Javadawn and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day

Last Thursday, I was sitting in the living room having my quiet time when a there was a knock at the door.  Who would be at our house that early in the day??  Jeff answered to door to find a tall gentleman there who politely informed us that the one thing that wasn’t late – our van – was to be repo’ed.  We were flabbergasted to put it mildly.

Jeff immediately called the loan company to talk to them and find out what was going on.  In the meantime, I threw a hissy fit in the laundry room – my favorite prayer room – telling the Lord how much I didn’t want to buy this van on credit anyway and asking why He directed us that way 2 years ago… (LONG story – but suffice it to say that THAT really is how it seems – and not just to us.  We had gone 10 years with no vehicle payments and then, we bought this…. and it was quite odd the way it played out.) All the while the gentleman waited patiently and kindly for it to be resolved for us.

The loan company indeed indicated that they had received our payment and indeed the van didn’t qualify for repossession. But, because the process had been started, there was nothing we or they could do about it. No matter what – our nice little van pulled away on the back of that big truck – with us standing there shaking our heads – somewhere between amazement and amusement.

We went back into the house, only to have the loan company call back and ask us numerous questions – some of which seemed silly – for over 45 minutes.  The whole time I was talking to Father, asking for answers, desiring to understand why all this was playing out.  As soon as Jeff hung up, there was another knock at the door.  By this time, fear kicked in and I went and hid.

Jeff sought me out – and there in my laundry room stood a local sheriff.  He was there to deliver the papers for the foreclosure process that was in place. I was stunned, I was overwhelmed, I was angry, I have never felt so discouraged and trapped in my whole life.  Everything around us was being taken – and it seemed that we had been walking in obedience to Father.  (As if that means trials won’t come our way?!! HELLO?)  My 2nd youngest was seriously concerned that they’d be coming to take our dog next.  😦     Lead me, O LORD, in your righteousness because of my enemies— make straight your way before me.

Over the next few hours we saw the hand of the Lord move in ways that absolutely took our breath away.  People who don’t even know us offered us money – vehicles to use – we even found favor in the sight of the man who towed our van away.  (He offered to bring it back to our area once we got this resolved – which is huge, since it was going quite a ways away.)   Lead me, O LORD, in your righteousness because of my enemies— make straight your way before me.

By the time the sun set, the loan company had agreed that there probably was an error on their part, but also ours, because we didn’t call them to tell them that we had made a payment.  (?? Okay, I guess….)  There was a temporary “gift” vehicle in our drive way.  We had received hugs, support and chocolate!  (True LOVE, indeed!)  😉   You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies. You anoint my head with oil; my cup overflows.

On every side, discouragement and this horrid sense of total failure and hopelessness were mine.  I couldn’t see the good of any of this and I couldn’t see how the Lord could be exalted and I didn’t see how we could ever get out of this mire!  There didn’t seem to be ANY way out of this – surely the Lord would not allow us to meet utter and complete destruction…. I will exalt you, O LORD, for you lifted me out of the depths and did not let my enemies gloat over me.

As we got ready for bed, we had quite a time of prayer, as the children of the Most High – who were resting in His palm, knowing He was our only hope – our only Source.   Then my enemies will turn back when I call for help. By this I will know that God is for me! We went to sleep, knowing that He was indeed FOR us and not against us.

Friday morning dawned – we awoke once again to nothing but this horrid sense of despair and entrapment champing at our heels, trying to chew us up and spit us out! You know how I am scorned, disgraced and shamed; all my enemies are before you.

Jeff and I woke early and huddled in the living room, under a small blanket (funny how this much pain causes one to be cold, isn’t it?) praying for quite a while time.  We prayed and we praised and we declared once again our love for the Lord, our belief that He would not destroy us and we held on to one another – and those that had loved us so deeply through that horrid Thursday. Give me a sign of your goodness, that my enemies may see it and be put to shame, for you, O LORD, have helped me and comforted me.

******To Be Continued*******

Please know I don’t share any part of this story to say anything about us – good, bad or otherwise.  If  that is the impression I’m giving you, please forgive me, for that is not my intent.  My desire is to exalt the Lord and bring Him all the praise due His Name.

Comments
7 Responses to “Javadawn and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day”
  1. Shannon M says:

    Oh, shug. I’m praying. Thank you for sharing this – it’s so encouraging to me to see you walking through this (to see Him carrying you through this). We all like to through around Jer 29:11 – “He has a plan” – but it’s a little harder when we realize just how different His plan might be from our own. I will be praying!

  2. I send much love, Dawn…
    He’s got you cupped close.

  3. javadawn says:

    Dear ones, how precious are the prayers of the saints – to both Father and to me!!

    Now, Shannon, shug – are you saying, it’s so encouraging to see YOU walking through this….as in not ME walking through this? Or are you saying it’s encouraging seeing you WALKING through this? or is it more like it’s encouraging seeing you walking THROUGH this…and not getting stuck in the middle. JUST CHECKING….. 😉

  4. myderbe says:

    Oh, Dawn, it’s at moments like this that I wish I were extremely wealthy and could just give bushels of money to everyone I see who needs it. Alas, that is not the case. We are also walking in faith, moment by moment, watching the Lord provide for us. My husband quit his job in July but we are not quite ready to go to our mission assignment and we do not have, on paper, all the monthly support we need. We are trusting that we will have enough to make our house payments until God sells this house. And we are understanding yet again that everything we have truly is provided by the Father; we do not provide for ourselves. It is good to be dependent on Him. It is hard, but it is good.

  5. Kristine says:

    Hey Dawn, I know what comes next – but many of your readers do not.

    Please continue your story. Soon. 🙂

  6. ReneeFL says:

    I know God is faithful — in His way & in His time…. praying for your family and wondering about “the rest of the story.”

  7. javadawn says:

    THANK YOU ALL for your prayers!! They are SO incredibly priceless to me.

    Kristine- you should have just posted it! 😀 You got to watch it from the sidelines – and from the prayerlines! 🙂 (Thank you again, btw!)

Leave a Reply

