Innocent as a Dove?

I love the new program that Dove is doing, focusing on Real Beauty. We have seen young girls become more obsessed with their beauty in this new generation than ever before. (Noted by the number of breast augmentation surgeries being performed on the 12-16 (!!!) yr old crowd.) BUT, has Dove gone too far?

Dove’s newest campaign features a group of women, age 50 and over. The ads feature the women, ranging in ages from 50 – 64, I think, who have posed, nude.

In listening to the women talk, they are strong, confident and tired of feeling invisible. (Considering that one of their nude pictures is on a bill board in down town New York, I’m kind of guessing she’s not struggling with the invisibility issue any longer.) šŸ˜‰Ā  They said that they feel that what they are doing will help all the younger women coming behind them to feel beautiful and edified, because they were willing to go out there and prove that beauty has no age.

Because the photos are not intended to be arousing (they’re posed in such a way that hides all the… well, you get the idea. I haven’t had sufficient sleep to think how to phrase it so all the spam filters don’t have a heart attack) the women all feel that they are making a bold and positive statement that every woman will embrace, that beauty is not dependent upon age or any other factor other than who we are inside.

What do you think?

Comments
11 Responses to “Innocent as a Dove?”
  1. Michelle says:

    Dawn,

    I have seen the ads in question in this month’s Ladies Home Journal (I think…one of those magz targeted to women.) I don’t like them. John was sitting at the table with me and I turned the page quickly. It’s tasteful for a nude, but it’s still a nude in an unexpected place. More than that, I think it sends the wrong message about beauty. I much prefer the ads that show a bald woman who is fighting cancer talking about all the people in her life who are beautiful to her. The women in the Dove ads are old enough to share much accumulated wisdom about true beauty…why would they waste the opportunity?

  2. Michelle says:

    And another thing while I’m at it…yes, the human body can be a very beautiful thing, but it is also a holy thing, a private thing. My naked body is only to be shared with my husband. I want him to find me beautiful in that state, but I do not want it on display for others to see (no matter how tastefully done); that would be making the holy common. I’ll get off my soapbox now.

  3. winkies6 says:

    I like their other ads better. Aren’t they the ones that do all the computer editing/airbrushing to the pictures? Although I haven’t seen the n*de ones, I don’t see where showing someone in their birthdays suits would be inspiring to that age group. Are they showing that it’s ok to pose n*de?? Certainly this isn’t something I need my 9 year old boy to see!

  4. Myderbe says:

    I agree that the whole campaign about “real beauty” is still focussing on external beauty, which still misses the point. I like that Dove is showing that beauty the way the media normally presents it is a fairly narrow definition and real beauty extends beyond that. But with pictures like these, the focus is still on the external. And that’s not real beauty either.

    Just my two pennies tossed in there. šŸ™‚

  5. Tiffany says:

    I am extreamly undecided when it comes to nude art. Extreamly. I mean, there are so many beautiful works of art where the subjects are nude-the David, Venus, all those fantastic renasaiance ones with women who still look like women. But there seems something different to me about photography vs. sculpture or painting. And where the photograph is being displayed I think is a big deal as well. In an art gallery, where you know what you are going to see (and thus no little eyes) seems different to me than a billboard or magazine.

    I’m also not sure, no matter where you fall on the nudity issue, that this sort of ad is doing what they set out to do. I mean, I kinda get what they are trying to do- a “we’re very beautiful, and not afraid of showing our bodies, even though we don’t look like 20yo hollywood stars, come on girls you should think you’re beautiful too”. I just don’t see how being naked equals being beautiful or confident. At least not entirely. I’m all for women realizing that all body types have outward beauty in their unique ways. That we don’t have to look like models to be physically beautiful. But I’m just not sure this ad gets that message across.

    did any of that rambling make sense?

  6. Michelle says:

    Tiffany–

    I think you make a lot of sense. I agree there is a huge difference between The David or Venus and a photograph. Paintings are kind of a middle ground for me–there are some I find very beautiful that are totally nude and some I find very vulgar even though the woman is mostly dressed with just one breast exposed. That’s just me though.

    I can see what you’re saying about the intention of the ad, but I agree they’re falling short of the mark. There are a lot of ways to celebrate the beauty and confidence of women without taking their clothes off and you’re right, not all women take their clothes off because they’re confident and think they’re beautiful–sometimes just the opposite.

    How about an ad where a husband describes why he finds his wife beautiful–I bet you’d find a LOT better stuff than just appearing without clothing.

  7. I had not seen the ad, but I found it on the Dove website, if any one is interested.

    There are certainly MUCH better and God honoring ways to show that beauty has no age-limit, but they wouldn’t sell a skin-care product like Dove! =) Like the rest of you, I believe they have obviously misrepresented true beauty, but I really don’t expect anything different from a secular organization trying to market a product. As someone in that 50-something age bracket, I must admit that I was “impressed” by the beautiful skin of the ladies in the ad…and that, of course, is the goal of Dove – to get me to buy their product in the hopes that I will have skin like that, too! Actually, I have a much better ad for them. I used Dove body wash to bathe my mother every day. It was gentle on her skin, she smelled clean and wonderful, and she had great skin! But most older women would not want to identify with a bed-ridden women with dementia!

    I’m not sure that Christian women do a much better job of promoting true beauty or recognizing the diversity of gifts and talents in the body of Christ. Some of the more popular blogs are written by young and very attractive women with equally attractive web designs, as though beauty and artistic talent equals wisdom.

    Just something to chew on.

    As an aside, I bravely posted a photo of me on my blog – a photo taken in the first hour of the morning, sans make-up, bags under my eyes and a grungy shirt! I wanted a photo of me with my camera for my newest blog page ( pollywogcreekproject365.blogspot.com ) and decided to just be “real”.

  8. ENHn…wrinkling nose.

    The ad shows such a lack of discretion.

    That’s not what maturity and beauty is all about….

  9. javadawn says:

    “Iā€™m not sure that Christian women do a much better job of promoting true beauty or recognizing the diversity of gifts and talents in the body of Christ. Some of the more popular blogs are written by young and very attractive women with equally attractive web designs, as though beauty and artistic talent equals wisdom.”

    THOSE are powerful words Patricia. I have been chewing on them since you wrote them. (Been too busy or feeling too yucky to comment on them, but they have held my heart captive since I read them.) Why, Patricia? Why is that? As a mom of 6 daughters, may I tell you how much that concerns me?

    Patricia, may I just say, YOU are a beautiful woman. No make-up, grungy shirt or not, your face, your eyes, they captivate me. Seeing your face behind your camera like that, only makes me want to come spend time with you all the more!! Did I mention I thought you were beautiful?!! šŸ™‚

  10. Crystal says:

    I haven’t seen them but I don’t like the idea of trying to relay the message that women are beautiful by using our naked bodies at any age. That’s just not the way to do it. I know that they are not posed in sexual positions but I don’t think that matters. I think the idea is still the same.

    I really like that they are trying to take the idea of YOUTH being the only real beauty but there are better ways to do that. I want to see older woman portrayed as beautiful women and not just because of how they look. I think beauty lies within AND I think it’s posible to capture that in photos too…

    I don’t know Dawn. These are just my thoughts as of now.

    Good post as usual my friend.

  11. Crystal says:

    OK, I just saw the commercial online. I stand by what I said before but I want to add that even though I don’t think that this is appropriate for television…those women really were beautiful. It was nice to see for once women without “perfect” bodies and think wow, they are beautiful just they way God made them.

    I’d like to see more REAL women portrayed as beautiful all ages and shapes more but just with their clothes on.

    I would feel really uncomfortable if I was watching TV with my parents or my in-laws and that ad came on. And I know I would be outraged if the women were super models or something so…ya…I’m just rambling and thinking out loud here. Oh and not to mention if my son saw that.

    I don’t know……ya I like I said I like their intentions and but the naked thing is not so good. BUT it was good for me to see as a women who struggles daily with body image…

    Thought provoking, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

