GIGO

With a father who was instrumental in much of the cutting edge computer technology, GIGO was a term that I grew up with, thinking that it was commonplace. I remember the first time I used it in context – in a setting where people other than family were about. It was at school. I saw someone throw up a school lunch. It was a rather ungracious response on my part – but they HAD served macaroni & cheese. (Did anyone else suffer through the school movie that was so popular back in the 70’s with the African tribe that killed the giraffe and skinned it and ate the giraffe meat? Anyone else have a teacher that showed it right before lunch on the day the school was serving macaroni & cheese?!!! OKAY THEN, you understand WHY the kid threw up.)

GIGO, for the uninitiated (although I can’t imagine any of us are any more) is a term that I think may have originated at IBM, at the time my Dad was working there, which stands for “garbage in, garbage out”. I don’t believe it had anything to do with lunches served in the corporate dining hall, however.

Today, during my morning walk, I was going over, in my head, the list of things we needed to purchase for holiday baking. I was trying to decide how many bags of chocolate Kisses we were going to need for our Peanut Butter Blossoms. I was trying to decide how many bags of Starlight mints we’d need for our Double Fudgamintalicious Cookies. (Healthy things to do while walking, don’t you think?)

While I was walking, I passed the library – and gave thanks that it was open this week. You see, last week, for the first time in the history of the library, they had to shut the doors for a day, because ALL the librarians were sick. Now, I know that this is a HUGE issue, having worked there. I know that one winter, we opened the doors with only one librarian working – and that was a big deal – but NO librarians?? Unthinkable.

Suddenly it hit me, I was living in a town where people are already wrestling with winter-like viruses and I was planning on filling my family’s bodies with multiple batches of cookies and other…(dare I say this??!!) garbage.

I decided right then and there, that I would blog about this – that I would remind you that what we eat this month will determine the health of our cells in – for all practical purposes – 2 months. That means the really lousy food we eat this month and next will be what will nourish our cells for January and February. Did I really want that to be garbage, in the thick of winter flu?! (When we’ve already had a go’round with a nasty virus this past weekend?!!)

So, I’ve been pondering what that means for the month of December, so that we could be as healthy as possible in the thick of winter. For us, it means making certain that every meal includes something “real” – something raw. It means making certain that the whole crew is drinking lemon water. It means that I only make one batch of each of our holiday goodies. It means that we will all be taking an after dinner walk – whether it’s nice out or not. It means that we will all putting Thieves on our feet at bedtime. It means we will be drinking our kefir before bed, to keep our tummys rich in flora. It means that I will make sure that we have our ginger root in the freezer, ready for a refreshing “Get Unsick Quick” drink. Β  πŸ™‚ Β Β  (Lemons, apples, parsley, celery and ginger root through the juicer.Β  Just so you know, I got my juicer from ebay for $20, including shipping.Β  If this is something you feel you need for your household, by all means, take it to Father in prayer.Β  At worst, He’ll say no.Β  At best, He may bless you with a new juicer, like He did for me.)

So, since misery loves company I care so much about you, I want to remind you that while eating special goodies this season is part of the fun, we must be mindful to keep our bodies well nourished despite that, so when February comes around, we have the strength and health to….MAKE DOUBLE FUDGAMINTALICIOUS COOKIES FOR VALENTINES DAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! πŸ˜‰ πŸ™‚

Edit: As I’m reading through this, I’m certain some of you are thinking “Uh, you’re talking about expensive stuff here, Lady!”Β  Please keep in mind that we’re new entrepreneurs who just recently were rescued by the Most High God from having their home foreclosed upon. If you feel that this is something that the Lord is laying on your heart for your family – take it to your prayer closet.Β  We have miraculously seen the Lord provide many things to allow us to make the food choices that we’re making.Β  It may not necessarily be the choices we’d prefer (ie: organic, rather than some from Aldis), but they are still decent choices. Β 

Furthermore, when I first started my study of natural health – oh, let’s see my daughter used to sleep in her swing during our classes and she just turned 13 this summer, so it’s been a few years – the first thing that my Natural Health Mom taught me was about the value of prayer over our food. (Not that I didn’t know it…I just didn’t know it from THIS perspective)

She had a study (I’ll look it up, if anyone else wants to see it – it was REALLY cool) of a school that, hired a pastor or Jewish rabbi as I recall, to pray over the food they were studying.Β  They used thermal imaging pictures to show the amount of energy that the food was giving off both before and after the prayers – in every trial, the food that had been prayed for had more energy coming from it.Β  THAT ought to be a good challenge to us, huh?Β  So rather than fuss, if the Lord doesn’t make a way for you to get the food you think you need, pray over it.Β  It surely wouldn’t qualify as garbage going in then!Β 

Comments
14 Responses to “GIGO”
  1. javadawn says:

    Okay, after looking for awhile, I rephrase that – if anyone is interested in the article, I’ll get ahold of my Natural Health Mom and ask her for the info on it. πŸ™‚ (And just for the record, my Natural Health Mom is like 6 mo older than I am.) πŸ™‚

  2. Valerie says:

    This is very cool, Dawn. Of course, being summer here (just about) the lurgies are lurking, but I like the concept of remembering that today’s food is tomorrow’s body. I just know that whenever I eat or drink something with white sugar in it, or white flour (more than a mouthful) I just feel goopy. It’s like I want to go and eat a great big salad or something. We have those things, but not much of them. These days, I have no problem in turning down a slice of cake that is not home-baked or containing at least some ingredients that will nourish my body.

    We pretty much follow simple diet rules – some form of leafy greens every day (We have a salad patch with beetroot, spinach, lettuce and rocket) which I will just pull out of the ground and munch then and there, or actually make into a salad, raw garlic most days, a root vegetable (usually sweet potatoes), one or two pieces of fresh fruit (I LOVE stone-fruit season!) sprouts most days, and then a rotation of carbs – like brown rice or millet or quinoa or whatever. We do eat a fair amount of meat (I am married to a carnivore!) but I always eke the meat out with lentils or beans or chickpeas. Last night I made hamburgers and I blended the mince with a couple of cups of lentils – you couldn’t really taste them and they add great fibre and vitamin content.

    One thing you have reminded me to do is to get back into juicing. I just hate cleaning that machine, lol!

    I was completely blessed a few weeks ago – someone gave me their ‘old’ thermomix http://www.thermomix.com.au/ and it is AWESOME! Grinds wheat, makes icecream and sorbets, cooks food (at a low temp to retain the nutrients), crushes ice, blends, chops, you name it. I love it – you can do a whole meal in minutes.

    Hey, I wish there was some way of shipping our lemons over to you – our tree drops about 20 a day, no way can we get through them. I have a box sitting on the verge for people to help themselves! Lemon juice in abundance! Is it good to have half a lemon in water every day? Should it be before breakfast? How long before? We are on such a tight schedule in the morning I just have this image of the lemon curdling my breakfast in my stomach…… sorry for the visual!

    Essay over. πŸ˜‰ πŸ™‚

    V xx

  3. javadawn says:

    VAL! You are SO cruel to tell me you have lemons sitting on the verge! I could be on the verge too – the verge of having a temper tantrum. πŸ˜‰

    Yes, I know many people who drink lemon juice first thing in the morning – just a little bit, with some honey in water. I’ll get you the exact proportions, if you’d like. (Jeff’s mom uses apple cider vinegar instead, if she can’t get a good fresh lemon)

    NOW, about this Thermomix – isn’t this the very same machine you were praying about some time ago?!!! Isn’t this the one you told me you were REALLY wanting and just didn’t feel released to spend the money on?!!! OH HOW I LOVE THE WAY THE LORD WORKS IN HIS KINGDOM!!!!

    He is so good to His children!!!!

    (AND side note to self – DAWN!! Pay attention when the Lord tells you to give, do it quickly, as it may be something that someone has been praying for!!!!)

  4. Valerie says:

    Do you know, I’d forgotten completely about that! I DID pray for one! I just know I felt totally blessed as, new, the machine is about $1800. My friend bought the latest one and gave me the previous model – it works perfectly! They are German made, so will last forever.

    Yes, I agree on the giving quickly. It is amazing the needs the Lord meets.

    Yeah, I’m actually bummed about the lemons as I know in a few weeks they’ll be gone. I’m thinking to juice and freeze a few.

  5. javadawn says:

    Uh, at the risk of sounding unkind – DUH!!! πŸ˜‰
    What are you still doing here at the computer – get juicing!!!! πŸ™‚

    I thought that was the very same thing we had discussed you were praying about. That is just TOOOOO kewel.

    PS Even though it’s now your turn to comment, I’m jumping ship here, Sweetie – I’m going to bed. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Sorry to be such a lousy hostess. πŸ™‚

  6. Elizabeth says:

    Wow…had no idea you are into talking about healthy stuff…guess I need to go back into your past posts more and read!! We are learning…have to with our health problems. Glad to read all that everyone has contributed here! THANKS A LOT!!

  7. Valerie says:

    LOL! You’re allowed. It IS nighttime for you, after all!

  8. April says:

    And *I* was just praying that you would talk about this stuff again sometime soon, Dawn, and thinking that I would try to figure out what to ask in an email. God is, indeed, good.

  9. Margie says:

    So, Dawn, what is it with the Thieves on the feet? I was thinking of getting some and using it on hands and possibly making wipes for when we are out and about. Does it work more preventatively on the feet?

    Blessings,
    Margie

  10. javadawn says:

    Now Elizabeth, is that THANKS a lot! or is that thanks a LOT! there’s a big difference you know. πŸ˜‰

    Valerie, you’re such a sweetie, thanks. (skipping the a lot part.) πŸ˜‰

    April, if there is something that comes to mind, ask away! What I know, I will happily share. (And I’m glad to know it’s helpful to someone else)

    We just came through dealing with a MAJORLY abscessed molar, that ended up in my jaw bone, all naturally. I just keep learning more and more. I’m so grateful for the amazing things that Father has grown for the healing of His children.

    Margie, all nerves end in the bottom of the feet. (Hence the value of reflexology – minus the New Age garbage.) It is an effective vehicle for getting essential oils into the body, quickly. If we’re seriously fighting something with it, we will add it to EVOO and rub it on the spine. It is believed that all illness hibernates in the spinal cord, so you’re going right to the root of it doing it this way.

    As for your idea of wipes, we do that, as well. We also add it to our soap, especially during the fall/winter, as well as diffuse it. Young Living has recently come out with a Thieves cleaner – I use a capful in the dishwasher and 2 capfuls in the washing machine.

    When things have been tight $, I’ve been known to wash my laundry in nothing more than 2 scoops of Borax and 2 capfuls of Thieves cleaner. (Using white vinegar for the “fabric softener”) They come out as clean, if not cleaner than when I use a laundry detergent.

    Okay Ladies, if anyone has any other questions – please feel quite free to ask. I will answer to the best of my ability.

  11. Elizabeth says:

    Whatever we can do for ourselves in not only cheaper, but might work better we are finding. We have to be pretty skeptical today on what we are given. Knowing most meds are made in China these days is not a comforting thought! So whatever you can teach us, is gratefully anticipated!

  12. javadawn says:

    Elizabeth, my dear, you’ll have to be more specific than that, there is simply too much clutter running around between my ears. πŸ™‚ Is there an issue in particular that you’d like to tackle?

  13. Elizabeth says:

    Well, my biggest problem is high blood pressure…am taking some things to help, besides meds from the doc, which I HATE! And I need to loose gobs of weight…am working on it and it is slow…but anything extra about that…and also, I am actually diabetic too, though not taking meds yet for that… I have a number of food allergies…none life threatening, except cilantro, that I know of…so my list of “ok” is kind of small really…I have not been retested in years…in some ways, not sure I want to know of more “challenges”…and in some ways, some of that is being worked on too…as in rotating food for my daughter, it means we eat more rotationally too…but any rate, anything you know about in those areas is something I would like to hear. Thanks for asking…

  14. javadawn says:

    Wow, Elizabeth – you have a lot of health challenges all at once, huh? My mom fought many of those same things for many years. I remember when she was re-tested for her allergies she had 6 pages of things she was allergic to. 😦

    It sounds like you’re doing some pretty intense steps already – working at losing weight – are you walking? (that’s so good for so many things, including your diabetes and your bp) eating rotationally – those are all good and needful things.

    I think that continuing to make certain that you’re offering your body good nutrition (be sure some of it is fresh), walking and drinking your water is a great place to start for now. Well done YOU!! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

