Are you dismissing or disarming?

Earlier this fall, we had a mouse that moved in with us.  It was not invited.  (So N.O.T.)  However, the neighbor whose wood pile it was living in brought home a family of cats.  A mother cat and three kittens.  I think it was one of those, “better the devil you do know than the one you don’t” kind of things, ya know? So, he packed up and moved in with us.  (What does that say about us?)

One of my “green” friends kept saying, “Oh, don’t kill it, it needs a place to live too.”  (Interestingly enough KIM, I didn’t see you offer to let it come live with you.)    😛    My husband (the sane one in dealing with such creatures) said, “I’m going to catch and kill that mouse!” 

It took about 1 1/2 weeks and he managed to do just that.  He took that mouse out!  Literally.

During that same time I was really struggling with fear – specifically fear as to whether or not the Lord would truly keep us.  (A time we now refer to as being a part of The Valley of the Shadow of Dearth!)   Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to rid myself of the vermin that had infiltrated my mind as easily as the one that had infiltrated my home.

I remember watching Jeff walk out of the house with that beast, blood from it’s wee mouth, still in the trap to dispose of it.  Jeff was RUTHLESS about catching it and getting it out of here.  I, on the other hand was not as ruthless with my battle.

There were days that I was able to dismiss the fear that was running me ragged.  There were days that I could walk/live in the peace of God, knowing that He would provide for all our needs according to His riches in Christ Jesus.  There were other days that I was incapable of trusting Him for anything!

From those halcyon days, (you might want to lean back in your chair – the sarcasm juice might splash on you from that one) I learned something from my little rodent friend.

When Jeff was preparing to rid our family of the usurper he didn’t give any ground to it.  He set out to get and disarm the “power” that the mouse had.  (I assure you, if you had heard the screams that said critter elicited, you’d know he was armed with power.)   When I was dealing with the thoughts that had power over me, I would choose to not think about them or I would try to keep them from upsetting me.

My friend Christina tells the story of her grandfather’s involvement in WWII, where he would open the pillboxes and throw grenades into them to take out the German soldiers (or the women or children that they forced to be in their place).  I remember being horrified that someone would have to have such a job.  But, if they hadn’t disarmed them, we don’t know what type of government we would be living under at this point. Dismissing them, while they were being shot at, would not have been sufficient.

Too often, when it comes to the enemy, we dismiss him or his plan to lead us into deception, rather than disarm him.  We choose to not consider his lies, rather than pulling them out – exposing them to light and applying the Word of God to them.

Ever put salt on a slug?  (I have a son!!)  Other than being really disgusting, it’s also a very powerful picture of what happens when we apply the Word to the issues in our lives that the enemy has been lying to us about.

This is part of that taking-every-thought-captive stuff.  It’s part of having your life transformed by the renewing of your mind.  Scripture doesn’t say that just our minds will be transformed, it says WE will be transformed.  Our circumstances, our bodies, our lives – they will be transformed as we renew our minds in the Word of our Lord.

Life isn’t going to be easy-peasy.  But, we don’t have to allow it to be harder than Father intends it to be, either.  In fact, we have an obligation to those that love us and those that we have any measure of influence on, to make certain that we DON’T let our life be harder than the Lord intends – and that means we don’t allow ourselves to be manipulated and controlled by the lies of the enemy of our Lord and of our soul.

And the only way we can do that is to disarm his lies.  And the weapon of our warfare is not of flesh, but divinely powerful for the destruction of the enemy’s fortresses.  We are to destroy speculations and every lofty thing that is raised up against the knowledge of God and we are to take EVERY thought captive to the obedience of Christ.

Don’t dismiss, disarm!!!

Comments
4 Responses to “Are you dismissing or disarming?”
  1. Violet says:

    We just finished a study on Ephesians not long ago and I was newly impressed at the absolute necessity of putting on the WHOLE armor of God daily if there is going to be any hope of personal victory on a consistent basis.

    Then last Sunday night, it was pointed out that all of the armor is related to parts of the Gospel. That rang another bell in my mind. Jerry Bridges has often said and written of our need to preach the Gospel to ourselves everyday. I have recently found a book that tells you how to do that so beautifully. The book is “A Gospel Primer for Christians” by Milton Vincent. Vincent lists thirty-one reasons for preaching the gospel to yourself, and then gives both a prose and poetic version of the Gospel. I can tell you, this is life transforming. I am so excited about how it is changing my thinking and approach to everything throughout my day.

    Thanks for continuing to share your journey. Btw, I love your website. I have been reading from my reader and missed out on the beauty here!

  2. Dawn says:

    Violet,

    Isn’t it amazing how everything ALWAYS leads us back to the Gospel?

    I have this mental picture of worship being this dance between God the Father and the Son, where they are both trying to position themselves in such a way that they glorify each other – both striving to make the other look better. (Hope that “translates” well…) 🙂

    Thanks for the comment about the site, my dear. In fact, I’m responding to you without being signed in, because Danica is “decorating” my blog as I type. She is even hooking up some music on here. I LOVE my geeks!

  3. Really love this post, Dawn! This is a very helpful perspective. One of the things it really brings home is the “finality” of dismissing vs disarming.

    Unbelievable, sometimes we are addicted to our stinkin’ thinkin’ and letting the devil puke discouragement and despair on us, like a little kid hangs on to his old soiled “blankie.” There’s a real decision involved in disarming vs just dismissing.

    Thanks for reminding us of the distinction! 😉

  4. javadawn says:

    You’re most welcome my Dear. 🙂 I’ve known a few folks who have struggled with this along with me. 😛

Leave a Reply

