Do you hear what I hear?

I remember the first time Jeff told me he loved me.  It took my breath away.  I thought that the world was going to tip and I was going to slide off the side.  How could this man feel that way about me?  It just was more than I could imagine.

This morning, I experienced a bit of that same mind boggling, world tilting in my prayer closet.

It wasn’t particularly an “odd” morning of prayer.  It was pretty much a normal time – sharing the concerns of my heart with Him, just talking to Him, telling Him how much I wanted to honor Him and bring Him glory in all that I did.  I told Him (again) how much I long to hear “Well done good and faithful servant.”  I asked Him to search me, to check my heart, to show me any sin that was residing in my heart, that might keep me from hearing that.

Quickly – and plainly – I heard “You will not hear that.”  Now, before my black words on white screen allow for confusion, this wasn’t a statement of condemnation.  It wasn’t an overt attack by the enemy to discourage me or to cause my heart to be grieved – it was a sweet statement.  It was spoken with love…with gentleness.

“I love you.”  His breath kind of feathered against my ear, almost tickling me.  It made my stomach feel decidedly strange.  I looked around to see if I really heard that or if it was my imagination, wanting to hear it.  It seemed like I had known for a long time that I was in love with him, did he REALLY love me?  Could it be? 

The words lingered in my head and heart for a bit.  “Father, why?  Why won’t I hear You say that?”

“Mama, I love you.  I have a hug for you.” Little baby arms reached out to hold fast to my neck in a tight squeeze.  Her blue eyes were so intense, her smell so fresh. 

“You are not My servant.  You are My daughter.  You have been cloaked in the righteousness of My Son.  What I say to you, will be far more precious.”

“I love you Mom.  Jesus is waiting for you – it’s okay.  You can let go.  He will be right there to catch you. Kiss Him for me.” 

“Father, what will You say to me, then?”

“This is My beloved daughter, in whom I am well pleased.”

This was revelatory to me.  I had never ever considered that our relationship with Father – the fact that we’re clothed in Christ’s righteousness – would mean we would hear the very words He spoke to His Son, our Lord, spoken to us.  I sat in my prayer chair and tears formed in my eyes.  I was standing in the Presence of the Lover of my soul.  I was so little. He was so great.  I was so humbled.  He is so holy.

Great is the Lord and greatly to be praised.  May all things in heaven and on earth exalt Him.

Comments
2 Responses to “Do you hear what I hear?”
  1. Elizabeth says:

    Thanks for sharing such a sweet exchange!! Encouraging it is!

Leave a Reply

