Strap it on

Our friend Tom Harmon uses this phrase, any time he’s getting ready to take something “tough” on. Next week, in the midst of Christmas prep, something will happen that will mean little to most folks, but to those in this house, it will be a big deal. Jeff and I will celebrate 24 yrs of marriage!! (He married me when I was VERY young.)Ā  šŸ˜‰

Because of this, I have been thinking – considering this makes me an older woman, officially (the gray hairs didn’t count, because y’all couldn’t see them) and have decided to take on a monumental task. I’ve decided to spend the next week sharing my heart with younger woman (which is likely to be all y’all) šŸ˜€ on what I’ve learned about being a Godly wife.

NOW – I have been toying over and over and over with whether or not to keep the comments open or closed. (I still haven’t decided) Here’s why –

I LOVE interacting with you, gleaning from your wisdom and hearing your hearts – BUT I am SOOOPER DOOOPER busy this week starting a new job, as well as holiday prep and getting my crew ready for the Holy Walk this weekend and beau coup other things going on right now.
Because of the amount of stuff on my plate, I don’t have time to take on major discussions debating complementarian/egalitarian/veterinarian/totalitarian/ octogenarian/Marianthelibrarian or any other “-arian” aspect of marriage EXCEPT Clarkarian.

These are my thoughts – things Father has shown me or the things I have gleaned from the Word. They are not based upon teaching from other sources, they are from years of hard work, tears spent, loads of laughs and much prayer. There is nothing erudite about this, it is not steeped in academia but rather suffused in reality. Lots and lots of reality.

If you disagree with me, I will love you anyway and hope you will do the same for me. If you agree with me – I will love you anyway and hope you will do the same for me. šŸ˜€

Take it as you will – cause I’m gonna strap it on! šŸ˜€ šŸ˜€

Comments
12 Responses to “Strap it on”
  1. Margie says:

    Well, I for one, do not qualify as a “younger” woman but I love to glean from your wisdom. The Lord has worked in your life differing circumstances than He has worked in mine. I am certain if you feel lead to share the journey then there will be tidbits that I can glean.

    So, strap it on and share away šŸ™‚

  2. Susan PA says:

    I’m with Margie. I’m definitely OLDER than you šŸ™‚ — but I’m certainly happy to read what you write and try it on for size.

    Susan PA (mama to 8)

  3. cbgrace says:

    I’m not sure if I am younger or not (probably am…in order for me to have been married 24 years I would have to have gotten married before I even hit my teens). šŸ˜€ Since I have just gotten married this year…I can’t wait to read your advise.

  4. javadawn says:

    Susan and Margie, Hmmm, I’m not betting on that one. LOL (the younger part, I mean)

    cbgrace – you’re MILES ahead of me, when I was in your place, my dear. M.I.L.E.S. (The August after we were married, I wasn’t even speaking to Jeff!! SEE?!!!) šŸ˜€

  5. Holly says:

    I’m ready to hear! AND – I fully understand the no comment thing. Do what you need to do!

  6. Margie says:

    I know that you said we were free to disagree and that you couldn’t do the comment thing, but I can’t help adding that I know fairly certain that since I just turned 51 last July (note: I did not say I was 51.5! LOL) I am older than you. However, since we met later in life, I am not an older wife (we’ve only been married 15 years). Guess that makes me an older woman but not an older wife.

  7. javadawn says:

    Oh Margie Mae, I can do EASY comments. It’s the heavy conversation kind of comments I couldn’t do this week. (The kind where I’m asked to T.H.I.N.K.) šŸ™‚ Not the kind where I can just enjoy my friends here. šŸ™‚ (I’ll save the thinking with my friends for another week, okay?) šŸ™‚ šŸ™‚

    Honey, I sure hope I look as good as you do at 51. (no 1/2 coming from me, darlin’!) I’d have NEVER known you were that old.

  8. Valerie says:

    I’m a bit younger, so bring it on! But leave the comments – I like to yak!!!

    šŸ™‚

    love, Val

  9. Margie says:

    “Iā€™d have NEVER known you were that old”

    Dawn, dear you have just become my BEST friend! šŸ™‚

  10. Elizabeth says:

    Well, been married 35 years now…so though I married young, NOT that young! So…evenso, I do enjoy reading your posts…and thanks ahead for sharing. In sharing maybe some younger women can avoid some difficulties…at least that is my hope when I share with youngers…so important we try to teach our daughters, isn’t it? Maybe their lives will go more smoothly, at least in marriage. (NOT saying yours has not been smooth either…but mine was not, until we began this faith path…which things have improved so much over the last few years!!)

  11. javadawn says:

    Elizabeth, Sounds like you have quite a testimony to share, too.

Leave a Reply

