WWF, again

I’m back at it – actually I’m on lunch –  but my brain is back at it.  (No comments necessary about my brain being out to lunch, thank you very much)  🙂
“And they brought the boy to Him. And when the spirit saw Him, immediately it convulsed the boy, and he fell on the ground and rolled about foaming at the mouth.  And Jesus asked his father, “How long has this been happening to him?”

And he said, “From childhood. And it has often cast him into fire and into water, to destroy him.  But if you can do anything, have compassion on us and help us.”

And Jesus said to him,”If you can!  All things are possible for one who believes.”

Immediately the father of the child cried out, “I believe, help my unbelief!”

First of all, this Word Wrestling Female just aches to stop and give thanks to the Lord for His glorious Word.  Bless you Lord, that in Your great wisdom You knew we would feed from Your Word, allowing us to grow and mature because of It.  Bless You, Bless You, Bless You.  For You alone are worthy of our praise!!!!

Okay, now, down to the yakky part.  Grab something to drink, cause I need to process this with someone and Jeff is gone – so HA, that means you.  Here, I’ll take the ivory chair – you take the navy one.  Comfy?  Good, let’s go after this, please?

What strikes you about that set of verses?  Verses which are found in Mark 9:20 – 24, by the way.   What is the first thing that “grabs” you, so to speak, when you read that?

The first thing that went through me was the thought that the enemy is sure obsessed with killing God’s people by fire and water, isn’t he?  (I mean, think even, of the biggest disasters in the last few years – hurricanes, tsunamis, fire in the Twin Towers…fire and water, fire and water….)

The second thing that went through me is the desperation that this poor father must have had – never knowing when the demon was going to try to kill his son – the constant seizures.  My brother in law has severe epilepsy.  Watching him have a grand mal seizure was frightening the first time…and the second and the fifteenth …. He and my sister have been married for almost 14 years and it’s still scary to watch him.  How much more so if it’s your child.

Then I saw it – the man asked Jesus to heal his son and Jesus responded, “If you can!” I can see myself in this situation looking at Him with surprise on my face, hand on my chest.  ME?  If *I* can??  Dude, I came to YOU to heal him.  If I could have done it, I’d have done it a long time ago!!!  I don’t see that the Holy Writ includes that, did you?  So…what?  The dad didn’t respond that way?  He didn’t think it was flipping crazy for this Man who was healing people right and left to say, ‘If you can!”

Now, just to give you a better picture of the depth of my sinful mouth – all the years I’ve read this, I’ve always read it like this, “If you CAN?!!!!”  You know, like Jesus looked at guy, incredulous that he would even say that to Him and whip off with this sarcastic comment, the Biblical equivalent of “DUH!” (Digression – am I the only one here that hears the Lord say “DUH” to them?!!  Just wondering)

But today it hit me, that isn’t what He says.  He says “If you can!”  and not just “If you can.”  But “If you can!”  Every jot and tittle would have to include !.  He was speaking to that dad with intensity.  “If you can!” (That makes me want to go back and see how often Jesus speaks with an !.  I speak so many !! in my life, I just have to wonder if He did so, as well.)  What does that mean??

(Poke) I don’t need you to explain “If you can!” you rascal.  I need you to help me get what Jesus is telling this dad.  This is part of my studying Christ’s prayers. If the Lord is changing my heart regarding prayer, then that’s the first thing I want/need to study, agreed?  Okay, then help me, would ya??  🙂  So, does that mean the father COULD pray for healing for his son?!! It sure sounds like it. And he wouldn’t just say that if he COULD, but it wouldn’t do any good. (This isn’t a debate on whether or not God heals.  For me that is a given.  It’s a question of why Jesus said that the father could heal the boy.)

AND then, this hit me:  The father saying, “I believe, help me in my unbelief!”  Again, a strong statement.  (No wonder I love the Word – there are lots of !! in It!)  I had to pause as I’m reading – Okay, belief is like a coin, yes?  One side is belief, one side is unbelief – you can’t have both sides of the coin up at once, so what’s with this?!!

As I have prayed about this, I keep seeing Damarah’s arms after she got her cast off this year.  Her right arm was very strong, since it had been doing the work of two arms.  Her left arm was very thin and scrawny, since it had been in the cast for however many weeks.  (Hey, that was way back in May, you don’t expect me to remember that far back, do you?!!!)    🙂

Is that how belief is??  Is it not really two sides of the same coin?  Is it more like two arms  on one person?  Is it possible to have a weak belief arm and a strong unbelief arm? Vice versa?  What if our belief arm is strong but our unbelief arm is strong – is that possible, too?

If that is the case, then it should be possible to exercise our belief arm to make it even stronger – but how do we unexercise our unbelief arm?  I don’t want a strong unbelief arm!! (that warrants !!) What do you think?? Of course unexercise is a word.

What do you mean you need to refill your cup?!! HEY where are you going??  Come back here and wrestle this with me!!  Chicken!!!   😉   🙂   🙂

Comments
5 Responses to “WWF, again”
  1. Kristine says:

    Glad to wrestle for a bit. 🙂

    I love to ask questions in response to questions, so here goes:

    How did Damarah’s left arm become so much weaker than her right?

    What is the spiritual equivalent of putting our unbelief in a cast? How do we keep it there?

  2. javadawn says:

    Hey, you’re no help! 🙂

    You came up with the same two basic questions I did. 😕

    How do we “arrest” unbelief? I know how to build up faith in my life, so is that the same as “casting” unbelief? AND is that what we want to do? Put it in a cast, so the arm is immobile OR do we want to begin to train it so that it works like the belief arm? (I’m leaning toward the second)

    I dunno.

  3. cbgrace says:

    I had cast on my legs/feet for almost 16 weeks when I was a girl…surgery on the feet, couldn’t have any movement while feet where healing. Didn’t work as well as doctors had hoped. So my legs came out the same way…weak, white and scrawny looking. Why, well, if you don’t use a muscle, then you will loose it. The sun also give a healthy glow.

    Maybe faith is a little bit similar…if you don’t use it you loose it.

  4. April says:

    I don’t have the answer and I may be a blasphemer…
    Having had a wrist in a cast for a total of 6 months, 2 days and 13 hours this year (not to mention the 9 weeks last year), I understand the inconvenience, the PAIN of not being able to use that which we SHOULD be able to use!
    But… on the other hand…
    I have a husband who has EXCELLED at giving the kiddos baths, washing dishes, fixing dinner, etc, a daughter who has learned to do many things she wouldn’t have i.e. get her brother’s bottle out for me, congregatants who have provided for their pastor in ways they wouldn’t normally…
    AND…
    I have had to let them all do this!!

    What if our weakness is all about coming to the place where we recognize we NEED SomeOne to do that which we can’t?
    Is that too obvious?
    Maybe the way we exercise it is by not trying too very hard to do what our disbelief arm is unable to do and seek the Messiah to help us, asap.
    😕
    Whaddya think?

  5. javadawn says:

    I think I’m WAY too sleepy to participate in this conversation. Let me get some shut eye, some java and I’ll be back! 🙂 (In that order)

Leave a Reply

