It’s Friday, what else would I be talking about?! :)

It’s Friday and at our house that means one thing – S.A.B.B.A.T.H.

I can’t put into words how wonderful that is.

I remember when I used to work outside of my home, I loved Fridays.  I could hardly wait to get out of there and onto the “pressing things” in my life.  In fact, I have loved weekends for so long, that there are Fridays I look at the kids who walk home from school in front of my house and I am overwhelmed by the feeling I remember having when I stepped off the bus on Friday afternoons.  It was as though I could breathe again.

That sounds horribly shallow of me and down right lazy, but I loved being able to start my weekend days in whatever way the Lord was calling me to, without having to race out the door to get to work or school.

If He encouraged me to spend an hour or more in the Word – HOORAY!!  I could.  If He encouraged me to worship Him walking the aisles at the local farmer’s market, I could.  Weekends were my release from the daily grind of life that let me spend more time loving my Lord freely.

I don’t feel that way so much anymore….

Now, Jeff and I are making choices every day that allow me some of that longed for freedom, to worship and love the Lord each day, but Sabbath is still just as sweet – if not sweeter – than ever before.

As I write, I can smell the roast and the dhal both, in the crock pots.  (Thank You Lord that You have blessed me with two crock pots!!  Blessed art Thou, O’ Lord our God, King of the Universe, that has blessed us with two crock pots!)  The children are racing to complete their work and so am I.  (Which is why this will be so short.  Lucky you?)  😀

However, this week, before we sit down to our Sabbath dinner, Jeff and I will be having a quick meeting.  There is an aspect of our Sabbath tradition that we have allowed to slip away.

Tonight, we have finished up our Family Sabbath Confession so we will recite it together for the first time, BUT we will also pause and take the time for Jeff to lay hands on the heads of each of our kiddos and bless them.

Do you realize how important that is to our children?  Not just “Oh Lord, bless this child.  Make them obedient.  Make them good.  Help them to do their chores without being asked and heal their hands, from when I whacked them for taking the last of the Toblerone bar in the freezer.”  (Although, I might keep the healing thing in place, if the Toblerone snarfing is applicable.  That is intolerable!!  Especially if it’s the dark chocolate with honey nougat and almonds in it.  Man…that’s serious sin to snarf the last of that!)   😉

The kind of blessing I’m talking about is spending time in prayer to hear what the Lord has to say about who He has created our kiddos to be.  We want to speak words that line up with the words that God is speaking about them.   We want to encourage our children to see themselves in light of the way God sees them.  Every time we speak those words, we reinforce the wisdom of God and further impart a sense of destiny to our children.  (OH!!  How I would have loved someone to do that for Jeff or I. It would have made much of this process SO much easier!)

I’m certain we all have much to do for our own Sabbath prep, so I’ll stop now, but while you’re working, why don’t you ask Father who those precious olive shoots (Psalm 128:3)  that sit around your Sabbath table are?  Ask Him what words you could speak to them that would impart life, that would give them a sense of their Kingdom Purpose.

Then as you sit down to dinner, you too can participate with God the Father, the Creator of the Universe and Creator of each of your children, to speak into their precious ears a whisper of the destiny that the Lord has prepared for them beforehand that they might walk in good works! It’s a privilege we often overlook, as parents.

Shabbat Shalom!

~ Honor the Sabbath Day and keep it holy~

Comments
3 Responses to “It’s Friday, what else would I be talking about?! :)”
  1. javadawn says:

    Keep in mind “short” is a relative term. 😛

    AND if you decide to do this, don’t let it overwhelm you. This is something that we have been talking about resuming for some time. Don’t make it harder than it really is. The enemy would love to keep us from speaking life over our children! Don’t believe him.

    Your prayer of blessing over your children could be as simple as the normal Jewish blessing over their children, to the boys, “May you be as Ephraim and Manasseh” and to the girls, “May you be as Rachel, Leah, Sarah and Rebekkah.” (Why not Esther, I’m not certain, but she isn’t included.)

    In time, you can add to the prayer and personalize it. Just speak LIFE and destiny in the Lord to their souls. They will love it!

  2. I wish you really were able to come sit at my table or me at yours so we could discuss this all in person. So many questions start to bubble up just below the surface of my conscious and I need help getting them to pop up and be recognized.

  3. javadawn says:

    You know what, Pam, I would LOVELOVELOVE to have you come and share good conversation about Sabbath – or anything else – at my table.

    SO, since we can’t do that, here’s what we’re going to do – you start writing out your initial thoughts that are causing your brain to bubble and gurgle. 😛

    Once you have them, come throw them at me. The likelihood is good you aren’t going to be thinking about ANYTHING I haven’t battled with.

    And Pam, remember, Sabbath is made for man, not man for Sabbath. It’s intended to bless us, to minister to us, to allow us sweet UNRUSHED communion with Father.

    Even more than that, it’s intended to be a weekly, purposeful pausing from work. Now, don’t miss the value of that – when the Children of Israel paused from their work, they paused from their income. (Something I have some understanding of. 😆 )

    SO, not only is it a matter of rest, it’s a matter of faith. It’s choosing to stop, and in our stopping we are saying, “Father, we will cease in our labors to focus on You and in doing so, we trust You to provide for all our needs.”

    So, while it’s for our good, it’s also intended to minister to Father as we give our faith feet in real life. Aren’t His ways amazing? 🙂

Leave a Reply

