lose my thoughts, forget what i was saying, etc. it was awful. i called him on my next break an hour later and talk to him for real. i asked him out for the following sunday night and he said yes.

    well, i got all ‘dolled up’ (as my mom would say) and drove over to his duplex. when i pulled up and saw him through the window, i thought, “so that’s what you look like.” i had always wondered what my husband would look like and when i saw him, i knew (just like God said i would).

    we went on our date, i talked his ear off, went home and told my family that i met the man i was going to marry. he went home and told his friends “she’s ready to get married.” we were engaged 3 months later (in beautiful iowa) and married 4 months after that. and he was only 25!

    now we’ll be celebrating our 10 year anniversary on the 22nd of this month and have added 5 more children.

    life has never been so good. thanks, dawn, for this platform to express how good God is in bringing 2 people together (even some from around the world) for His greater glory. you are a good friend.

    deborah

  21. Margie says:

    Well, you know if chocolate is on the line I’m in.

    Our proposal story isn’t all that spectacular, but the first date! Now, that’s a story. He swept me off my feet.

    We had been cross country skiing with our singles group from church. I drove and Bill, along with several others in the group rode with me. A few days later he asked if I would like to go cross country skiing, just the two of us. So, since he had no car and I had to drive he said that he would bring lunch. When I picked him up he had this huge backpack with the lunch. As we started on the trail he brought out my favorite candy bar to give us energy. At this point I believed that he knew that Snickers was my fav candy bar because I had a dog named Snickers. We skiied along a beautiful mountain path for about 45 minutes before arriving at these forest service cabins. The cabins were locked, but they had very lovely front porches. We decided to stop for lunch. The day was perfect, sunny and the view across the valley was incredible. Bill suggested that I close my eyes so that he could set out the lunch. He had lunch meats, yogurt, cheese, FRESH FLOWERS that he placed on our “table” in a snowball and my FAVORITE WINE (No way he could have known that–it was a true God thing!!!). I was swept away. When I told my mom about the date she would later tell me that she knew this was “the one.”

    Our proposal was a little less exciting. It was my birthday and I had told Bill that I wanted a bicycle tire pump for my birthday (How romantic was I???). He had gone to a friend of mine that sells jewlery and gotten my wedding and engagement rings (being my dear friend she kept this a secret, but knew exactly what I wanted) and even called my dad to ask for my hand in marriage (I think my dad said I was a big girl and if it was ok with me it was ok with him). I opened the bicycle pump and he asked if there wasn’t something else in the package, he then reached down in to check and slid the ring in the paper. When I pulled the ring out he asked me to marry him. This all took place in his mother’s kitchen with her standing there watching.

    We were married 2.5 months later.

    What fun this is to read everyone’s story.

  22. Lynn says:

    Well, Melanie, I live in Alaska. My husband was working at a fruit store that shut down and we’ve been blessed with lots of leftover fruit. Yesterday I made applesauce, today canned pears, tomorrow apple pie filling… does anyone have other suggestions on how to preserve this yummy fruit?

    I was hoping to write my loooove story tonight but I have a little girl waiting to snuggle…. I just hope Dawn will be patient and not close this down before I get a chance to write. Since I never win at quote-idiot friday, I figure I’m due. ;0)

  23. valerie says:

    and, AND my husband won’t be here on Valentine’s Day – he is going to Sydney on business, so I’m gonna NEED chocolate to stuff my face with! (Whine, whine!!)

    (I’m totally kidding, btw – just stirring the pot, hee hee!)

    Valerie

  24. javadawn says:

    This is SO much fun. Thank you for sharing your stories.

  25. winkies6 says:

    Let’s see….

    When hubby and I met, I had pretty much written off dating, guys, etc. In fact I had told a male friend of mine at school this. You see, he was safe because he was getting married in the next week or so. I always wonder if Rick was setting hubby and I up all along?

    It was time for the annual food show in our area, which the second year culinary students were required to participate in. I was a first year student, so I didn’t have to participate.

    I was asked to help serve sausages to raise money for an organization I chose to be a part of (chef’s association). At one point, I decided that I wanted to look around the food show. Immediately, I went over to the apprentices to say hello to my friend Rick. He introduced me to hubby. We ended up walking around the food show the rest of the time, having lunch in the restaurant he worked in that was around the corner and then hanging out having Sprites afterwards.

    What we didn’t know was that we were following each other around the whole show. He waited 5 days to call me! What’s up with that???

    We met in mid April, engaged by Labor day and then married at the end of April.

    We’ve been married for 12 years now. πŸ™‚

  26. winkies6 says:

    That doesn’t sound very romantic. LOL I forgot to mention the part where I went home after the food show and sat in my sister’s room telling her that this is the man I was going to marry. I also told her what his eyes looked like: Hazel with green flecks. πŸ™‚

  27. Jen says:

    My feet pounded the pavement as I plodded my way to work, my mind consumed in prayer, persistently pleading with God for a friend. Just a friend.

    Wishing, just wishing I had more time to complete this. But, long story short (way short!) I met someone who is an excellent friend! πŸ™‚ And more, but I’ll keep those details for myself! πŸ˜‰

  28. Lydia says:

    I loved these stories! Here’s a link to my condensed version:

    http://commonmadeholy.blogspot.com/2007/02/my-honey.html

  29. Leah says:

    Okay, here’s my own love story. πŸ™‚

    I was a senior in highschool, barely 17 years old. Basketball was pretty important to me, and I was the co-captain of the team at our small Christian school. Our coach was a guy from Minnesota, who had a friend named Tony come visit Alaska for the winter. Tony decided to help out with the team to pass the dark winter days. So, Tony became our assistant coach. He had his ear pierced and was this long-haired city guy who couldn’t make a basket if his life depended on it. I beat him 31 games of “horse” in a row. πŸ™‚ Every day I looked forward to seeing him at practice. He made me laugh, and he looked at me like I was something special to him. During the basketaball season, we totally fell for each other. HOWEVER, due to the situation, we didn’t think it would be appropriate to “date”. We asked my folks (and the principal- who was like a “dad” to me) and they said we should wait until basketball season was over. SO, we started writing letters to each other every single day. LONG letters, like up to 12 pages a day, telling each other everything about our families, our hopes, our dreams, and our beliefs. Each day, he would write me a letter and leave it in my big blue Oldsmobile with a Hershey’s kiss. And I would write him a long letter and hide it in his coat pocket with a Werther’s candy. Day after day, we got to know each other through those written words. As soon as basketaball season was over, he started coming over to our house for dinners and card games with my parents and me. By then, we were inseperable. I had found my best friend for life.

    I must admit, it was a little scandalous at the Christian school that I was wearing an engagement ring by graduation. Many people doubted that we would “last”. However, God has blessed our marriage, and we recently celebrated our 13th anniversary. πŸ™‚

    And….

    We still have all those love letters we gave each other. TWO boxes full.

  30. Lynn says:

    Okay, here goes….

    I was attending community college after high school and sat behind this really cute guy in a class that I can’t even remember the title of. One Friday afternoon after dawdling around I came out of class to find only 2 cars in the parking lot – mine and his. He was parked right next to me, leaning against his 57 Ford, looking so fine. He asked me out for lunch and we went out for pizza. We immediately hit it off – he was so easy to talk to. After lunch he asked me what I was doing that night and I said… “I already have a date.” He went home and was told his brothers what happened and they thought he should send me a bill for half the pizza. LOL. Fortunately he didn’t.

    We hung out with a group of friends at the community college and were often going bowling, playing volleyball, water skiing, etc. It wasn’t long before we became serious about each other, though, and the following spring while driving on a back road in southern Indiana, he slammed on the brakes, jumped out of the car to pick a handful of wild flowers, came back and asked me to marry him. I, of course, accepted.

    We weren’t Christian at the time and there’s much about us coming together that I would like to change. We left Indiana, moved to Colorado and lived together for a few months before actually getting married. Six months later, though, we were both saved within a week of each other. Twenty years and seven children later… I love being married to my best friend.

  31. Kari says:

    December 10th, 2001 πŸ™‚
    I was a college senior, finishing my student teaching the next day, but I was *supposed* to finish it *that* day and the plans were changed last minute…

    My sweetie had already planned to take me out to dinner *that* night to “celebrate” the end of the semester (most especially, the student teaching part) and he had exams coming up, so we went.

    We almost never went out anywhere other than for a cup of coffee during the ten months we’d been dating, so I suspected something was “up” when he arrived in a suit. This is the guy whose normal wardrobe was holey jeans and a t-shirt (they say you can’t change a man ~ but there is *so* much you can do for his wardrobe!!!). He recalls that I “patted him down,” trying to be inconspicuous (sp?) looking for a ring. (Who? Me?)

    We went to a steakhouse where he had made reservations, but arrived five minutes late. Only five. And they had given away our table already. My beloved was livid. It was rare for me to see him that way, so my suspicions were mounting… I suggested we just go somewhere else and he quickly relented, at which point I *knew* something was going on that night!

    Went to Olive Garden and had a delightful dinner. (I had pork marsala – yum!) But no proposal. Began to think perhaps I was wrong.

    When we arrived back on campus, he suggested we go pray together. We had “our” spot on the bleachers at the soccer field behind the dorm where I’d lived when we started dating, so we headed out. It was easiest to access (especially in dress shoes) through the little brick wall enclosed garden behind that dorm. It had been our custom when we passed through the gazebo there to steal a quick peck. After we did, this time, he dropped to one knee and said a bunch of really sweet and romantic things…none of which I remember because I was crying too hard. Couldn’t even say “yes.” Just nodded my head up and down!

    And the next day my third graders caught me looking at my ring on the playground and would *not* let me live it down. *Blasted Gifted Kids!* In my “goodbye” book, one of them even drew a (very realistic) picture of my hand with my new ring. *sigh*

    It’s been fifteen years since he proposed…and we celebrate our fourteenth anniversary this summer. *Grin* Though, admittedly, our celebrations these days are a lot more like Dawn’s proposal!

    *Oh* And if anyone would like to ~WIN A DVD~ to watch while you eat your Valentine’s basket…drop by my blog and name my spam catcher, please!

  32. javadawn says:

    Whose idea was this? This is FUN!! Oh wait…mine. Well done me. πŸ˜‰

  33. Yes. This IS fun, Dawn. I love it.

    Enter me twice, please. πŸ™‚

  34. I linked, just so you know.

  35. We do not have a romantic courtship story, sorry. We were highschool sweethearts. I was in love with his BROTHER! His brother didn’t want me so he pawned me off on Chad. I didn’t like chad AT ALL to start with. We went on a few dates as friends, and then it all went from there . Now I cannot imagine myself with his brother. Chad is such a much finer young man if you ask me and much, much cuter too! πŸ™‚

    We dated for 7 years before we married.

    But I do have a good proposal story. He proposed to me in Disney World on the It’s A Small World ride! He knew it was my favorite ride as a kid. While we were on the ride, he asked me if I’d marry him. Jokingly, I said NO WAY! He pulled out a ring from the backpack and said he was serious. I don’t think I could answer because I was completely speechless. There were a bunch of Germans on the boat with us and they all started clapping and cheering SOMETHING in German! πŸ™‚

  36. winkies6 says:

    This really is so much fun!

  37. These were all so… perfect. Every. single. one. God writes these stories on lives and I just never get over it. Such stories. Such women. Such love.

    Yeah, Dawn… this *was* a GREAT idea ~warm smile~…

    (My story in two sentences–not worthy of an entry; I just so came to applaud the love stories God has written and how *captivating* I found them ~HUGE smile~
    — I was a gangly, awkward 16 and he was almost (a farm-boy, muscular (can I say that I noticed that?) ) 17, and when I saw him walking down that back empty hall at high school, I turned beet red, looked intently down at the tiles on the floor and tried to meld into the lockers (hard to do when your cheeks are a burning inferno). He flashed that smile of his, his big Dutch hands stuffed in his pockets, then softly asked, “Was wondering if you’d go to the chapel’s Christmas banquet with me on the 16th?” I dumbly nodded yes, too terrified to speak…. then meekly pried my mouth open to ask, “Pardon me?”, certain that I must have heard him wrong. He winked and laughed.

    And the rest is, as they say,… *HIS* story.. ~warm smile~
    And that, forgive me, was more than two sentences…What can I say? I got carried away with the fun! ~smile~)

    Thank you, Dawn.
    All’s grace,
    Ann

  38. javadawn says:

    Ann, ABSOLUTELY you can say that. πŸ™‚ And, I will tell you I immediately noticed 4 things about Jeff (I will NOT tell you in which order) that he looked exceptionally nice from the back, πŸ˜‰ he had very broad shoulders, his smile that made my knees go weak and his chocolate fudge brown eyes that I could just melt over. When he made me laugh over and over…well, color me yellow and call me amaized, because I was IN LOVE.

    I’ll leave this open until tonight, then post the winner on here first thing in the morning.

    Thank you all, this has been MUCH fun.

  39. Amanda says:

    This is how I met my husband. It was August and we were in South Dakota (which means it was hot, hot, hot!) My aunt was about to marry my husband’s uncle. Before the wedding rehearsal we all met in Sturgis, SD where the Sturgis motorcycle rally was going on. My aunt had it in her mind that she would set us up. I agreed to meet them at the rally, as I had never been on a motorcycle before…I knew I’d be able to get a ride there! We actually met in the McDonalds parking lot. I was able to ride with him on his bike down mainstreet. We were able to eat dinner together and get to know each other a bit. That evening was a lot of fun for both of us. And later that week at the rehearsal dinner we sat side by side. While we ate, I truly felt that God was telling me that he was going to be my mate. It was as if a lightbulb had gone off and I felt at peace about the whole thing! We had a long distance relationship for about two years, then eventually moved to the east coast where we both were continuing our education. One afternoon after church he invited me back to his apartment for dinner that he made. It was all so beautiful and well planned out. After we ate he left the room for a while then returned to ask me to marry him! I couldn’t believe it was happening. We are married (almost six years now) and have two beautiful little boys. We are blessed!

  40. javadawn says:

    Thank you EVERY ONE! I feel SO blessed to have read these. (SOOOOOOOOOO blessed. I think I need to go kiss my sweetie.) πŸ˜€

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] you hurry, there may still be time to enter Java Dawn’s “Love Is In The Air” contest…She’s giving away […]



Leave a Reply

