Walking in fAith

“For the Kingdom of Heaven is as a man traveling into a far country, who called his own servants and delivered unto them his goods.  And unto one he gave five talents, to another two, and to another one, to every man according to his several ability, and straightway took his journey.

Then he that had received the five talents went and traded with the same, and made them another five talents.  And likewise he that had received two, he also gained another two. But he that had received one went and dug in the earth and hid his lord’s money.

After a long time the lord of those servants came and reckoned with them.  And so he that had received five talents came and brought the other five talents, saying, `Lord, thou deliveredst unto me five talents. Behold, I have gained beside them five talents more.’

His lord said unto him, `Well done, thou good and faithful servant. Thou hast been faithful over a few things; I will make thee ruler over many things. Enter thou into the joy of thy lord.’

I can not tell you how sweet those words are to me….”Enter thou into the joy of thy Lord.”  Words that are spoken by our Lord for the care of the Assets that He has entrusted to us.  This is our letter “A.”

Assets as defined by Mr. Webster are: items of ownership convertible into cash; total resources of a person or business, as cash, notes and accounts receivable, securities, inventories, goodwill, fixtures, machinery, or real estate.

I have to tell you – finding “goodwill” in that list made my heart sing.  Other than that one, I don’t believe I’ve got much in the way of assets these days.  😀  Okay, so the list includes “total resources” – that too offers me hope, as I have many resources, very few of them tangible.

When Jeff and I started on this journey one of the first things that the Lord dealt with us about, was the issue of wealth.  You see, we grew up having been taught that only those who are greedy or selfish ever have money.  But, the Lord was giving us visions of ways to minister, that would require money.  He was placing dreams and hopes in our hearts that didn’t line up with what we had been told as children.

Father then impressed strongly on our hearts that we are no longer to look at money in the same light.  It is now nothing more than a tool – a tool for being about the business that He has for us.  It itself is not an asset, it is a tool to be used for gaining assets.

But, there is so much more to assets than what we have been taught.  What about our gifts and our skills?  Aren’t they assets?  What about our relationships?   What about our prayer lives, are they assets?  Our bookcases?  Can’t they be considered assets?

Something we have learned, that just astounds me is how much Father delights in the multiplication of our assets.  If you will pause for just a moment and consider with me that the Lord has blessed our family with a few Littles, which are DEFINITELY assets, (Not that we’d SELL them or anything!)  AND with us, He is planning on reaching others.  And that isn’t just His plan for OUR family – it’s His plan for ALL Godly families.  He intends for us to reach into other’s lives, for the sake of the Gospel, to see increase brought into the Kingdom.  Does that blow anyone else’s mind, but ours?

So, dear ones, the next piece of walking IN FAITH is being mindful of the assets that the Lord has blessed us with and employing them for the sake of the Kingdom.  May I confess how hard that is for me to think about?

If you want my money, I’ll give it.  If you want my stuff, I’ll give you that.  If you want many of the things in my care, I’ll willingly share them with you.  But….my family time?

MAN, that’s a hard one for me to contemplate sharing.  It’s not that I don’t want to share them with you – it’s just that I don’t want to open my hand and make sharing them with others a REGULAR activity.   Once in a while isn’t a problem – but I just enjoy them OH SO much, it’s hard for me to consider laying down our family time to just be poured out again and again, in the name of the Gospel.  (Am I the only one that struggles with this?)

And so my prayer must be – Make us discerning Lord, that we might know when You are asking us to serve and minister and when You are allowing us to be called away, to be refreshed….so that we might go and minister again.  May we be found faithful with the assets You have placed within our care.  For Your glory, my Lord.  For Your glory.  In the precious name of our Savior -Jesus ~

Blessings dear ones as you prepare to enter into a new week – and share your most precious assets with others and may you be mindful of being a good steward of the assets you have been blessed with!

Leave a Reply

