Anapauo and inadvertently – Clark homeschool Part…whatever

As the Lord and my snoozing baby and I studied anapauo – rest – the thing I noticed that the Lord was giving rest from THE MOST was our enemies.

“My enemies, Lord?  I understand that the devil is my enemy, a roaring lion seeking to devour me and his minions desire to see me fall into sin…but Lord, other enemies?  Are there a lot of Javadawn Ladies who are upset that I didn’t pick THEIR name for Karen’s chocolate tin?!!!”  

And as He began to open the eyes of my understanding, I realized that THIS was also the next part of our homeschool discussion.  You see, the enemies that Father is showing me are: lack of order, lack of discipline – both mine and the children’s,  excess busyness and lack of routine.

Looking at that list, I realized I had seen it before – it’s SO close to the one that Father gave me, when I was sitting here, in the midst of mental meltdown, trying to figure out how to figuratively pick myself up off the floor and get on with home schooling my children.  The only thing missing this time was “lack of vision.”

Grateful that He would graciously remind me, I wanted to share a few of the transition steps that the Lord used for us, as well as challenge you to survey your domain and determine: who are your enemies?

After shaking off the old way of thinking, the first thing Father did was call me into longer times of study and prayer.  It was soothing and healing for my soul.  But as He did this, He also began to give me a daily list of the things that needed my attention.  “Get rid of….”  “Sort through….”  So, for me, the first step was getting rid of excess. (Lack of order)

The next thing the Holy Spirit put His finger on, was the level of obedience my children were not showing.  (The removing excess was a great mirror to allow me to see how many times I had to ask for something to be done.) So, the next season required me to work diligently on training my children…again (Sigh….like mother like children) on being obedient.  Having just come from the season of having my brains shaken to bits on parenting by grace, this meant a whole new methodology and a whole new level of trusting the Lord.  (I confess, here is a place I really longed to return to Egypt and just put the rod of correction into my apron and walk around all day long.  That’s much easier for me.) (Lack of discipline)

As obedience became the norm anew, the Lord began to work on me about my lack of routine.  Notice, I didn’t say schedule.  Schedule, for me, is a planned activity every 15 to 30 minutes.  It requires a police whistle about my neck and causes me to require copious amounts of chocolate, coffee and cash, just to endure it.  (Cash for buying a new whistle after I bit the others in half.) I can not have a schedule, but what I turn it into an idol.  Can. not. So, for me, it must be a routine.  (Lack of routine)
A routine provides my children an idea of what the day will hold, in what order and what is required of them.  It provides them guidance, without the legalism of Mom bowing down to her schedule.   It allows them the pleasure of seeing the work that they need to complete, finished for the day.  I LOVE completing my “to-do” list, it is such a grand, freeing feeling.  Why would I want to deny my children that same feeling?

I will pause here to say, once our routine was in place, some of the behaviors that I thought I was going to need to address – unkindness between siblings, in particular – faded away.  You see, without vision the people are unrestrained.  But, as I guided them into a routine, there was vision for the day and they suddenly didn’t need (??) to bicker and nit pick at one another and un-restraint was leaving the building!  (Wooo hoo!)  (Lack of vision)

Busyness…….ahhhh, here is my bane. I love having a lot of things to do – especially if I can convince myself that they are things that only *I* can do.  (Are you following along with me here?)  My list of busyness becomes my pageant banner, worn proudly, for all to see – “I am a busy woman!”  Pride!!  Over busyness?!!  I know you’re thinking I’m a LOOP.  (Topic of another blog – put it in the Email me section) But, THAT became my motivation.  (It was hard to admit and deal with, but I wanted to be honest with you.)  In addition, as I began to really deal with my heart, I found that not only pride, but fear of man was at the base of some of my time decisions.

What it all came down to, the thing that Father was after, was being Lord of my time.  He simply wanted me to stop making decisions about how to use my time, based out of fear or pride.  He wanted me to seek Him first, to find out how He wanted my hours spent.  (gulp.  That might mean I couldn’t go to Starbucks, but had to sit and listen to someone yapping about her bowel troubles.)  (That DID happen, btw and I survived just fine.)   😉    I find when I’m checking with Him as to whether or not I can do something, my hours don’t get filled up with so much clutter.  (So much – I certainly haven’t gotten this one down pat – hence this post.)

On THAT note, I’m going to stop.  I have some kiddos that are needing my attention.  (And a diaper too, from the smell of things) I pray this will offer you some fodder for your time with Father – that He would show you who the enemies of your rest are.  And that He would then, lovingly, albeit it painfully, show you your own heart.  For much of the time He was dealing with me, I was keenly aware that it was my own heart that had allowed these enemies into the land.  Dear Sister, it’s time to rout the enemy.  It’s time to take back the land of peace that Father intended for His daughters.  It’s time to have anapauo from them.

“But his bow remained strong and steady and rested in the Strength that does not fail him, for the arms of his hands were made strong and active by the hands of the Mighty God of Jacob, by the name of the Shepherd, the Rock of Israel.”  ~ Genesis 49:24 Amplified

Rout the enemies from your land by the hands of the Mighty God of Jacob, by the name of the Shepherd, the Rock of Israel and you too can remain strong, steady and rested in the Strength that does not fail.

Blessings!

Comments
10 Responses to “Anapauo and inadvertently – Clark homeschool Part…whatever”
  1. Cheryl says:

    1 Except the Lord build the house, they labor in vain that build it: except the Lord keep the city, the watchman waketh but in vain.
    2 It is vain for you to rise up early, to sit up late, to eat the bread of sorrows: for so he giveth his beloved sleep.
    3 Lo, children are an heritage of the Lord: and the fruit of the womb is his reward.
    4 As arrows are in the hand of the mightly man; so are the children of the youth.
    5 Happy is the man who has his quiver full of them: they shall not be ashamed, but they shall speak with the enemies in the gate.

    Ah…rest.
    As I read this Psalm this morning, it occurred to me that this speaks to the topic of “rest”. We do need for the Lord to build our house. When *I* decide how to build my house, I mess everything up…or “labor in vain.” It is “vain” for us to fill every waking moment with toil (vs.2). But the very thing that the world expects to be a robber of time, energy, rest and resources (the heritage of children), this passage says is a “reward” (vs.3), arrows/weapons (vs.4), and glory (vs.5).
    And, as you have pointed out in this post, Dawn, we can speak with the “enemies” (vs.5), as we allow the Lord Himself to build our house.

    So what I’m hearing from the Lord this morning, is that “rest” can be had, if I relinquish the vanity of my own ways, and let *Him* build my house…if I not seek to be “busy” and trying to do everything (as I am prone to do), and rest in the work that He has for me to do.

    Is that making sense to anyone besides me? 😉

  2. Crystal says:

    Sorry this is off topic but I wanted to be sure to post where most people are still reading!

    I just wanted to say THANK YOU to Winkie for the AMAZING AMAZING AMAZING chocolates!!!!!!! And do I mean AMAZING!!!!! My favorites were the lime white chocolate coconut ones and the raspberry truffle cake!!!!!!! It was ALL delicious though!!! =oP

  3. Crystal says:

    Um only part of my comment posted…I had picture links….hmmmm

    I’ll try again…

    Sorry this is off topic but I wanted to be sure to post where most people are still reading!

    I just wanted to say THANK YOU to Winkie for the AMAZING AMAZING AMAZING chocolates!!!!!!! And do I mean AMAZING!!!!! My favorites were the lime white chocolate coconut ones and the raspberry truffle cake!!!!!!! It was ALL delicious though!!! =oP

  4. Crystal says:

    Nope it didn’t work again, I’ll e-mail it to you Dawn! =)

  5. Michelle says:

    Out of curiosity, is anapauo Greek, Hebrew, or Hawaiian?

  6. javadawn says:

    Greek – 373 in my Vine’s. Also I studied anesis (425) – a loosening or relaxation of. The 2 words in the OT I studied were katapausis and sabbatismos. I have those numbers too, if you want them. : )

    Crystal, glad you got them! I hope you ate some in memory of me!!!!! 😉

  7. javadawn says:

    Oh, and Cheryl, yes, it made sense to me. 🙂 But, it doesn’t matter – if it makes sense to you, that’s all that is important. 🙂

  8. I”m loving this discussion, ladies. I’ll be back at Quiet Rest Time with some thoughts:)

  9. This is exactly what I needed this morning (Dawn, do you get tired of me saying that?). The last few weeks have been…well, they’ve been bad. The exhaustion of early pregnancy hit me harder than I could’ve imagined (although the nausea hasn’t been as bad this time around – PTL!) and the stress of telling people weighed on me more than I meant to let it. The kids went bananas – and why not since mom was barely even awake. Then my mom came for a short visit which meant spending the weekend at my grandparents. That’s usually a great thing but this time….not so much. By now I’m crying at the drop of a hat, furious with Casey b/c he doesn’t know just the right thing to do or say to make it all better, snappy with the kids and just plain worn out. And if one more person had said “it’s just hormones” I’d have smacked them. I *know* it’s hormones, but that doesn’t seem to make it any better.
    However, after spending a lot of time praying and just begging God to make it better, this weekend it seemed like the fog started to lift. And I was hearing some of hte exact same things you talked about. Get the house in order, get the kids in line:), get the day under control. I am the world’s worst about trying to do too much and I just have to let that go. But I think the biggest thing jumping out at me today is that rest is just as important as all those other things. It isn’t a situation where I have to give up one to get the other – they go together. I will be more rested when my house is clean, but I need to rest so that I can clean the house. And somehow that’s going to work out:)

  10. javadawn says:

    Shannon, my dear, there are times I would counsel young moms – getting rest is the MOST holy thing that you can do. Consider yourself counseled thusly. 🙂

Leave a Reply

