Eating Mexican at the foot of the Cross

Remember how I said the Lord has had us do really (sometimes REALLY) odd things during this adventure? This past weekend was another one of them.

Jeff had a 6 hour business call on Saturday and in our prayer time that morning, the Lord told us that we were to buy our kids Mexican food from our local restaurant. Now, I must tell you, we have THE BEST Mexican restaurant in our little town. (We don’t have 5000 residents, but we have incredible Mexican food!) πŸ™‚

So, we discussed what the kids liked best and Jeff and I stopped to place the order. As Jeff was standing in line, he could feel the Lord giving him the order in his head. It was almost like a litany. (You know, “Diapers, toothpaste, bread, milk.” PLEASE tell me someone remembers that commercial!! We laughed so hard over it!) So, Jeff ordered exactly what the Lord was laying on his heart.

He jumped back in the car and I noticed the time was VERY close to his call beginning. “Hey, Babe, you should pay for that now and then, one of the kids can ride over on their bike and pick it up.” “Good idea!” He jumped back out of the car and did so. The look on his face as he was coming out of the restaurant was one of shock. I was totally puzzled. “What’s the matter?” “It was almost $60!!”

Now, may I pause here and say, we don’t have $60 to spare – and I was MINDBOGGLED as to why Jeff would spend that kind of money on food out. We don’t EVER spend that kind of money on food out. (At least not for a LONG LONG time!) I thought he was going to get a few flautas and be done with it. “Um, what did you get?” And he gave me this huge list. I opened my mouth to do the loving supportive helpmeet thing, like shout, “WHAT WERE YOU THINKING?!!” when the Lord said, “SHUT YOUR MOUTH. I’ve got it under control.” So, instead, (BY GRACE) I said, “Well, you bought what you felt the Lord wanted you to buy – don’t worry about it. It’s His money and you’re His steward.” I was wishing those flautas were there in the car, so I could shove one in my mouth to keep me quiet. Thankfully the ride home is short. πŸ˜‰

Fast forward to this morning. I’m reading through a devotional and the author says, “Meditate on Romans 8:32 – through Christ Jesus, you deserve…” and that’s as far as I got. I closed it and said, “Okay, Lord. I’m weary of people telling me I deserve anything but the fires of hell. I know I don’t deserve ANYTHING.”

And suddenly, as though the room was filled with the Holy Spirit, I could see my son, who picked up the Mexican on Saturday afternoon, standing in the doorway to the restaurant. In my vision, he went in and the owner handed him the bags and said, “Here, these ARE yours, right? You ARE here to pick up the order that your father paid for, yes?” Jeffrey said, “Yes, I am.” She handed him the bags and he handed one of them back to her. “Thank you, but this is enough.” She looked surprised and startled and said, “Um, but your father paid for them all.” “That’s okay, I don’t deserve all this food.” “Right, but your father paid for it.” “I know, but just a few flautas for all of us to share is enough. Thank you.”

Suddenly I understood what the Lord had done on Saturday. He had prepared a word picture that would pierce my heart. For you see, it made NO SENSE for my son to refuse to accept all that Jeff had paid for. It made no sense for him to not receive with GREAT appreciation and utter thanksgiving ALL that Jeff had paid for. You see, $60 for us was a huge sacrifice. It meant we didn’t get gas for the van. It was almost all the money we had. So, why would my son, the rightful heir of his father who paid for that food refuse any of it?

Of course, the answer is, HE WOULDN’T, HE SHOULDN’T and we’d have beat him soundly had he done so!!! πŸ˜† BUT that IS how I have been approaching my Lord. The provision that He made for me at the Cross, the FULLNESS of that provision, I have been refusing. I have been convinced – by my own sinful heart, by some of the teaching I have received, by other Believers – that somehow the Cross was ONLY for my salvation and not for the fullness…the FULLNESS of every need, and every blessing that the Lord has for us.

I have since repented – and I am asking the Lord to teach me what it means to live in light of this new understanding…something I have seemingly grasped with my head, but now my heart. I also spent some extensive time meditating on Romans 8:32, which by the way says, “He who did not spare his own Son, but gave Him up for us allβ€”how will He not also, along with Him, graciously give us all things?” I have asked the Lord to help me understand what “all things” means. Funny, I suspect it means ALL THINGS. πŸ˜‰ And furthermore, I have scrounged through the frig looking for any leftovers from our Mexican feast this past weekend! There aren’t any. But, you know what? No longer will I say I don’t deserve a treat like that. You know why?

Because, my Father has already paid for it, and it would be folly for me not to embrace and readily and willingly receive all that He has for me. My position of deserving is no more than Jeffrey’s was – he was the steward, sent to pick up the food. All the glory for his state of “deserving” was due to his father….as is mine.

Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of mercies and God of all comfort.

Comments
10 Responses to “Eating Mexican at the foot of the Cross”
  1. Violet says:

    What a perfect illustration!!!! It makes me think of the word GRACE and how I have short changed that word (and reality) so many times because my focus is in the wrong place (horizontal/inward rather than vertical/upward).

    Eph. 1:3 – “Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who hath blessed us with ALL spiritual blessings in heavenly places in Christ…” It doesn’t get much better than that.

  2. javadawn says:

    Violet, I know – I am CERTAIN I have shortchanged that word more than I can even begin to imagine.

    I have known Ephesians 1:3 for a LONG LONG time and I could accept that all SPIRITUAL blessings were ours in Christ Jesus – it was the PHYSICAL, EMOTIONAL and HEALTH blessings that I struggled with.

    In my head, I knew that the Lord provided those blessings SOME of the time. And I could accept that they were there for us SOME of the time.

    BUT, when I consider that my Father already has paid for ALL BLESSINGS – spiritual, physical, mental, emotional, financial, relational – ANY and ALL blessings I can think of…it just presents a whole different picture.

    This could mean that Father has blessings He has intended that we receive, but because I couldn’t wrap my limited mind around it, we somehow missed it.

    You know, Jeffrey could have refused to go pick up the food because he knew we couldn’t afford it, so he could have assumed we didn’t mean it – or that it wasn’t enough to feed us all – or any other silly thing.

    I just have to wonder – are there times that the glorious inheritance that we have in Christ was readily available, and I just didn’t go “pick it up”???

  3. Violet says:

    You jarred my memory again from “Transforming Grace” by Jerry Bridges. Here’s a quote: “To live by grace means we understand that God’s blessing on our lives is not conditioned by our obedience or disobedience but by the perfect obedience of Christ. It means that out of a grateful response to the grace of God we seek to understand His will and to obey Him, not to be blessed, but because we have been blessed.”

    I don’t think we miss “picking up” any of the inheritance that is fully ours in Christ, but rather (speaking for myself) have been more aware of the absence or presence of the blessing than of the Giver of the blessing. It’s ALL ours. He said so. Why don’t we believe Him? “Lord, I believe. Help my unbelief.”

  4. javadawn says:

    Violet, I thought the same thing, at first- that I wasn’t missing “picking up” anything – then the Holy Spirit reminded me – “You have not, because you ask not.” Father must have known that there were things that we “should” have – or could have – and we didn’t, all because we didn’t ask.

    I don’t know – I’m still chewing on it.

  5. Violet says:

    I see what you’re saying, Dawn. I guess I’m thinking more in terms of “realizing” what I already have in Christ Who embodies the “all spiritual blessings”, as opposed to not having something because I’ve failed to pick it up.

    Again quoting from Jerry Bridges: “Jesus paid it all. I mean all. He not only purchased your forgiveness of sins and your ticket to Heaven, He purchased every blessing and every answer to prayer you will ever receive. Every one of them – no exceptions.”

    So, I agree. We don’t have a realization of many blessings because we don’t ask for it. Nevertheless, the Blessing is ours in His fulness for keeps! Now that’s a blessing.

    Sorry, I have to run for the evening. Keep chewing, and I’ll do the same.

  6. Pau says:

    Ouch, that is amazing, cool and it hurt! I really needed to hear that though… I will probably come back and read it a few more times until it sinks all the way in…

    Thanks Moma clark!!!

  7. Violet says:

    I read this quote by John Calvin that seemed to relate to our discussion.

    β€œThe Lord willingly and freely reveals himself in his Christ. For in Christ, he offers all happiness in place of our misery, all wealth in place of our neediness; in him he opens to us the heavenly treasures that our whole faith may contemplate his beloved Son, our whole expectation depend upon him, and our whole hope cleave to and rest in him.”

  8. ace says:

    Great post and one that really made me think. Thanks.

  9. hosannahsheart says:

    Wow!! That was amazing, and moved me to tears. (Not an easy feat!)

    That concept is so simple and obvious, I can’t believe I missed it before! Thank you so much for this story!! It is SUCH a blessing!!!

  10. javadawn says:

    Nanny Bananny –

    HUGSHUGSHUGS to you, Punk. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

