It’s that time of year …

When the world falls in love and every song you hear seems to say, “Merry Christmas, may your New Year’s dreams come true….and this song of mine…” wait…that’s not the time I was thinking of.

It’s time to share your Christmas breakfast menu.

I know MyDerbe Jenn serves banana splits – what about the rest of you???

We’ve had all kinds of things that we’ve had for Christmas morning, so I can’t offer anything solid or helpful…except our Sunrise juice, which we won’t be having this year. See? I’m basically useless.

Have pity on me and share your ideas, my dears…please? 🙂

Comments
19 Responses to “It’s that time of year …”
  1. pauseforamoment says:

    I need inspiration, too! Remember, it’s hot over here, but we do like an eggy breakfast, not too heavy. Last year, I made eggs benedict, and the year before, I made breakfast pizzas. They might work for you – we used those little wholemeal pita breads, spread with a tomato base, topped with some steamed english spinach, and then a raw egg. You can sprinkle a bit of cheese on, too. Then, very c-a-r-efully, put them under the grill until the egg is cooked. Yummy!

    The other recipe I have yet to try is a breakfast casserole that features in my Jan Karon novels. It looks really yummy, and perfect for a frosty Christmas morning! ( I think it would do us in, in this weather here!). Let me know if you’d like that recipe. You assemble it the evening before then pop it in the oven in the morning.

    Tell me if you can come up with something delicious for us…. I’m thinking to do the eggs benedict again, maybe eggs florentine this time.

    Val xx

  2. pauseforamoment says:

    Oh – the pizza also had some prosciutto slices draped under the egg. You could use bacon if you wished.

  3. For many years I made Alabama ham and cheese pie – quiche-like with eggs, swiss cheese, ham and grits – and spinach salad for our Christmas Eve meal and we’d eat slices of leftover ham and cheese pie for breakfast the next morning. However, I haven’t made the pie for Christmas Eve in 3-4 years. We’ve always had eggnog on Christmas morning, but only the boys like it really, and this is the first Christmas since they were born that none of the boys will be home for Christmas (sob, sob!!!). Sooooooo…..we are in a bit of transition time when I guess we better establish some new traditions. Emily isn’t a breakfast eater…so that leaves Louis and me. *sigh* Wow!!! Now I’m depressed! =/

  4. myderbe says:

    I’m telling ya — the banana splits sure are easy! 🙂 Fruit, dairy, a little chocolate . . . a perfect breakfast. hee hee

  5. rosathemad says:

    I’m a french toast fan – fruit toast, drenched in cinnamony eggy goodness, fried, and then served with fruit (bananas, or, my personal favourite, poached pear), real Canadian maple syrup, and a little whipped cream or even ice-cream (I’m in the southern hemisphere, down in lil’ ol’ New Zealand, so we have a summer Christmas). That’s my Christmas morning menu. 🙂

    Oh, and hi! I stumbled across your blog because, well, you were talking about food. 😉

  6. April says:

    A couple of years ago, I found a recipe for an egg and spinach dish that was divine. It had three cheeses and came from some bed and breakfast I found online.

    I have since lost the recipe.

    We are going to have Cheerios. At the rate we’re going, at least.

  7. Margie says:

    My mom has always made French Breakfast Muffins. They are the one thing that I cling to from my childhood. They are a light muffin with some nutmeg in the batter and then rolled in melted butter and cinnamon and sugar while hot from the oven.

    Other than that, I don’t have a Christmas morning must have. We often just have a light breakfast and then a huge meal early to mid afternoon and leftovers or pie for dinner.

  8. javadawn says:

    Okay, I left out one small little tidbit – I have 3 out of 9 that don’t like eggs. (Jeff being the biggest of the 3)

    Does that mean I’m a total dork who doesn’t warrant your help now?? I’m willing to grovel. I admit I’m pathetic. I am a worm!!!

    HELP ME!!

    Rosathemad – WELCOME! I love finding other foodies! 🙂 Poached pears….mmmm, I hadn’t even considered that. OH MY that sounds luscious.

    April, dear, what about being REALLY creative and serving something like Shredded Spoonfuls – then you can mash them up and say that they are the straw of Baby Jesus’ manger?!!! 🙂 😉

    Okay, Margie, you tormented me and didn’t leave the recipe?!! HELLO?!!

    Patricia, I’m sorry I didn’t mean to depress you. I will send chocolate – will that make up for it? 😉 ((hugs))

    Val, the recipe – is it egg heavy?? 🙂

    Jenn, sigh….you know I’m going to end up succumbing to your wiles, don’t you? 😀

  9. Margie says:

    The recipe? You wanted the recipe? LOL Here you go my dear…

    French Breakfast Puffs (aka: Christmas Muffins)
    Mix thoroughly:
    1/3 C. softened butter
    1/2 C. sugar
    1 egg

    Sift together:
    1 & 1/2 C. Sifted Flour (as a whole-wheat purist, I even use unbleached white flour on this one)
    1 & 1/2 Tsp. Baking Powder
    1/2 Tsp. Salt
    1/4 Tsp. Nutmeg

    Stir dry ingredients into butter, sugar and egg mixture alternately with 1/2 C. Milk.

    Fill greased muffin tins 2/3 full. Bake in preheated 350 degree oven until golden brown (approximately 20 to 25 minutes). Roll immediately in 6 TBSP of melted butter and then in cinnamon sugar mixture (1/2 C sugar and 1 Tsp. cinnamon). Serve warm 🙂

    This recipe makes about 12 muffins so you may want to double it.

    Most of my recipes I have tweeked to make healthier, but this one is all about recreating childhood memories so I don’t tweek, white flour, white sugar after all–it’s Christmas!

  10. javadawn says:

    Margie,
    Do you think these would taste good with poached pears and banana splits? 😉

  11. Margie says:

    I’m pretty sure they would be awesome with poached pears and banana splits! What wouldn’t be good with banana splits?

  12. Valerie says:

    Nah – don’t think so. Let me go and check.

    Here you go. There are a few eggs, but I imagine they wouldn’g be a dominant flavour (note the ‘u’ 😉 ). I kepts meaning to do this in winter, but I forgot! Actually, I wouldn’t have a clue what monterey jack cheese is. Could you enlighten me?

    Father Tim’s Christmas Breakfast Casserole

    1 LB. ground pork sausage
    1/4 cup chopped shallots or green onions
    10 pieces white bread, torn into small pieces
    1 cup shredded cheddar cheese
    1 cup shredded monterey jack cheese
    8 eggs
    2 1/2 cups milk
    1 tsp. salt
    1 1/4 tsp. dry mustard
    1/4 tsp. Worcestershire sauce

    Coat 9×13 dish with cooking spray and set aside. Brown sausage over medium heat until it crumbles. Add shallots a few minutes before sausage is done. Drain sausage onto a paper towel-lined plate.
    Place bread pieces in baking dish and sprinkle cheeses evenly over bread. Add sausage over the cheese.
    Whisk eggs, milk, salt, mustard, and Worcestershire sauce together. Pour evenly over sausage and bread mixture.
    Cover and chill 4-8 hours.
    Before baking, allow dish to come to room temp. for at least 30 minutes. Bake at 350 degrees for 45 minutes.

  13. Valerie says:

    I think I’ve decided on ours. I’m going to make luxury french toast with vanilla, served with fresh blueberries (they were on special today – I don’t think I’ve ever treated us to fresh blueberries!), poached nectarines, maple syrup and maybe bacon on the side. We only have a small serving as we have two big meals that day to face…..

    Val

  14. Kate says:

    I have little fantasies of a special Christmas morning breakfast, but the reality is that we will be in from church at about 2.15 am, and will then be back there for 9.00am (in previous years this has been 7.30am so we are actually revelling in the late start), so a cup of tea (from the Teasmade) and a slice of toast is as exciting as it gets. I really like the sound of Margie’s Christmas muffins, though.

  15. Jeni says:

    We have homemade cinnamon rolls with cream cheese frosting!! Recipe is so much better than Cinnabon.

    My dh isn’t a fan of yeast type rolls so he will make Sheepherder’s Breakfast.

    Jeni

  16. Jackie says:

    Dawn,

    Here are my suggestions for Christmas breakfast. My husband does all of the cooking, so don’t think these ideas came from me. These are just foods I like.

    An easy choice would be chocolate chip waffles. My husband makes them ahead of time and freezes them so we can put them in the toaster.

    Another favorite of mine is one my husband threw together one morning. We just call it “Breakfast Stuff.” (Real original, huh?)

    You need some beef dinner sausage which you cut up into cubes.

    Cut up some white potatoes into cubes.

    Chop up some carrots.

    Chop up some green olives with pimento stuffed inside of them.

    Chop up some fresh onion.

    Fry it altogether in a pan with some extra virgin olive oil. Add some garlic powder (be generous) and some pepper to taste. You might need some salt, but remember the green olives will add salt, so be careful.

    Enjoy,

    Jackie

  17. javadawn says:

    Kate, you won’t be offended if I don’t grab ahold of your ideas, right? 🙂

    Jeni, sounds D-lish, but lots of work. (What can I say – I’m thinking EASY)

    Jackie!!! Thank you, thank you, thank you!! I told Jeff I was looking for an idea for something that would have potatoes and sausage in it. THIS is perfect!! That, along with some poached pears (I just couldn’t pass on those – thank you Rosa) and a bowl Cherry Delight (cherry pie filling, pineapple, whipped cream and….I can’t think of the other ingredient) should round out our b’fast to a T!

    Ladies, THANK YOU ALL for helping me think – and offering such delicious ideas. I’m putting them in my control journal for holidays. 🙂 🙂

  18. Kate says:

    Somehow am not surprised my usual routine wasn’t chosen as a favourite! This year we had freshly baked cinnamon rolls – I actually meant to bake them Christmas Eve before Church but forgot so they spent the night rising and turned out very light! (leftovers are about to be made into a pudding for tonight). The menu you went for sounds absolutely fab.

  19. javadawn says:

    Kate, Cinnamon rolls??!!!! MAN I *should* have chosen your idea. 😀

    I think we should pester Jeni to share her cinnamon roll recipe too. (Man you guys – you’re making me drool!)

    Also, before I forget Jeni – what is a Sheepherder’s Breakfast??

Leave a Reply

