Pausing

I can hear the washer running, the dryer thumping and the coffee pot clicking. (Does anyone else’s pot do that??) The birds are singing, the air is heavy with the anticipation of rain. Still, it is cool and there is a delicious breeze. Best of all? Jeff is sitting right here by me and it’s just the two of us.

SO, I must apologize for leaving you all in pause mode for a little while longer, while I enjoy my wonderful morning tryst with my hubby. I’ll pop on shortly and post our book discussion.

Until then – go enjoy the morning!

EDIT:  Not too long after this, we found that our meat freezer had been unplugged somehow, so I’m cooking meat…and cooking meat…and cooking meat.  🙂   It may be a little longer than I had expected.  But, I WILL get back to it!

Comments
7 Responses to “Pausing”
  1. winkies6 says:

    Wow, those are the exact sounds in my house right now! Except, the dryer won’t be thumping for another couple minutes… maybe. I’m thinking of trying to get some clothes on the line today, in hopes the rain will hold off. Perhaps all this wind will dry the clothes faster? 🙂 The best part… the it’s warm enough for windows open! 😀 (#4 keeps reminding me… Look, Mama, no snow! LOL)

    The new pot we got clicks, it’s so bizarre! LOL

    Hubby and I already had our sitting at the puter time chit chat and now he’s off to the dentist and work.

  2. tiffany says:

    No clicking coffee pots, we use a french press….or we did…I was pulling the press out of the glass canister and it shattered, out of nowhere. So strange. I ahve bad luck with french presses. I need to buy a stainless steal one.

    Sorry about the meat freezer! Hope you have a good day of cooking!

  3. winkies6 says:

    I can’t edit mine. *sniff*sniff* I’m sorry about the meat freezer! That has happened to me before! Except it was after the birth of #3, who was a home birth and Hubby thought it would be cool to save the placenta and bury it under a tree, but the freezer door was opened before spring………… Can I say eww??

  4. javadawn says:

    w6, Yes you can…and I’ll join you. Ewwww! 🙂

    Thanks Tiffany!

    Off to check the turkeys in the oven. 😀

  5. Marianne says:

    Sorry to hear about your freezer, Dawn. What a lot of unexpected work. On the upside, what a HUGE blessing to have a freezer full of cooked meat before summer heat hits!

  6. Margie says:

    So, Dawn, what did you end up doing? Cooking all of it??? That is a LOT of work.

  7. javadawn says:

    Marianne, Thank you!! I was reminded of that very mindset at 1:30 this am when I was putting meat away. 🙂

    Margie, the County Extension agent was less than helpful. 🙄 She said, “Well you’ll just have to make a judgement call on it. I couldn’t tell you, unless you brought it in for testing.” (Which, btw would also take a day or two. 😆 SO, if it wasn’t bad when we started, it would be before we were done…especially since they’re an 6 hr drive away.) 😀 People are fun.

    Anyway, 3 turkeys, 4 Swiss steaks, 4 pkgs h’burger (8# – our butcher packages in 2# pkgs for us) and 2 roasts were all we got salvaged. We used the crock for some of them – but had more than we could fit. The turkeys were the biggest time consumption, natch.

    But, as Marianne (and Father) reminded me, I’m getting ready to help ghost write another book – which needs to be done REALLY fast and now I don’t need to worry about meals. Count it all joy! 🙂 🙂

Leave a Reply

