Being Well Red

(See what happens, I stop blogging for a while and now you can’t me to be quiet!)    🙂

I had an email from a dear friend that is going through MANY intense trials all at once.  My heart is heavy for her, but I know that the Lord has such good things in store for her, for enduring this time.  I wish I could pour some of my hope into her heart and just let her carry that around, while I carry the heat of the fire for her a bit.

However, not being able to do that, I did share with her something I have learned to do in the midst of the heat of our trials – I was walking away from my computer and felt the tug of the Holy Spirit to come back and share it here.   (You know what, it’s quite likely you already know to do this, but just in case someone out there hasn’t thought to do it….) Somewhere in the midst of having no groceries, no gas (for the house or the van) and no money to change any of those situations, my loving heavenly Father “taught” me something.

My entire being ACHED to be able to climb into His lap and be reminded that His plan for us wasn’t destruction. I just needed a word from Him that was full of life.  I needed a SURE word from Him, that I could trust was REAL.

I didn’t want to hear that someone *thought* the Lord might be saying Jeff should get a job.  I didn’t want to hear that someone *thought* we should take in a renter.  (???That was rather a source of amusement – 2000 sq feet inhabited by a dog and 9 people and someone thought we could find a homo sapien – you recall that means wise human, right?!! – that would be willing to move in and PAY us to do so?!!)  Suffice it to say I didn’t want the opinions of man, I wanted to hear the heart of my Lord and Master!

The problem with this was, I was too much of a mess to be able to hear.  (And now you know why I haven’t been blogging.  Dawn words flowing from Dawn brain mush is NOT pretty.  I know – I still have the prayer journals from those months)   I needed a SURE way to hear what Jesus would say.  I needed a SURE way to know His heart for me.

Sitting in my prayer closet, staring at my Bible, waiting I guess for it to open up and start talking to me, like some fantasy story, I guess.  Instead I opened it, just to have something to do – pretending that I could read and have it make sense to my raw soul and heart.  I opened to John.  I thought, “John is a nice guy.  He writes nice things about Jesus loving me.  I think I’ll stare at those pages for a while, instead of just the cover.”

Staring at those pages, I realized (dope slap!) that some of those words were in red.  HELLO?!!!!  Those words were in red!!!  That means they were Jesus’ words.  And in them, I could find a S.U.R.E. word spoken by my Lord.

So, dear Sister, if you’re struggling – if you’re too weary to wrestle with the Word – if you’re just needing to have your soul refreshed and strengthened, in order that having done all else, you might stand, I would encourage you to go do nothing more than read what Jesus had to say.

If you REALLY believe that the Word of God is -the Word OF GOD, I mean – then you can know that reading Jesus’ RED words is just like snuggling up to have Him speak directly to you.  Very quickly you will find that you too are well red…and filled with more peace.

IMPORTANT: The key here is that you must believe that the Word of God is living, true and inerrant.  If not, this will become nothing but a pleasant diversion, rather than a life giving transfusion.

(Side note, if you qualify as one of those that are too weak to stand and you would like me to pray for you, having come through the fire and finding myself much stronger than when I went in – please leave a comment. You don’t need to explain anything, just put your name.  That’s not to say you can’t explain your need – you just don’t have to.  I’d tell you to email me, but I have been spending my email time blogging – so that’s not necessarily such a good idea.  🙂   But, if you’d rather, you may do that as well – it’s javamama (the number) seven at gmail dot com.  You know how to do it.)  🙂

Comments
4 Responses to “Being Well Red”
  1. That was so good, Dawn. Much love, Patricia

  2. javadawn says:

    Patricia, thanks – the encouragement is nice, but sending love? THAT is priceless. 🙂

    Blessings, my dear Shutterbug!

  3. Margie says:

    As you know, I can use your prayers dear sister.

  4. javadawn says:

    Yes, my friend, I do know – and I offer them on your behalf!!

Leave a Reply

