You Smell!!

The kids call me the Super Sniffer, (in honor of Gus on Psych) because I have such a sensitive nose.  When I was young, I could hardly endure going to the mall because all the smells of new dye in the clothes would give me a wretched headache.  (Now the chaos, lights, sounds of dishonoring families and blatant money-grubbing does that.)    😆

I remember one time going to a friend’s house to work on some school work and when I walked in the door, I could smell her new basketball.  I looked at her and said, “Are we going to play HORSE now or later?”  She gave me a VERY strange look and said, “How did you know I had a basketball?”  “I can smell it.”  Despite it being at the back of the house, in a wooden crate with a lid, I could still smell it.

Now, let’s put a few pieces together.  I have teenagers living in my house.  Three of them, as of today.  (Jeffrey has been rawther skunky, so I want to clarify I’m only promising that for today)   😉  I love my teenagers (even when they ARE skunky).  I think that they are wonderful creatures.  (I also think that most of us don’t like them, because they so very exquisitely show us where we are hiding sin in our hearts.  Something I know well.)  However, they stink.  It’s not their fault.  It’s those stinking hormones…uh, pun REALLY not intended, sorry.  But, they DO stink, pun or no pun.  SO, when I read of Isaac asking for his son to come closely so that he can smell him, I totally understand that!  I understand having a child come up to you and knowing who they were by the way they smell.

Now, this is the season that the Amish farmers in our area …(searching for the right words here…the POLITE right words) aromatize the area as they prepare the fields for planting.  (There is NOTHING quite like the smell of a well “aromatized” field blowing into the house.  PEEEEYOOOO)  But, it’s all worth it, because in the peak of summer,we also get the sweet smell of hay being plowed.  So when I read, “And Isaac smelled the smell of his garments and blessed him.  See, the smell of my son is as the smell of a field that the LORD has blessed!”  I KNOW what a field that the Lord has blessed smells like.

As I was reading this, not too long ago, I had this incredible revelation.  Jacob is demonstrating for us EXACTLY what we are like when we approach Father.  And unlike Jacob, we’re not doing it deceitfully.

You see, when Jesus went to the Cross, He became sin for us. He took on all our sins so that we might be THE RIGHTEOUSNESS OF GOD!  (2 Corinthians 5:21) Do you know what that means?  It means you can draw near to Father AND YOU SMELL LIKE JESUS!

Just like Jacob, we draw near to the Father and receive His blessing, because we smell like Jesus.  That means He loves us just as much as He loves Jesus, because He “thinks” we are Him. I am asking you to stop whatever else you’re doing and honestly answer this question in your heart – do you believe that God loves you as much as He loves Jesus?  If not, why not?  The Bible says He does.  John 17:23 and 26.  Go read it for yourself.  Read it outloud to yourself.  (Faith comes by hearing…)

Now, please, take the time to write down, on paper, what the most pressing concern in your life is.  With the economy as it is, there are likely quite a few financial needs.  Write them down.  Now, take them to prayer and ask your Father – the Father who sees you, who smells you and loves you, just like He does Jesus –  to fix them.  Cast your cares upon Him.  You saw what Isaac did.  God will do the same thing, He will smell you and bless you!

Comments
5 Responses to “You Smell!!”
  1. Kristine says:

    Ah, that unique smell of naturally fertilized fields… Since I am so familiar with that smell, I can smell it now by reading your blog post. (Our windows are closed at the moment.) I’m with you – the smell of freshly mown hay is heavenly. (You have a typo above – it’s mown, not plowed.)

    I love your insight, Dawn. “It means you can draw near to Father AND YOU SMELL LIKE JESUS!”

    What a sweet, sweet smell. Better even than freshly mown hay. 😀

    Of all your blog posts, this is one of my favorites. Thank you for sharing truths as the Holy Spirit reveals them to you.

    Your writing is a blessing to me… may that blessing be returned to you many times over.

  2. javadawn says:

    Kristin, Thanks for the encouragement, my dear! Although, I’m sorry you’ve had to wait so long for me to say so. Not sure how it’s possible, but it’s already been a B.U.S.Y. week. LOL (Pretty wild considering it’s only Tues am and not even 10 am at that.) 😀

    Thanks for the boot re: mown – not sure how I missed that one. 🙂

    As for the blessing – I will RECEIVE it!! and I will return it to you as well. I fear that too often I do not fully grasp the power of being blessed by Father.

  3. myderbe says:

    And if our praise or our prayers are going to be a sweet-smelling aroma to the Father, it’s because we go through Jesus, our Intercessor, and pick up His smell along the way. 🙂

    Lovely post, Dawn! (I’ve been out of the blogging loop for a while, and this is a beautiful post to draw me back in.)

    By the way, my daughter Rachel has an incredible sense of smell. When she was 5, she walked into her Sunday school class and sniffed the air and said, “Mmmm! Chocolate! Are we having cupcakes?” The teacher had brought chocolate cupcakes but they were in the sealed container, that had not been opened yet, on a high shelf where none of the other children had noticed them yet.

  4. javadawn says:

    She lives!! 😀 Hi there Girl – it’s been AGES since I’ve seen you. (Which is as much my deal as yours.) 🙂

    Thanks for the encouragement, btw.

    I know that I grow in amazement DAILY at all that our Lord Jesus has done for us – I remember the first day I realized that Jacob was a picture of us and how we would respond to Father – I was flabbergasted. His completed work is truly more than I can think or imagine.

    Sending hugs to you, girl! 🙂

  5. javadawn says:

    PS. Tell Rachel I have a friend who hides her chocolate wrapped in three Ziploc bags and hides them under her strongest smelling laundry detergent, because that is the only way her husband doesn’t smell it. 😛

Leave a Reply

