Scary Stuff….?

I’m sitting beside Jeff working.  He is staring gape mouthed at his feed for the stock market.  He can hardly believe what he is seeing.  The market is falling drastically and it will likely close the day lower than it has since October 2006.  That seems pretty scary.

In addition to that, my inbox is filled with people writing about the situation in California with the homeschooling family.  (For those of you that haven’t heard the state of California has declared that homeschooling is illegal, UNLESS you have a teaching degree and then there are other additional stipulations that they are attaching to it.)  They are removing all parental authority from this family.  That seems pretty scary.

I heard a report last night that the flu virus going around is getting more aggressive in the respiratory end of it.  (Meaning more people are finding that the current flu is leading to severe respiratory damage)  That seems pretty scary.

I started my day out hearing that eight students were gunned down in an Jewish seminary in Jerusalem.  In Jerusalem the people are mourning.  In Gaza, the Palestinians are celebrating.  That seems pretty scary.

For some reason, the news of all this strikes me as very frightening and cause for worry. Some how, I suspect things aren’t going to get any better.  I think we can pretty much count on seeing things getting worse.

So, does that make me the voice of doom and gloom?  Nope.  I’m just telling you what the picture looks like for America.  B.L.E.A.K.  SO…….

Who is our Lord?  What is His character?  What does He say about all this?  Is He worried? Is He freaking out?  No.  He is not.  He is God.  There is nothing, there is no one, there is no circumstance in our lives that is greater than He.

Dear Sisters, may I encourage you that all this noise, all this clamoring from the powers of darkness, are not Truth.  They are not the reality that we are called to live in.  We are called to live in the reality of God’s world.

If you are struggling with fear today, please, won’t you take up your Sword and do battle with the fear that is coming against you and do as Joshua was commanded….

Be strong and courageous!!!  For the Lord your God is mighty to save.  He is able to keep you in the days of darkness and He is worthy of our praise!!!!!

(For all those of you that I love – but that own editing pens and dictionaries – I am to be walking out the door in ten minutes with changed clothes and fixed hair.  HEY – I need to look presentable.  BUT, the Lord laid this SO heavily on my heart that I had to get it written or I’d have been miserable all night long. 😀   Please extend grace.  (JEFF!)    😉  I will fix it when I get home….or maybe YOU will fix it when we get home.)  😛  😀

Comments
2 Responses to “Scary Stuff….?”
  1. Margie says:

    Dawn,
    My husband watches the stock market minute by minute as well. Right now, he is trading stocks to make up some income between house sales. The general mood in our home varies with the market. I am striving to maintain a constant in our home. Today I bought the book The Power of a Positive Mom. It is so easy in the midst of our “scary” world to take my eyes off the Lord.

    On the positive side of the California issue, here is a quote from the Governor today. Governor’s office press release Friday, March 7, 2008
    Gov. Schwarzenegger Issues Statement Regarding Court of Appeals Home Schooling Ruling
    Governor Arnold Schwarzenegger today issued the following statement regarding the recent Second District Court of Appeals ruling on home schooling:

    “Every California child deserves a quality education and parents should have the right to decide what’s best for their children. Parents should not be penalized for acting in the best interests of their children’s education. This outrageous ruling must be overturned by the courts and if the courts don’t protect parents’ rights then, as elected officials, we will.”

    Blessings,
    Margie

  2. javadawn says:

    Margie,
    Thanks for the good news. You’ve inspired me! 🙂

Leave a Reply

