Don’t waste a trial

Okay, go ahead, re-read it.  I know, it sounds totally loopy.  And this surprises you, coming from me…how?

As I suspect that many of us are going to be facing some trial or another over the next little while, 🙂  I just have a few thoughts I want to share.

So, what am I talking about this time?

Many times, when I am in the midst of a trial, I find myself focusing on the issue, rather than the Lord that is able, my Savior that is closer than a brother.  When that happens, the problem grows in size until it nearly fills my entire realm of vision.  By doing that, I allow the problem to take the place that Father should have.

It is imperative that as God’s people we get to the place that the ONE thing that holds the greatest amount of our attention is our Lord, His Son, His Holy Spirit, and their power and their character.  By making that our primary goal, we truly are able to live in ways that make the problems we are facing seem smaller.  Knowing the character of our Triune God is vitally important.  Remember the whole deal with Daniel?  The people who KNEW their God….knowing our God is what allows us to be victorious in all trials…because He has made us so, out of His great love for us.

I have to confess, for a goodly portion of my life my focus has been on the Cross of Christ and the import and magnificence of that incredible gift.  But somehow – don’t ask me how – in that awe of the Cross, I forgot WHY Jesus went to the Cross.  Yes, it was for my sins – but the why I mean right now is “because God so loved the world.”  So loved the world.  Yep…still breathing…must still be part of the world.  God loves me with a love that is deep, marvelous, amazing and incomprehensible enough that it would cause Him to give His one and only precious, holy Son up for me.  Did I mention incomprehensible??

When we think on THAT love and His promise to always be with us, how could any trial be so overwhelming?

Though it’s almost unimaginable, there are times in my life when I have been known to be stiff necked and stubborn.  Now, those times are very few and very far between and you’ve likely never, ever seen me that way (are you choking yet?) but it has been known to happen.  When I face my trials with a heart that is stubborn, rather than willing and submissive to allow His loving hand to do surgery on my heart, I am thwarting the work of that very God that loves me so very much.

Trials aren’t easy.  So, why in the world would I waste the pain of any trial, by not submitting myself –  placing my living sacrfice self –  on His altar of love, that He might have His perfect and loving way with me? If I have spent myself, my time, my energy on knowing His character, on knowing His love, then there is nothing to fear about resting in the pain of the trial, knowing that when it is done, I will be more like Christ and more refined for His glory.  (Not hoping – K.N.O.W.I.N.G.)

THAT is what I mean by not wasting a trial.

Comments
2 Responses to “Don’t waste a trial”
  1. Margie says:

    I have gotten out of the habit of checking your blog since you have not been updating as regularly as in the past. Then I come and see this post and the encouragement that it brings 🙂

    I don’t like trials any more than the next guy (or gal). My motivation is that if the Lord wants to use the trials to teach me something it will be to my advantage to learn from the present trial and thus avoid the need for future trials to teach the lesson I could be learning now.

    I needed your reminder to focus on the Father and not the trial. Thanks!

    • javadawn says:

      Margie, thanks my Friend!

      I OH SO agree – the trial is already painful – let’s just press in and get the most from it! I keep asking Father, “Show me what is in my heart that You are after. I want to submit it to You, that I might be changed. Cause, Father, I sure don’t want to be in this place again. It stinks!” 🙂 (And yes, I do tell God that things stink – or worse, if it’s a huge trial…had a few of those in my day. You?) 😉

      Glad you were challenged to make our Lord bigger in your sight. It’s THE best thing for my vision needs. 😀

Leave a Reply

