Once Upon a Time…..

I used to blog at this site.  In fact, I had quite the little soporific blog here.   🙂  

This morning as I was praying for those who read here, I asked Father if I couldn’t take just a few minutes and blog again today…..  I missed knowing how the familiar names of those who comment (and of those who don’t comment, but I think of when I pray for my readers….Melissa.)  🙂  were doing.  I felt sure He released me. So I waited for the topic…nothing.  Realizing that blogging on nothing would make me even MORE soporific than normal, I decided I’d simply be silent again today.  Yet, you all kept coming back again and again to my heart.

I decided since I had no clear indication of anything of value to add to the flow, I’d ask YOU to speak.  What is Father teaching you?  What are you learning of His character?  What are you struggling with?  What gives you hope at the end of your busy day?  What causes you to tear up?  What Scripture has the Lord used to minister to you recently?  What yummy chocolate treat have you imbibed upon?  You know – I really don’t care what you speak of, just speak.  I long to hear your voice and know what is happening in your life, should you feel so led to share.  If we were to sit down to share a cup of java/tea or lemonade today – what would we speak of?

May you walk in grace today – may you be filled with awe of the job that you are about, that of mothering – may the joy of that task outweigh the burdens.  May Father feel ever present in your busy Mommy day!  ~Dawn

Comments
9 Responses to “Once Upon a Time…..”
  1. whimsy says:

    Well…. since you asked…..

    I am struggling with guilt in regard to homeschooling my girls through high school. Part of it is that I have not been carving a lot of social time for them.
    I was a social butterfly in high school and I feel a little sad and guilty that they aren’t going to experience the good parts. Not enough to like, actually consider sending them to high school. That option is off the table.

    I guess I’m just scared that I’m cheating them somehow because I’m not being a “good enough” homeschooling mom.

  2. Violet says:

    I don’t have time to comment right now but just wanted to share the wonder, comfort, encouragement, etc. I am finding in simply “fixing my gaze” on the Lord and getting to know HIM. My theme verse has become Phil. 3:10 – “That I may know him, and the power of his resurrection, and the fellowship of his sufferings, being made conformable unto his death.”

  3. javadawn says:

    whimsy: http://shadowofthelion.wordpress.com/2007/03/26/relationships-part-2/

    This will comfort your soul!

    Violet – Mmmm, this is comfort to MY soul!

  4. Heidi says:

    I purchased the “Transforming Grace” book that was recommended a few posts back and am sifting through it. I admit to having a difficult time reading books like this. I simply get tired and my mind wanders. Now give me a good missionary story and I can stay up for hours! Even so, I am wanting to REALLY understand what grace is and how it manifests in my life. I don’t want the type of grace that gives license to intentional sin. I want to know the grace that saved me and keeps me in my walk with Him.

    And…I’m in the mood to declutter. Should I have a garage sale or just send it to a second-hand store? I don’t know.

    Just to let you know, I had just gotten the book that you are all going through and have been keeping up with the reading schedule. I’ve also been reading the chapters to my husband (who is now officially working from home!!). I’m lovin’ the discussions and will chime in if I have something to share.

    Bless you Dawn!

  5. winkies6 says:

    I’ve had the same concerns I’ve had for a while now: selling our second home and money. Selling that house will be a big HUGE burden taken off our shoulders. I am believing in the Lord that He will take care of it, so I am really trying not to worry too much about it.

    I’m loving that song… “Strength will rise as we wait upon the Lord” (like Psalms 27:14). I can’t remember who sings it.

    I’ve been CRAVING this cake that they used to make at the Italian restaurant across the stree from where we used to live. It’s sort of a chain: Salvatore Scallopini. They only made it for special occassions. It had like a denser cake with a chocolate mouse that had nuts in it and then covered in chocolate ganache and then sprinkled with nuts. Mmmmmmmmmmmm. So good!

    I’m quite proud of my kids and their progress in school. Both child one and two are doing awesomely and they want to put child two in accelerated classes! Child three is coming along nicely and it was super wonderful to hear that he does not exhibit the same behaviors at school that he does at home. PTL! I was a little concerned for his teacher this year, but he has the perfect teacher who’s middle son was just like #3. That was totally a provision of the Lord! He is taking a little longer to catch on to some of the concepts, but it grasping things more and more. 🙂

    Well, did you ask for a book? I could go on and on. I’m sure you know that! LOL

    (((HUGS))) on your crazy week! I know that it’s going to be a drop in the bucket compared to what the Lord has for you all over all. Give a hug to that #1 for me too, total sweetheart! 🙂

  6. MicheleinNZ says:

    I’m really struggling with expectations of myself now that I’m the mother of 3. The baby is doing great, doing all the things he’s supposed to and even sleeps reasonably well. Only a few nights spent snuggled with him on the couch just to get a few winks. But #2 is a real handful – bit of a drama queen and she’s only 18 months! And #1 is probably suffering the most from the addition of the new baby. Not that she’s jealous or anything, just because I’m recovering from surgery and not able to play with her in the same way that I used to and I can’t drive her to visit friends. Overall the kids are fantastic but I just have this expectation of what I’m supposed to be doing in order to be a good mother and I’m simply not achieving that. Because of course I’m not perfect 🙂 So every day I battle these negative thoughts and try to focus on the great things that are happening with our kids.
    And then of course I think “How in the world am I going to cope when I have to start doing the cooking/cleaning/laundry myself?” (currently we have helpers doing most of these things) and then I think “And I’m going to try to homeschool too???”
    A good friend came over last night to visit, who homeschools, and she reminded me that by the time we start homeschooling “officially” our life will be in a different place. We wont’ have a newborn anymore, things will be on a bit of an even keel and of course, I won’t be recovering from major surgery!!
    Why do I think I can do it all? It’s so defeating.
    But I pray a lot. A LOT. And so far, no one is suffering from malnutrition, all limbs are still attached, and we’re not wearing our underwear more than once, so I guess in the scheme of things, we’re doing okay! 🙂

  7. April says:

    I am coming to the end of a tiring week — physically, emotionally, and spiritually. The patriarch of our church died last week and we celebrated his return Home this week. The funeral was on Tues and was huge and wonderful, but exhausting. The interment is tomorrow morning. In these times, I realize what a gift and a blessing it is to be a pastor. To be invited into these sacred times in folks’ lives is just overwhelming, really. Such an honor.

    In the meantime, my secretary at church is leaving for a mission trip on Palm Sunday and will be gone through Easter. She didn’t tell me this until last Friday, so I had to get service bulletins for this week and all of Holy Week and Easter as well as our monthly newsletter completed by today. I did it, but only through the grace of God and many late hours. I was so frustrated that she did not tell me about it, but I’ve realized it will be a gift. Everything is done and now I can, for the first time in ministry, spend Holy Week thinking about the Holy and not the mundane. That will be a blessing.

    In our family life, Dennis is working hard at his MBA program and I’ve been taking the kids down to my hometown about 2 hours away each week for an overnight so he can finish big projects for class in peace and quiet. It has been SO good to see my family. I miss Dennis, though, and time together without outside demands. I think Annalivia is missing her daddy, too. And he’s missing us. But it is good to be able to be together without homework hanging over our heads.

    And I’m with you, Michele, on feeling a little like a failure. I’ve not done a load of laundry in the 7 weeks since Daniel’s birth leaving it entirely up to my already stressed husband. He’s maintaining that it is a necessary sacrfice to get us all through Lent/ Easter in one piece. And for right now, I’m accepting it as a gift of grace. But I still feel guilty…

    Thanks for the opportunity to share, Dawn. And thank you for the prayers I know we will have.

  8. javadawn says:

    Michele and April, I can’t tell you how much I wish that I could come by, bring lunch and some Bigs to help with your Littles and just sit and chat and minister to you. I would even do your laundry.

    Dear ones, please try to keep your perspective. Your body has been about the holy and awesome (I do not use that word lightly) task of growing, nurturing and giving life to a new person. That is not something to slight the magnitude of. Receive from those that love you, knowing that they are doing it with joy – and if you can’t do that, then know that they are earning jewels for their heavenly crowns. (I do not say that lightly, either)

    A new day will dawn where your body is ready to take on the cares of the world – until then steal away every possible moment of snuggling, cuddling and nursing this INCREDIBLE gift from Father….. I know I say it ALL the time – but I had to buy a pair of size 4 infant shoes and a pair of 9 1/2 women’s shoes tonight….. seeing them sit on the counter, side by side nearly made me weep. Those years pass so quickly. Laundry, house – while needful, they are not IMPORTANT. Sharing your time and your heart and your MIND (my struggle) with your Littles is a gift that will bear much fruit.

    Okay, I’ll put the old soap box away now….. (slinking back to the work project I’m about.) 😉

  9. Sending love to you, Dawn….
    All’s His Grace…
    Ann

Leave a Reply

