Mama don’t let your children grow up to be…

clowns.  I am continuously amazed at what a bunch of clowns I live with. Somewhere along the line here, the children have taught the baby to do a Jerry Lewis impersonation.  She hits her legs and does this “Guuug, guuuug” type noise. (A terrifying experience if she’s eating – at first it sounds like she’s trying to breath – then you catch the leg slapping.  🙄  The little dork.)  AND if you give her sunglasses, she hams it up even worse.  (shakes head)  I just don’t know where we went wrong.  😉
There are times when she is at her most adorable – being funny or clapping over her latest accomplishment – that I stare at her and wonder, in amazement – how did all my babies grow up so fast?  I know, I know, for those of you in the throes of all Littles, no Bigs, you’ve heard it a 100 times.  (at least!)  But, I’m telling you, the time has passed so quickly, I can’t figure out how I let it all slip through my fingers so quickly.  Just the other day I had only 2 children – and the oldest was 4.  In a few months, she’ll be 18.

Moms, I know your day is busy today, I know there are many things demanding your time and attention (likely, not the least of which are laundry and meals) but please, won’t you take 5 min – set a timer, if your day feels overwhelming, sit down with NOTHING but your Littles in your view.  CHOOSE to not think about bills, dinner, laundry, the house – N.O.T.H.I.N.G else, but being with them.

For some of you, this will come easier than for others of you – for Moms who are wired like I am, this is not easy at ALL!  This is like pulling teeth.  I am not a touchy feely mom.  I could pass out hugs to women all day long, but I just don’t think of snuggling up with my Littles and being there, engaged with them.

This is one of the things that the Lord worked on, in my heart, as He began to change how I parent (we – sorry Jeff).  He began to ask me, “Who is this child?”  It is in knowing who our children are, and being engaged with them, that we are better equipped to parent them.

I’d like you to plan on having, for our book discussion, a journal.  When I say journal, I mean a collection of paper, eligible for writing on, that you can keep contained in one location.  Read: a Ziploc bag with scrap envelopes in it; a theme book; a notebook with filler paper.  I really don’t care what you use – please just have a place to begin writing.

Let’s start today by writing a prayer in there, asking Father to open your eyes that you might see the wondrous child/ren that you have and ask Him to help you see them….and ask Him what one area (O.N.E. for you over-achievers. JUST ONE)  He would have you start working on in your parenting.

This time of going through the book will be discussion, but it will also be a time of change in us, as Father does His work in us, to make us the parent He desires for His children. Having a place to record that journey – that process of being changed, will be good for you to go back and re-read and remember His faithfulness. In addition, when your brain feels like soap bubbles, it will be a grounding place to think.  (You may not need it, but I sure did!!)

For His glory and our good!   ~Dawn

Comments
5 Responses to “Mama don’t let your children grow up to be…”
  1. reneegrace says:

    great idea for the journal… I have recently begun journaling again… since I read 10 books at a time, its a bit of a jumble, 🙂 but I get it, and I can record the things God has shared with me! 🙂

    Thanking God for the reminder… AGAIN… of BEING WITH my children, instead of being AT them! rolled eyes!! Its sure easier to love them after that!! 🙂

  2. Michelle says:

    O.K. Dawn, I’m laughing til my sides hurt. That picture is too funny! We don’t call kids this age “the minister of cuteness” for nothin’! My favorite is when I come out of the dr’s office after an appointment and all the elderly people in the waiting room say “Awwww, does Emma have to leave?” (I leave her with Edmund’s home health aide in case anyone is thinking I left her alone!) She makes the rounds, getting one patient to get her a cookie, carrying another one’s purse around the waiting room wearing sunglasses. I really think that children this age minister in their own way to others, fulfilling God’s role for them at this time in their lives.

    Baby Booger brings laughter and joy, loves and is loved, and fulfills HER role in God’s plan.

  3. Jenna says:

    Thanks, Dawn! Now I have that song stuck in my head…. lol 😮 P

  4. Michelle says:

    Hey ladies, Scott Turansky just left a message on my blog about the book discussion. How cool is that? (I just put it up too…that was quick.) He’s looking for some testimonies about Biblical honor.

    http://undividedheart.wordpress.com/2007/03/08/new-book-discussion/#comments

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] us! Have chapter 1 read (it’s short) and ready to discuss by Monday. Dawn has also given us a prayer/journaling assignment in conjunction with the book discussion. I’m really looking forward to this one…hope to […]



Leave a Reply

