Javadawn Juice

Contrary to what it may sound like, this isn’t a recipe for java. This is my favorite, “everything- including-my-hair-and-toenails-ache-and-my-chest-feels-like-I-have-a-pterodactyl-sitting-on-it” flu recipe.

Take and peel the yellow rind off 1 lemon, wash and quarter 2 apples, take a 1/4″ piece of ginger root and a handful of parsley and juice it all together. If your ginger is fresh and strong, it may burn going down – but it is SOOOO good and SOOOO good for you, it’s worth the burn. (This recipe *should* be for 2 people, but it generally ends up becoming more like for 5 at my house – because it just takes up so many apples otherwise.)

Add this to a good pot of chicken soup (with tortellini, I understand to be the preferred form. Sadly I have no experience with this, although I dreamt about it all last night, MICHELLE!) and you should be able to get the aches confined to the major joints and the chest weight down to a bag of potatoes before too long. (Especially if you can look pathetic enough that the kids will make it for you more than once.)

Comments
8 Responses to “Javadawn Juice”
  1. Melanie says:

    I’m not making this today — but wondering which part of the lemon goes in the juicer? I have fresh lemons from my mom’s tree in AZ but no ginger root or parsley 😦 or I’d be tempted. By now most of my sickies are improving, and the rest of us are planning not to succumb beyond runny noses πŸ˜‰

  2. javadawn says:

    Sorry Melanie, the lemon itself. The rind can be used, but it’s just too bitter for my crew. Try to leave the white pith though, it’s very good for you. You can skip the parsley – but the ginger root is a must.

  3. Michelle says:

    Mmmmm chicken soup dreams. Yummy!

    Now as to the JavaJuice…How often is it administered and have you ever tried adding hot water and serving it as tea? (It just sounds kind of appealing in a wierd sort of way.)

  4. Deanne says:

    Parsley- what does that do? Does it make the juice green? I think we all could handle the juice without the parsley. I actually think we already drink something similar without apples. It has white grape juice in it. I think it would actually be good cold or hot.

  5. Ya I was wondering the same as Michelle.

  6. javadawn says:

    Never had it hot – it’s always so refreshing cold. I would assume heating it would destroy some of the enzymes and other good beasties, but it would still taste delicious. πŸ™‚

    Deanne, it does add a little bit of green, but I don’t know that you would even notice – it turns the bright yellow a slight tint of green. Parsley will just help keep you alkalinized. It’s not part of the original recipe, but as I learned more about it, I started using it. Try it – I don’t mean a huge handful, I mean…probably 6 stems, maybe? Start with 2 – 3.

  7. April says:

    Italian parsley or regular? How ’bout cilantro? πŸ˜‰

    Don’t answer this — I’m being a brat.

  8. javadawn says:

    Cilantro?!!! (rolling, writhing) Uh, NO April. πŸ˜€
    (You ARE being a brat. Gotta be the post partum orneries coming out.) πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

