Just the FACTS, Ma’am

Working as a switch board operator at Indiana University allowed me plenty of opportunity to see rare and….well, bizarre things to occur.  Several of those events are BURNED into my brain.

It was late on a Wednesday night when the phone rang and I answered to hear a screaming woman trying to tell me about the man she had lost.  From her frantic words, I finally figured out that he was her neighbor, that she had brought  in to pose for the art class and that while they were sketching him in a partially reclining position, he had fallen asleep.  Since he was sleeping soundly, no one had woken him while they were on their break and when they returned he was gone.

I understood that he was missing, I understood that he was unfamiliar with the campus, but what I didn’t understand was her great distress.  When I pressed her for more information, she did admit that he was pretty “loaded.”  He was broke and the class paid for models, but he had been a little nervous about posing, so he’d gotten pretty well trashed before arriving.  (Hence the cause for sleeping, no doubt)

Okay, so now we have a lost drunk man wandering around an unfamiliar campus.  That is cause for some concern, but certainly not the depth of distress that she was displaying.  “Are there any other details that I need to know about this, before I contact security?”  “Um, well, I guess so.”  “Alright and what would that be?”  “He’s naked.”  (She GUESSED so?!!!  I yi yi yi)

Once I got the full picture of the situation, (uh – turn of phrase ONLY, thank you) I made an immediate call to security and alerted them to the situation. Isn’t it amazing how having all the facts can help you prioritize the needs of the moment?

This morning, when I was praying, the Lord gave me this GREAT little acrostic to help me (and help me help you) keep the holidays in properly prioritized.  F.A.C.T, as you might have guessed from the title.

Focus, Assumptions, Conversation, Time, Sanity.  They’re all pretty self explanatory, but I’m going to be lazy and spend 1 blog for each one.  😀

However, before I begin, may I challenge you to take 15 minutes and sit down and write out what your “fantasy” holiday would look like?  It doesn’t need to make sense to anyone but you.  Just list out all the things that would make the perfect holiday, in your estimation.  (All those secret things you’ve been beating yourself up with over the years – you know, like all the gifts need to have color coordinated gift wrap.  Every piece of greenery in house needs to be fresh and have ivy and holly and possibly even some roses intertwined amongst them. There needs to be a enough cookies made that you could try a new one every day and not need to eat any one twice…you know, those kind of things)

Once you have that list completed, read over it, pray over it and set it aside.  Over the next few days, please go back and write R or U next to each one.  R for realistic.  U for unrealistic.  Then, hold it for another day or two and go back and write N for needful or S for superfluous. Once you have each item marked with either R or U, and N or S, take that list to your prayer closet and/or to your husband, and make sure that it lines up with the heart of Father for your family.  (When I did this, there were things that I marked as superfluous, that the Lord had me drag back out to do.  It was interesting.)

And tomorrow morning, we can begin a discussion of having a right Focus for our holidays.

Comments
4 Responses to “Just the FACTS, Ma’am”
  1. myderbe says:

    I just can’t stop giggling. Very funny story.

    The whole Christmas season is just going to be so different for us this year. We are so hoping to move in December, hopefully at the beginning. And that just changes everything!

  2. javadawn says:

    Jenn, I was TERRIFIED that the guy would show up at my desk, asking for directions, let me tell you. I was frantically praying that the Lord would help security find him FAST! 🙂

    I understand, we’re packing and hoping to be moving during December, too. (Although, I’m not sure we can get it pulled off.) That very thing – the move, is what was encouraging me to seek Father for direction in keeping the holiday set aside for worship, and not let it get caught up in the midst of packing boxes, etc.

    You’re in even MORE of a situation, if you’re hoping to move at the beginning of the month – you’ll be in a new place for the holiday. WOW, that is kind of a challenge, huh? (Especially with your Littles.) Do you know what aspects of Christmas are most important to them?

    Have you kept out a “Open Immediately to make the new house a home for Christmas box” that has a few nativity things in it? 😉

  3. tiffany says:

    So glad you are posting on the holidays. My mom is visiting right now, but I know when she goes home I have to get started on this. Thanks for the kick in the pants!

  4. pauseforamoment says:

    “Once I got the full picture of the situation, (uh – turn of phrase ONLY, thank you)”

    LOLOLOLOL! This is a hoot!

    We ‘do’ holidays so differently here in Oz, Dawn, although maybe it is just us. 😉 There is the crazy credit-card spend up by most, but I honestly think it isn’t as nuts for us as it is for most Americans. My perfect Christmas day consists of fresh cherries consumed in the car on the way to the beach first thing, then home to a nice gourmet breakfast together with my husband. We open our gifts together, either before the beach, or damp and sandy at the table afterwards. 🙂 Then the day goes into rush mode, but still nice – lunch with his family (lots of people, lots of food) then back home for thirty minutes rest, then off to my family. Our Christmas dinner is always completely gourmet – we love to cook, and cook extravagantly! Not too much food, but little bits of deliciousness. We have swims in the pool and relax together for hours.

    We don’t do ‘church’ on Christmas day – at least, not what some would call church! Spending time with family and friends is a form of church in our book! And every day is sacred, too. – to us, Christmas is no more ‘holy’ than any day of the week, kwim? We celebrate Him every day. I guess that means that I really hold my expectations of how the day should be in the palm of my hand – subject to change. One of our BEST Christmases was spent down at our family’s beach house – now that was the most relaxing day I’ve ever had!

    There, you got an essay-answer to a question you never really asked, lol!

    I’m looking forward to your thoughts as always.

    Val xx

Leave a Reply

