Getting ready for Thanksgiving

The table isn’t set, but the dishes are on the buffet, waiting to be put out.  The menu is written out, recipe by recipe, so my helpers can all…well, help, naturally.  The groceries are purchased and tucked away in the pantry.  All it would seem is moving toward being ready for the holy-days….well, almost everything. No matter how nice the table looks, how delicious the food, how kind everyone is to one another, it will be of little consequence if my attitude isn’t right.  And it isn’t.

I am staging my own little heart coup because I don’t like that Thanksgiving is a day.  I know, I know, no one asked me.  😀   That’s okay.  I just find myself wanting to shout that this is a way of life, a state of heart that is to be ours all the time.

For those of us that know the Lord God Most High, how could we NOT be living a life of thanksgiving?  How could the words that flow from our hearts not be ones of thanksgiving and praise for all that He has done in our lives and in our hearts?!!!  How could we know Him and not just be absolutely blown away by all He is and all that He has made us to be?!!

For some reason, when I’m faced with Thanksgiving as “just” a day this year, I’m really struggling to not have a grumpy attitude.  I’m not grumpy at Father, I’m grumpy at the sudden jubilation, after weeks/months of whining and complaining that so many people are participating in.  And really, it’s not a grumpiness, it’s a sadness…but it needs to change.  Even allowing myself to wallow in that sadness is a distraction from having a heart of gratitude and worship.  So, seems to me that in order to be ready for Thanksgiving, I’ve got “house-cleaning” to do.  🙂

Oh Father, may every exhale from me bring forth another reason for praising You, all that You have done and all that You are…regardless of the day.

Comments
2 Responses to “Getting ready for Thanksgiving”
  1. Lynn in AK says:

    Amen and amen!

    Hope you got your housecleaning done and have a blessed Thanksgiving day… week… year!

    Love ya, Dearie.

  2. javadawn says:

    🙂 Thank you my Friend.

    I DID get my housecleaning done. I just threw myself into my prayer chair and said, “Okay, Lord, what gives? What is my deal?”

    Graciously, the Holy Spirit began to minister to my soul – the phrase I heard was, “Amorphous blob of potential thanks giving.” 😀 (Normal people hear things like, “Go ye here.” I hear about amorphous blobs.)

    As I continued to pray, I realized once again, I was struck by a lack of vision. I was paralyzed by that lack of clarity.

    Is this holiday “Bird, Ball and Bulimia Day” ? Cool, if that’s what it’s for, I love turkey, football and while I’m not too fond of throwing up, nor gorging myself, I do like eating.

    Is this holiday, “Give Thanks for God’s Protection Over the Pilgrims Day”? Cool. However, I frequently give thanks for our nation and wouldn’t that be better suited for honoring on election day?

    Is it “Give Thanks that Christmas Shopping Begins Tomorrow Day”? Maybe cool, maybe not. I did my one (and only) stint with Black Friday. I think that’s all I’m contractually obligated to in the US.

    Is it “Give Thanks that the Lord is Good All the Time Day”? If so, that’s how I want to live.

    SO, what I finally came up with is that it is just another variation on Sukkot and I need to see it as such and quit whining. 🙂 By the time I was done with all though, it was too late to cook the bird, so we gave in, watched ball and celebrated Sukkot, remembering the faithfulness of the Lord to bring us through this last season later during the weekend. 🙂

Leave a Reply

