Smelling like my man ~ (In a GOOD way!)

Several years ago a dear friend of ours suffered a major heart attack and died.  He left behind his wonderful wife and 3 children.  Ted and Suzy just always seemed to fit so well together.  They were such an incredible team.  It just didn’t seem like Suzy could possibly continue without the other half of her team.

The last time we saw her when I asked how she was faring she said, “I do okay as long as I have my shirts.” 

Last night I sat in the crook of Jeff’s arm throughout a meeting.  This morning as I was sorting laundry, when the shirt I wore last night went sailing to the appropriate bin, the smell of Jeff filled the room.  I could smell his grapefruit-y deodorant, I could smell his aftershave… I could smell him.

I thought of Suzy and her shirts – the smell of Ted captured for a time for her to savor.  But more than that, I thought of Benjamin.   “About Benjamin he said: “Let the beloved of the LORD rest secure in Him, for He shields him all day long, and the one the LORD loves rests between His shoulders.”

When I am resting secure in my Lord, do I smell of Him?  Do I carry His scent for others to savor?  Oh Father, how I pray that would be so. Make me smell of You, my Lord.  Help me to rest between Your shoulders – secure in You.  (May it be so for us all.)

Comments
3 Responses to “Smelling like my man ~ (In a GOOD way!)”
  1. Jenna says:

    Oh Dawn, thanks for sharing your thoughts in this direction. 🙂

  2. Michelle says:

    You put me in mind of 2 Cor. 2:14-15 “But thanks be to God, who always leads us in triumphal procession in Christ and through us spreads everywhere the fragrance of the knowledge of him. For we are to God the aroma of Christ among those who are being saved and those who are perishing.”

    BTW, I always weare John’s shirts to bed when he’s away, (sometimes his comfy pj pants if I’m especially lonely) otherwise I can’t sleep.

Leave a Reply

