How Full is Your Convinced?

We are preparing for Passover at our house.  This is always a sweet time of the year for us…okay, I’m stretching it.  It’s a sweet time for me, because it means I get several of those nagging projects completed.  The children are SUCH a blessing, serving me in that way.  Most people, I believe refer to it as “spring cleaning” but for us, it’s “Passover Prep”.   (Gee, I bet you’re surprised that we are doing something different from the norm.)    🙂

This year, we are changing our Passover service a bit and doing a lot more instruction BEFORE Passover proper.  Our kiddos are bigger this year and it is appropriate that we should focus on bigger concepts – allowing their understanding and faith to be stretched, just like our own is/has been.

As parents, our desire is that our children should please God.  We want to keep all that we are doing as parents laser-focused into helping them to please God.  Since the Lord has so graciously placed us in a position to learn that our only response can be faith, and we are intensely aware that without that faith, it’s impossible to please God (Hebrews 11:6) we desire to help our children grow in this area. 

One of the ways that we are doing that is in  helping to teach them more about the New Covenant. As I have shared with you before, the Lord has been teaching us so much about the New Covenant.  There are many things that I need to grasp about this yet – and I eagerly anticipate learning them.  It’s like falling in love all over again.  🙂  But, to the best of our ability, we are going to teach our children, from the overflow of our own hearts.

I have been basking in Romans chapter 4, reading about Abraham’s faith. At the risk of sounding greedy, you know what?  I want his kind of faith.  I want faith that will glorify the Lord.  I want faith described like this, “No distrust made him waver concerning the promise of God, but he grew strong in his faith as he gave glory to God, fully convinced that God was able to do what He had promised.”  FULLY CONVINCED!!!   OOOOH, I love that! (right to the core of my being!) I W.A.N.T. that.  I want to be fully convinced that God is able to do what He has promised.

Fully –  In a full manner or degree; completely; entirely; without lack or defect; adequately; satisfactorily; as, to be fully persuaded of the truth of a proposition.  Without lack or defect.  Completely.  Wow, that’s faith…and that’s the kind of faith I want.  Fully convinced.

How convinced am I?  I don’t know – I need the Holy Spirit to help me have an answer to this question.  But, I DO know one thing…if I don’t know what He has promised, how can I be fully convinced that He is able to do it?

What about you?  How full is your convinced?

(Special Note: For some time I have been working on something that the Lord called, “Brainwashing” when He started doing it with me.  It comes from having my mind washed in the water of the Word.  There have been many things that the Lord wanted to change – to wash away – from my brain.  Starting on Good Friday, April 10th, I will begin a 7-week (gulp) program of helping to Brainwash you.  🙂  🙂

Each day, Monday – Friday, I will post a quick Truth about Father or Jesus or the Word, that I have been learning over the past year and a half.  Things that have exponentially helped me change how I see God, how I see the Word, how I respond to both.  It has changed how I see God’s love for me and how much I love Him.

If you would be interested in joining me, either drop me an email or leave a comment here.  I’m planning on doing it here on Javadawn, but if it seems like it would be easier/better, I may set up an email program to send them out as personal emails.  Thanks! )

Comments
6 Responses to “How Full is Your Convinced?”
  1. April says:

    Brainwash me!! (Please). 🙂

  2. Yes! Yes! Yes! I am so excited to be brainwashed by the Father (through you). I can’t wait!

  3. Kristine says:

    add me to your email list please

  4. javadawn says:

    Thanks Ladies! I am really looking forward to this – I’m eager to share what the Lord has been teaching us so that you too can walk in this joy, and (dare I admit such selfishness?) I’m eager to get it down “on paper” so to speak to help solidify it in myself.

    The Truth that the Lord has washed my brain with has so deeply changed who I am and what I believe that I want to make certain that it is firmly grounded in my heart, soul and mind. And I expect that taking them from their “notes” place, where no human being could begin to discern from them and make them as water to wash others with – Oooooh, I can hardly wait! 🙂

    SO, thank you for being willing to go the distance with me. Jeff and I are praying already that every one who joins us will be blessed.

    Kristine, we can’t decide if we want to do this as an Autorespond series or not. (I know I don’t want to have to send it out as an email to the 12 of us who have indicated interest, manually. I’m concerned that I’d miss someone.) We may just post it here on Javadawn. Either way, I’ll let you know.

  5. Susan says:

    I would like to participate!

  6. javadawn says:

    Susan, We’d LOVE to have you join us.

    (Not that we’re so exclusive, I’m just trying to get an idea of whether or not doing it via email is the better choice….) 😀

Leave a Reply

